Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Smiths Station High School 5

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
Parent: my daughter and I moved here in June this year and she is a senior at Smiths Station High School. She loves the school and the Athletic Department is outstanding. I recommend Smiths Station High School anytime.

Smiths Station High School 5

Posted July 05, 2013
- a parent
SMITHS STATION HIGH SCHOOL offered everything that our son needed. He graduated and received an academic scholarship and athletic scholarship to college. The athletic programs great! Great facilities! The best in the area! Being military, it was great to have an option like Smiths Station!


Smiths Station High School 2

Posted October 01, 2012
- a student
I am a military child and just moved from here and I have to say I will miss my friends and teachers but I am glad to be gone from this Administration. They only focus on the bad and let the upperclassmen bully the underclassmen. They even tried to ban sophomores from pep rallys when seniors were body surfing and throwing things at the cheerleaders. They don't care for what they serve us. In one and a quarter years I have gotten food poisoning seven times. It's a good school, just needs better principals and administration.

Smiths Station High School 3

Posted March 16, 2011
- a parent
Smiths station is a decent school. They offer a few AP courses and they teachers are fairly good. The administration is terrible. They're insanely focused on discipline and very arrogant. Students at SSHS pride themselves on their involvement with alcohol and tobacco and are very arrogant and hard to deal with. They're very, very unaccepting. Being a new kid at SSHS would be torture. Given the fact that most surrounding schools are just as bad or worse, SSHS would probably be your best option.

Smiths Station High School
no rating

Posted July 28, 2009
- a parent
my dayghter has been going to smith station schools since first grade i loved everything about it while in earlier grades however as soon as your children get to high school it is all down hill the teachers along with the principal just stop communicating with parents and leave it all to chance that we are aware of what is going on at that school as you can probally tell i am glad my daughter is a senior and this our last year i do not recomend moving here for the sole purpose of the schools as i did some thirteen years ago it really is not worth it


Smiths Station High School
no rating

Posted February 19, 2009
- a parent
The administration at the school is great. It is a good high school and I have always felt that my concerns were taken seriously. Most of the teachers here really seem to care about the kids acchievement and motovate them to do their best however there seem to be a lot who are in the wrong profession. The district really needs to listen to parents and children when concerns about come up about specific teachers and observe them so that this school can continue making changes that promote learning for each individual student.

Smiths Station High School 3

Posted March 26, 2008
- a parent
I beleive Smiths High is an average school. Every school has problems, just like this one. My kids seem to enjoy it, although the teachers, and principals seem to not care.

Smiths Station High School 3

Posted January 09, 2008
- a student
It's pretty much a good school. I like it here.


Smiths Station High School 5

Posted September 26, 2007
- a parent
Great school and great teachers! Great environment to raise your kids in.

Smiths Station High School 5

Posted June 07, 2007
- a parent
If you want your child to get a great education and have a chance at either a sports scholarship or a academic scholarship this is the place to be.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Smiths Station High School
1100 Lee Rd 298, Smiths Station, AL  36877
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. (334) 298-0969
Last modified Smiths Station High School is a Public school that serves grades 8, 10-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top