Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Tarrant High School

Public | 10-12 | 288 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 19, 2010

Ok, I want to set the record straight. The post from September states the exact opposite of what things are like at Tarrant High School. This school does not care if you make it it to college, as long as they get rid of you they don't care about you. Students are prevented from learning on a daily basis by people who show out in class. And people wonder why we have such a high drop-out rate.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 17, 2009

Tarrant is amazing because all people involved in the education of these children put the students first. Students are given an opportunity to learn through differentiated instruction and strategic lessons. Each student is paired with a teacher as their mentor and is supported in this way. We have an excellent, committed and experienced faculty. The reason for this is great leadership from our faculty from the board, the superintendent and our principals. The students are committed to learning and are for the most part are responsible and respectful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2009

It may be a new school, there is the same problems with intimidate and bullies . I wished this school had a course to teach the bullies how to act better to others...Because a student should not feel insecure or theranten to go to school....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2009

This is my first year at Tarrant High School it's overpopulated,there's 30 kids per teacher,dark and gloomy hallways,in the winter there's no heat hard to concentrate on studies when your arecold,leaks in the building. The dress code is ridiclous,dress code comes before academics to the teachers in this school system,the basketball program is very very unorganized,the students are out of control which makes it harder for the ones who wnt to learn,and most inmportantly you have absolute no leadership from the principals and some of the teachers!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 29, 2009

I graduated in 2005. I found that A few of the teachers there cared about you and tried their best to make sure you were doing the best you could. A lot of faculty changes were made during my years at Tarrant and it seemed like the best teachers were the ones to go. I felt like the football season was more of a concern than the eduaction.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 15, 2008

I have to agree with the posted review for July 8 I would also add that the vice principal and principal changes the rules and their discipline methods daily or no action at all....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2005

I am going to go to the high school next year and I am actually looking forward to it. I have been going to Tarrant since 6th grade and I have loved it. It was easy to make friends for me. I havent seen any racism yet and I work in the office but I have to admit the are fights almost everyday but there usually over little things. It is fun here because you get to participate in clubs like FBLA, FCCLA, Art Club, SGA, and NJHS. And the electives are computer, home ec., art, office aide, pe aide, and media center (library) aide. We also have Gifted classes and Title 1 classes for math. Well I think I have covered almost everything.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 14, 2004

My first year at tarrant... Find it to be very warm and welcoming to the student and parents. Principal & assisstance shows care for the students grades,conduct and safety. Display great discipline skills,and encourage our students on many occassions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2003

i loved it and i would love to go back if i could
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 95% in 2012.

91 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
82%
Language

The state average for Language was 75% in 2012.

91 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
60%

2009

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

91 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
62%

2009

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2012.

91 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
64%

2009

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2009.

97 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
62%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 71% in 2012.

91 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
68%

2009

 
 
61%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 98% in 2012.

81 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
88%
Language

The state average for Language was 90% in 2012.

81 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
76%

2009

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 95% in 2012.

81 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
82%

2009

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 94% in 2012.

81 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
80%

2009

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 94% in 2009.

97 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
76%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 90% in 2012.

81 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
74%

2009

 
 
73%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students81%
Female81%
Male82%
Black82%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible80%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%
Poverty80%
Non-povertyn/a

Language

All Students36%
Female42%
Male28%
Black34%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible31%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population40%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English37%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant36%
Poverty35%
Non-povertyn/a

Math

All Students63%
Female62%
Male64%
Black61%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible57%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population70%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English63%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant63%
Poverty60%
Non-povertyn/a

Reading

All Students62%
Female69%
Male51%
Black62%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible55%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population67%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English63%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant62%
Poverty58%
Non-povertyn/a

Social Studies

All Students53%
Female50%
Male56%
Black52%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible49%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population59%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English54%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant53%
Poverty52%
Non-povertyn/a
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students93%
Female92%
Male93%
Black91%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible92%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Poverty92%
Non-povertyn/a

Language

All Students88%
Female86%
Male89%
Black85%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible86%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Poverty87%
Non-povertyn/a

Math

All Students90%
Female89%
Male91%
Black88%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible89%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Poverty90%
Non-povertyn/a

Reading

All Students88%
Female84%
Male91%
Black85%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible86%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Poverty87%
Non-povertyn/a

Social Studies

All Students78%
Female73%
Male82%
Black76%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible78%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population82%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English79%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant78%
Poverty77%
Non-povertyn/a
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 81% 35%
White 12% 58%
Hispanic 8% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 86%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Andrew O Smith
Fax number
  • (205) 849-3724

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

830 Jefferson Blvd
Tarrant, AL 35217
Website: Click here
Phone: (205) 849-0172

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



City High School
Birmingham, AL



The Rushton School
Birmingham, AL


Gateway School
Birmingham, AL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT