Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-12
Public district
Tanner, AL
Students enrolled: 873
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Tanner High School 5

Posted May 23, 2015
- a parent
My kids love Tanner! My kids are involved in extracurricular activities. My oldest child got a scholarship to attend college that included full tuition, room and board. Not too bad for a student from a little school like Tanner.

Tanner High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 23, 2015
- a parent
Most teachers know what it takes for kids to be successful and try to get the students to perform at that level. Every school has one teacher that needs to be gone.


Tanner High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 23, 2015
- a parent
Students spend a lot of time at school. The homework they are given for most classes is project based for the most of the time. Students are given time to complete the assignments before they are due. One math teacher gives way too much homework. Kids shouldn't have homework every single night for any class.

Tanner High School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted May 23, 2015
- a parent
Students are challenged academically and in the extracurricular activities to give their best and never quit.

Tanner High School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted May 23, 2015
- a parent
Students are expected to show respect to each other and to their teachers at all times.


Tanner High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 23, 2015
- a parent
This is a culturally diverse school. Students at Tanner are from all over the world. My daughter attended school with students from various countries. Helping each other understand customs and traditions as well as just communicating builds a caring and compassionate friendship.

Tanner High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 23, 2015
- a parent
Students learn early on to be truthful and use academic integrity in their work and social interactions.

Tanner High School 4

Posted October 28, 2012
- a parent
I graduated from Tanner and had the best time of my life. Tanner has been judged for many years of things that has happen in the community. The school has nothing to do with that. There are some great teacher and some that do not need to be there and it's very diverse. The principle there is great. Mr. Owens tries his best to make everybody happy. He cares about each and everyone one of those kids at that school. Yes, Tanner has it's problems, but what school doesn't. I have two girls that attend the school they love it. Everybody supports everybody.


Tanner High School 3

Posted June 09, 2006
- a parent
I am happy with the teachers at Tanner, However I do believe that there is way too much tolerence for emotional bullying and peer pressure, especially in Elementary. I also feel that over the last year parental involvement has been cut down from where it was 2 years ago.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Tanner High School
12060 Sommers Rd, Tanner, AL  35671
(256) 233-6682
Last modified Tanner High School is a Public school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Tanner High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top