Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Nichols-Lawson Middle School 1

Posted November 26, 2013
- a parent
This school is horrible. The teachers truly are not concerned with the students education at all. The grading system is completely wrong and the staff will not own up to any wrong doings. The math and reading scores are absolutely horrible. The teachers never respond to any emails and they never contact you about how your child is doing. This is not acceptable at all. Everything is being ran by a computer system that has many errors and the staff denies any wrong doing at this school. Homework is never checked at all and there is no one on one teaching. This school needs to really go back to the old method of teaching. THE STAFF IS COMPLETELY FAILING OUR CHILDREN AND THEY DONT CARE AT ALL. I have heard so many excuses from these teachers and I am starting to lose patients with our education system. More parents need to speak up on this matter. If you don't speak up then the staff continues to ROB our children of real education that is much needed. These new generations of teachers are truly failing our children.

Nichols-Lawson Middle School 5

Posted February 22, 2011
- a community member
I really like NLMS! Teachers,principals,staff&other friends!! I also enjoy facs!! From:Jessie Poe Febuary 22, 2011- -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Nichols-Lawson Middle School 0
no rating

Posted September 08, 2008
- a parent
I love the school it has wonderful teachers

Nichols-Lawson Middle School 5

Posted May 12, 2008
- a parent
Nichols Lawson is a wonderful school where the administrators, teachers, staff and parents focus on keeping students safe while offering them an above average education, life skills, and the importance of respecting self and others. I am proud to have a student at NLMS!

Nichols-Lawson Middle School 5

Posted December 10, 2007
- a student
This school is a fantastic school. It is a safe school. And everyone is very friendly. The teachers are wonderful. I love it.


Nichols-Lawson Middle School 5

Posted August 08, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nichols-Lawson Middle School 5

Posted May 02, 2007
- a student
This is the best school any child can go to the teachers are very helpful if your child is failing the teachers set up a plan to get your child on track, their clubs are just amazing it's fun and educational at the same time I come home with a smile on my face everyday. I am improving on my school work and yes I do see the improvement!

Nichols-Lawson Middle School 1

Posted September 07, 2006
- a staff
This school is run absolutely terrible. The principal of the school is totally unaware of what goes on in the classrooms. There are also a lot of discipline problems at this school.


Nichols-Lawson Middle School 1

Posted January 30, 2006
- a parent
This is a very troubled school as reflected by it's scores. Note that on a standard curve it would get an F in both Math and Reading, if you looked at the two schools that formed it. It has not even posted scores in these areas since it was formed, even though it has been formed for over 2 years. I am aware of one classroom fight in my son's class this year, homework is minimal. The principal does not demand technology to be used, it is not consistently used by teachers, and the homework website is often down. Critical issue because without constant e-mail and phone contact with teachers, you will not know your child has a problem til too late. If your child misses school, you are unlikely to be notified until the next day so don't expect them to help detect a child abduction or truancy.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Nichols-Lawson Middle School
1550 Talladega Hwy, Sylacauga, AL  35150
(256) 245-4376
Last modified Nichols-Lawson Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-9. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Nichols-Lawson Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top