Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Southside High School 5

Posted October 26, 2015
- a parent
We had four children go through the John Jones Elem., Southside Elem. and Southside HS schools and we couldn't be happier w/the results. All four have completed college (w/honors) and I give a very large amount of credit to the Southside areas schools. No school is perfect and there's always room for improvement in any school but, academics, sports and all extracurricular activities are as good at Southside as you'll find anywhere.

Southside High School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted October 26, 2015
- a parent
Kudos to all the J.Jones Elem., Southside Elem and Southside HS staff and faculty for excellent results with their students.


Southside High School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted October 26, 2015
- a parent
Experiences with all local schools have been very good. I can't accurately comment on the "moral" aspects of our schools but, I have no reason to believe they're anything but very good - I never was a student at any of these local schools so, I can't personally comment.

Southside High School 5

Posted August 29, 2013
- a parent
We came from the "best" rated school district (and most expensive) in Georgia. Once here, I was DELIGHTED to find an old fashioned, loving community of teachers who care, and principals who don't take flack from anyone. What a blessing. The education isn't the best money can buy, but no amount of money can buy the time, effort and love invested in each of my children. My kids are flourishing, and I am grateful!!

Southside High School 4

Posted February 28, 2012
- a parent
I am a parent of Advanced Placement students, and if you're looking for that, Southside High has the best program in the county. In fact, my daughter recently thanked me, literally, for sending her to SHS. Sports programs are often political, and we're going through a tough transition with a new Athletic Director and single booster club. Hopefully those things will improve. There are many opportunities for students, and the band director is fabulous and really cares about the students. We have had administration changes over the last couple of years which continues with a replacement of assistant principal and guidance counselor this summer. I am an involved parent (band, sports, clubs) and I urge parents to get involved if they truly care about their kids' education. I wish the teachers and administration did a better job of encouraging parental involvement.


Southside High School 1

Posted March 18, 2010
- a parent
Im writing this for everyone to know that there are many problems with the faculty and administration at Southside High School. There are teachers there that are so DISRESPECTFUL to the students as well as the parents. They are lazy and do not care if they embarrass or humiliate a child in front of the whole school. They DO NOT care about the students they just want their paychecks. As for the principal and vice principal, I believe they do a VERY POOR job also. Its all about politics for them.They dont want to face the important issues when it comes to the students and the students well-being because it will make them 'look bad' at election time or when promotions are involved. So they just want to dismiss the issues regaurdless of how it affects the student. They do not handle important issues promply and effectively.

Southside High School 5

Posted December 28, 2008
- a student
Southside High School is a WONDERFUL school. They offer so much for any student! The faculty and staff really do care about each and every student they know. They all want to see them succeed! I am a Junior at this school and I have had a great experience. I feel extremely safe there! The Band program (The Pride of Southside) is also brilliant, I must add! =) Shout out to Mr. Nathan Haskew for a great year! Thanks for always pushing us to do our best Mr.Haskew!!

Southside High School 2

Posted June 25, 2008
- a parent
I have two children who are graduates of SHS. I have to say that I have found that there are many problems with the administration & faculty. Rather than accept diversity, they try to make every student fit their ideal of what they should be. Maybe they should all take a course in tolerance. I believe all children should be educated, regardless of personal life choices.


Southside High School 5

Posted April 26, 2005
- a parent
In my opinion, Southside is the best school in Etowah County to send your child to. It is great academically and also has many great athletic programs. To comment on the other parent review, there have been many scholarships received for athletes. Just from past year, there were scholarships received in every sport. There are more kids at Southside than any other school in the county that are involved in some type of program, whether it be sports, drama, music, etc. Besides sports, the teachers at Southside are very helpful to the students. The school is located in a very safe place, unlike many of the other schools in Gadsden. I would not send my kids to any other school.

Southside High School 4

Posted April 26, 2004
- a parent
My reason for writing this is . I want everyone to know what they are getting themselves into when they send their child to this school.Your child can recieve a great education at this school, But as for the sports this school is so political . That it sends a very Bad lesson for children to learn early . That it is all about who you are not your performance as a player. this will never change until we get coaches in there that will not be puppets. Coaches that want to play the very best. If your looking to get a sports scholarship to go to college dont sent your child here. If it is academic then send them here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Southside High School
2150 Hwy 77, Southside, AL  35907
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (256) 442-2172
Last modified Southside High School is a Public school that serves grades 8-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top