Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
8-12
Public
Southside, AL
Students enrolled: 821

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Southside High School 5

Posted August 29, 2013
- a parent
We came from the "best" rated school district (and most expensive) in Georgia. Once here, I was DELIGHTED to find an old fashioned, loving community of teachers who care, and principals who don't take flack from anyone. What a blessing. The education isn't the best money can buy, but no amount of money can buy the time, effort and love invested in each of my children. My kids are flourishing, and I am grateful!!

Southside High School 4

Posted February 28, 2012
- a parent
I am a parent of Advanced Placement students, and if you're looking for that, Southside High has the best program in the county. In fact, my daughter recently thanked me, literally, for sending her to SHS. Sports programs are often political, and we're going through a tough transition with a new Athletic Director and single booster club. Hopefully those things will improve. There are many opportunities for students, and the band director is fabulous and really cares about the students. We have had administration changes over the last couple of years which continues with a replacement of assistant principal and guidance counselor this summer. I am an involved parent (band, sports, clubs) and I urge parents to get involved if they truly care about their kids' education. I wish the teachers and administration did a better job of encouraging parental involvement.


Southside High School 1

Posted March 18, 2010
- a parent
Im writing this for everyone to know that there are many problems with the faculty and administration at Southside High School. There are teachers there that are so DISRESPECTFUL to the students as well as the parents. They are lazy and do not care if they embarrass or humiliate a child in front of the whole school. They DO NOT care about the students they just want their paychecks. As for the principal and vice principal, I believe they do a VERY POOR job also. Its all about politics for them.They dont want to face the important issues when it comes to the students and the students well-being because it will make them 'look bad' at election time or when promotions are involved. So they just want to dismiss the issues regaurdless of how it affects the student. They do not handle important issues promply and effectively.

Southside High School 5

Posted June 29, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Southside High School 5

Posted February 10, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Southside High School 5

Posted January 16, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Southside High School 1

Posted January 08, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Southside High School 5

Posted December 28, 2008
- a student
Southside High School is a WONDERFUL school. They offer so much for any student! The faculty and staff really do care about each and every student they know. They all want to see them succeed! I am a Junior at this school and I have had a great experience. I feel extremely safe there! The Band program (The Pride of Southside) is also brilliant, I must add! =) Shout out to Mr. Nathan Haskew for a great year! Thanks for always pushing us to do our best Mr.Haskew!!


Southside High School 1

Posted December 21, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Southside High School 5

Posted July 21, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Southside High School
2150 Hwy 77, Southside, AL  35907
(256) 442-2172
Last modified Southside High School is a Public school that serves grades 8-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Southside High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top