Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Spanish Fort High School

Public | 8-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 30, 2014

I have three children in Spanish Fort Schools! I have one that just graduated in 2014, one who will be a Sophomore, and one who will be a Freshman. One thing people have to understand is this area is growing exponentially. Spanish Fort is a suburb of Mobile, but is in Baldwin County. It is growing so fast that yes the school is having to tweak their schedule and see what works best. My children have had some awesome teachers that really care about their well being. Our sports program is blowing everyone else away:). We have won three state football championships in out 8 year existence , two back to back in 2012 and 2013!! Many baseball state championships too many to count , I believe we are at 5!!! The school spirit is great and every child can find what they like and need!! This next year Spanish fort is exploring the Academies !! My child enrolled in the AP academy and there are computer, fashion etc! It's only going to get better at Spanish Fort High School :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2014

Spanish Fort High School had a great start. When the class of 2014 were just freshmen, it was great. We are now seniors. I would change schools in a heart beat if i could. It has been the worst high school experience you could possibly imagine. I feel that most of my classmates feel the same way. The schedule is the most confusing and complicated situation. I feel that the teachers don't understand how to teach on it so imagine what we as students must feel like. This year, they took away our senior prom because they didn't like it. We don't get a traditional prom anymore. but hey, Go Toro Teachers.. Its been said that 15% of the senior class is failing, but why would our grades matter as long as we are in the perfect right uniform McRae won't even respond to parents emails. What are principles even for? Spanish Fort is a disaster and I cannot wait to get out.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 19, 2014

I went to this school, and overall it is not the best school I have been to. The school, and the county district it is in is mediocre. Whenever the school administration mentions it is one of the best schools in the state keep in mind that schools in Alabama are below national averages. Opportunities are limited, and class selection is limited. It is not a welcoming school, if you were not born there most stidents there will exclude you. When the penny sales tax for the school district was being voted on in 2009, and 2012 they tried to munipuliate students, and parents to vote yes for the tax despite it being school time, and on school campus. The school also used the notification system to advance their agenda. I feel going to this school has put me behind in college. If you have to move to the Mobile area I would urge you not to put your child in any public school in Baldwin County.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 26, 2013

I was a student and graduated in 2009. Loved the school competitive in every aspect from academics to athletics. Teachers are great and do not cut any corners. Beat school on the eastern shore no matter what.


Posted April 30, 2010

I graduated from SFHS in 2008 and I believe it's definitely the best school in the area and competes for one of the best in the state. Teachers really challenge students to think outside the box. Parent and community involvement are also very strong. If you are moving to Baldwin County or the Eastern Shore area this is definitely the best high school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 20, 2010

The community is great, and the teachers really get involved with the students and teach well. They also have a great athletic department but they make their students achieve high scores in school to participate


Posted July 13, 2009

i belive this school deserves a low rating here.i still go to this school.its realy not as good as what people think.the teachers have a lot of growing up to do
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 27, 2006

We chose to move to this location because of the school. I have encountered one problem and I got a call back within 20 minutes of reporting it. I think this school is fantastic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

Great administrative support. Very caring office staff. Most of the teachers are very responsive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2006

My son is in 8th grade at SFHS. I have found that many of the teachers are very good at sharing information with me, and a couple had to be asked. The Assistant Principals are outstanding and have been very responsive to all of my concerns. My son knows most of the staff now and really likes his teachers. His grades have improved since he started at SFHS although home to school communication is weak.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Non-povertyn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Non-povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 95% in 2012.

231 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Language

The state average for Language was 75% in 2012.

230 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

231 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%

2009

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2012.

231 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2009.

158 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
94%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 71% in 2012.

231 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
83%

2009

 
 
90%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 98% in 2012.

197 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
89%
Language

The state average for Language was 90% in 2012.

197 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%

2009

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 95% in 2012.

197 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%

2009

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 94% in 2012.

197 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%

2009

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 94% in 2009.

178 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
96%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 90% in 2012.

197 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%

2009

 
 
93%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students98%
Female99%
Male97%
Black91%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible94%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education84%
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Poverty95%
Non-poverty99%

Language

All Students85%
Female93%
Male76%
Black55%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White89%
Free lunch eligible81%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education28%
General population90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant85%
Poverty86%
Non-poverty85%

Math

All Students91%
Female95%
Male88%
Black70%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Free lunch eligible82%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education42%
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Poverty86%
Non-poverty92%

Reading

All Students90%
Female96%
Male85%
Black61%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Free lunch eligible76%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education63%
General population93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Poverty82%
Non-poverty91%

Social Studies

All Students84%
Female87%
Male81%
Black57%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White88%
Free lunch eligible65%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education58%
General population87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant84%
Poverty68%
Non-poverty86%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black100%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible100%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education100%
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Poverty100%
Non-poverty100%

Language

All Students96%
Female99%
Male93%
Black100%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Free lunch eligible92%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education67%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Poverty94%
Non-poverty96%

Math

All Students98%
Female99%
Male97%
Black100%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligible100%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education89%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Poverty100%
Non-poverty98%

Reading

All Students98%
Female99%
Male97%
Black94%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligible92%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education89%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Poverty94%
Non-poverty98%

Social Studies

All Students95%
Female95%
Male95%
Black75%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Free lunch eligible85%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education89%
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Poverty83%
Non-poverty96%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 58%
Black 8% 34%
Hispanic 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 12%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Mr Marty L Mcrae
Fax number
  • (251) 621-5648

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

One Plaza De Toros
Spanish Fort, AL 36527
Website: Click here
Phone: (251) 621-6629

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Bayside Academy
Daphne, AL


Central Christian School
Robertsdale, AL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT