Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Springville Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 887 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 15, 2011

Wonderful teachers and principal! I feel secure leaving all three of my kids there. They learn and enjoy it. I agree with the comment on the Special Education teachers.(IEP) They get the additional help, if needed,without feeling different in any way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2011

Looking for a school for your child. DO NOT hesitate to enroll here! These educators are concerned for all children in their care. A complaining parent is usually one who did not do well in school themselves, for whatever reason. We have no complaints. Our children do well and love the teachers and staff.


Posted August 28, 2010

The student-teacher ratio is not 15 as this website states. 4th grade is 24+ per class. This school is not as good as it's hyped to be. This will be the last year my child attends. They teaching is average and school lunch is not very healthy and they give the kids very little to eat. They sell icee's and ice cream, when they should be worried more about the kids diet. Also, the booster club are using our elementary kids to make money for the high school sports. I've never in my seen a school so pathetically ran in my life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

I have a child at springville elementary. The principal and teachers who he deals with are wonderful. Big ups to the IEP teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2009

I can't wait to move my children from this school. The only good thing about this school is the principal. Everything else needs serious work. The food, school nurse and teachers are a huge disappointment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2009

i have 2 kids in elementary.i think that springville is the best
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2009

I have a daughter in first grade at SES and I must agree, this is a great school. My daughter had a tough time adjusting last year, but with the help of the counselors, teachers and the principal we were all able to get on a track that was right for her. I can't say enough about the staff, they are very caring and outgoing. Springville is a great community with a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2008

I've lived in Springville for 10 years. I have an 8 yr. old son in 3rd grade this year. We could not ask for a better environment for learning. Great job to all the teachers for making the kids enjoy learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2008

I have a daughter in grade 4 who had never been in a public school system, therefore, our family wanted to be sure this would be the best decision. ALL staff, from the principal, counselors, and administration to the truly caring teachers are exceptional. They welcomed her with open arms, and made the transistion a wonderful and positive one. They prove on a daily basis that their aim is to nuture and educate our children to give them self confidence and prepare them for a bright and successful future. They are the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2008

I have two children in this school,1sta nd 3rd grade. It is an amazing school with all the advantages a small school gives a child. The staff is amazing, special services extraordinary and the kids are all a joy. They truly know each and every child and each is treated as an individual and not just a nameless number. We totally love this area and school system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2004

The Staff at SES is outstanding! My daughter is in the first grade and has had a hard time adjusting. Everyone from the Principal down has shown her that they care for her and are there for her. It's a huge relief to us, her parents, when we drop her off. Academically, she is soaring, and is being given the foundation to excel. This school and the staff bring a lot to our community.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

137 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
72%

2009

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

137 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

128 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
78%

2009

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

128 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 91% in 2012.

171 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2012.

171 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students90%
Female93%
Male88%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Free lunch eligible81%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education59%
General population94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Poverty81%
Non-poverty92%

Reading

All Students95%
Female95%
Male95%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White94%
Free lunch eligible89%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education71%
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Poverty91%
Non-poverty96%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students84%
Female84%
Male85%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White86%
Free lunch eligible65%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant84%
Poverty69%
Non-poverty90%

Reading

All Students95%
Female95%
Male95%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible87%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Poverty89%
Non-poverty98%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students89%
Female92%
Male86%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White90%
Free lunch eligible85%
Reduced lunch eligible75%
Special education38%
General population94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Poverty83%
Non-poverty92%

Reading

All Students91%
Female95%
Male88%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Free lunch eligible87%
Reduced lunch eligible67%
Special education31%
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Poverty83%
Non-poverty96%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2012.

171 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students82%
Female82%
Male82%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White83%
Free lunch eligible76%
Reduced lunch eligible58%
Special education38%
General population86%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Poverty72%
Non-poverty87%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 58%
Black 4% 35%
Hispanic 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 29%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

75 Wilson St
Springville, AL 35146
Website: Click here
Phone: (205) 467-6550

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Appalachian School
Oneonta, AL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT