Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Albert P Brewer High School

Public | 8-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 22, 2012

I am proud to have gone to a school that provides the only vocational training the Morgan County School System. Brewer students have the opportunity to participate in 13 career tech programs, and BHS students frequently place in the top three at skills competitions in activities ranging from health occupations to welding. I did not participate in the Honors curriculum at Brewer, but I went on to be accepted at the University of North Alabama (on an academic scholarship), into the Honors Program, based upon my grades at Brewer. I do not feel that Brewer did not prepare me for college; however, I do have friends that graduated from BHS and went on to other schools that did feel that they were not prepared for their collegiate math courses. In football we did well to win two games a season, in soccer our boys were a part of the Elite Eight each year, and in basketball both teams went to the semi-finals every year. Last year, our varsity girls' team won the championship! The band has the most trophies in the school, and is the highlight of the pep rallies. Brewer was a good school for me, and I enjoyed my time there. For many students, it is a home and a tight-knit community.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 17, 2009

Disclaimer: The spelling and the grammar in the following reviews are not indicative of the quality of instruction offered at Brewer High School.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 19, 2007

I have found that A.P.Brewer High school is very lacking in the adminastrative end. The teachers are fair. But, What really excites me about Brewer High is the Career Tech programs that they offer. They are the best in the state. Discipline needs to be more agressive and more parent involvement
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2007

My son is a senior this year. He has really enjoyed his years at BHS. I think the technical program has really helped him decide on a career.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2007

I attended BHS and as a student I was proud of my school. For what reason I still don't know. If it weren't for the dedicated coaching staff there wouldn't be sports at BHS. A majority of the sports don't have the necessary equipment. After graduating BHS I went to UA and was shocked at the difference between my education and my peers'. Brewer doesn't prep their students for college what-so-ever. It's basically all about graduating. I loved Brewer and I will cherish my memories but the school definitely needs renovation in the administration department.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 8, 2006

I just want to tell you how proud I am of the great concern this school has for the students you have. All through my sons life he has gone to a private Christian school and I was so worried about public school, this school has truly put calm in my life! Thank you so much from a mom who truly means Thanks! Stacy Pegram
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2006

I went to Brewer and was proud of it. Until I sent my child. In one of your reviews someone wrote how they didn't care about the students. The principal does not have a hand on that school. For my childs safety I had to remove him. Now I can't get him in any morgan county school because I live in Brewers district. We need to do something FAST !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2005

I personally think that Brewer is a very fine school.The facilities and teachers are wonderful (for the most part) and the other students are very welcoming. Brewer does have alot to offer for automotive but it also has alot to offer in other departments. I would recomend BHS to anyone and everyone.I even hope for my children to go here when they hit there high school years because they will learn and have fun.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 20, 2005

The difficulty of the classes is very low. I graduated from Brewer two years ago and NEVER found myself to be challenged. I am not overly intelligent. I am a sophomore in college and in remedial math. The lack of art programs is disturbing. One art class is offered for one semester only. Although the teacher is very good, he could do better with some more advanced classes to teach. If you are looking for a high school with a good automotive and air conditioning technology program, Brewer is the place for you. The students are kind to one another and even 'uncool' kids can find and make friends easily.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 10, 2005

I am a former member of BHS, and while I was there, I found the staff (principles) to be too concerned about what the students were wearing instead of what was going on with the students. Overall, the school was clean, nice campus, wonderful teachers...but if you want your children to go to a school where the principles care about THEM more than the clothes they wear, go somewhere else. I was sent home 3 days before graduation because my pants were too tight? How are jeans too tight? Just an example for you. The school itself is wonderful, as I've said, but the school board needs to find new principles. People who will care about the students.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 2, 2005

I actually happen to be a student at BHS and find the facility to be kept uniquely clean, best as to be expected with 1000 teenagers running around. The teacher with the exception of a couple of course to be outstanding. The academics at BHS are definitely not the hardest, but it's all in the course you plan to take, if you want harder then they are indeed available, I speak from the Honors diploma with A.P. classes. I'm fairly sure remedial math won't be necessary if you graduate with an A average in one of those. Football support could be improved =/ and We're dang sure gonna try. As far as the overall school is concerned, It's extremely satisfactory, We're not Hartselle or Decatur and have an entire city funding us, but with what we have, we do extremely well.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 10, 2004

Teachers overall mediocre. Administration HORRIBLE. Athletis fair. Coaching .... not good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2004

The students, teachers, and leadership overall at Brewer High School are good people. The academics are horrible. You can graduate from Brewer with an 'A' average and be required to take remedial math at UAB. Although support for the football team has improved with the new coach, overall support for the team in the past is terrible compared to schools like Hewitt, Clay, Decatur, Hartselle and other 5A-6A schools. If football and math scores are important to you, Go elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2004

This school is about the best around as for everything it has to offer the students. I mean kids from all around come here for all of the classes it offers and it's clean. thanks
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2004

This is an extremely nasty school and the teachers are horrid. The only good thing about this school is the new football coach Billy Coleman.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 95% in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Language

The state average for Language was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
83%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 98% in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Language

The state average for Language was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 95% in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 94% in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students98%
Female98%
Male98%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible94%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education75%
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant98%
Poverty96%
Not poverty100%

Language

All Students82%
Female91%
Male71%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible71%
Reduced lunch eligible76%
Special education31%
General population86%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant82%
Poverty72%
Not poverty91%

Math

All Students86%
Female86%
Male86%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible75%
Reduced lunch eligible95%
Special education44%
General population90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant86%
Poverty80%
Not poverty92%

Reading

All Students86%
Female90%
Male81%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible75%
Reduced lunch eligible86%
Special education31%
General population91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant86%
Poverty77%
Not poverty95%

Social Studies

All Students70%
Female69%
Male72%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible58%
Reduced lunch eligible67%
Special education38%
General population73%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant70%
Poverty60%
Not poverty80%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students99%
Female99%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White99%
Free lunch eligible98%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education94%
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant99%
Poverty99%
Not poverty100%

Language

All Students94%
Female0%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White0%
Free lunch eligible88%
Reduced lunch eligible93%
Special education72%
General population0%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant94%
Poverty89%
Not poverty0%

Math

All Students95%
Female94%
Male97%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Free lunch eligible89%
Reduced lunch eligible93%
Special education61%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant95%
Poverty90%
Not poverty99%

Reading

All Students95%
Female94%
Male95%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible91%
Reduced lunch eligible93%
Special education72%
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant95%
Poverty91%
Not poverty97%

Social Studies

All Students89%
Female86%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White90%
Free lunch eligible84%
Reduced lunch eligible79%
Special education44%
General population94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant89%
Poverty83%
Not poverty93%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 58%
Hispanic 3% 5%
Black 2% 34%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

59 Eva Rd
Somerville, AL 35670
Website: Click here
Phone: (256) 778-8634

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Falkville High School
Falkville, AL


Bethel Baptist School
Hartselle, AL



Hartselle High School
Hartselle, AL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT