Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hatton High School

Public | 7-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 14, 2014

I would never send a child to Hatton. If you are looking for a school for your child, keep on looking. This school is all about clicks. Bullying is allowed by students as well as teachers. Also, as for the athletics, if you child is in the click and his/her parents are on all boards then your child will get to play. If your family can't afford the newest phone, clothes or car, then they will be picked on, Don't do your child an injustice and send them to Hatton. While they have had some success in the past in the girl's sports, that like I said is in the past! Football, baseball, basketball is a joke because the kids in the click get more playing time!


Posted February 23, 2009

Hatton has numourous academic awards to support the fact that it is a great public school. Recently Hatton high received the Bronze award from Newsweek Magazine and a letter of commendation from the governor. This ranks Hatton High in the top 8 percent of schools in the United States.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2009

I believe that Hatton High School is a wonderful school! The teachers, the principal, and the students work hard to keep test scores at the top and athletics at the top. They have statistics to back that up as well. Our test scores were in the top 8%, and we have won somewhere around 10 state championships. No one can argue with that!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2009

Hatton is a great school in a great rural community. The academic level is extremely high compared to most other schools in Alabama. Also, the athletic programs are very competitive as a whole.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 2, 2009

As a current student at Hatton High i find our education standards much lower and discreet than those of other schools our size that are able to provide so much more than what we offer. I find it ridiculous the mens by which our school operates whether problems with the community, education, classes, and athletics. Conflicts between students are not solved in the proper way and soemtimes our faculty allow themselves to be pushed around. I don't approve of the relatives bewteen the teachers all working here at the same time. My kids will not ever attend this school .
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 10, 2009

Hatton is a place for critisim in many aspects. It does have a few good teachers, however they do cater to the atheletes. It is more of a popularity contest with the faculty than it is for a greater understanding of knowledge. There could definately be potential if a restructering of the faculty and staff occured. However if things stay the same Hatton will never be a place that I would consider sending my children. I attended this school but I am not one bit enthused to say that I did. From my own experience I can say that there is alot more that goes on than meets the eye. If you want you children to know what the 'real world' is like, or what most of the parents say. Send them there, but they will be taking remedial classes when they start to college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2007

I am a parent of two students at Hatton High School! I fee this has been a great school for them to learn and grow! All schools have there problems, but at this one each issue I know of has been handled fairly! Great people at a great school! Just because your child says one thing always remember to follow up on the 'Rest of the story'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2007

Great teachers, Great Principal, Great student body!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2007

Hatton High School is horrible please avoid it at all costs. All the emphasis is on athletics. I was the starting quarterback for the football team in 2005 and believe me, all the faculty cares about is catering to athletes. I feel as if they simply passed me b/c of my position in the image of the school. No one wants a QB who cant even pass his classes. Not to mention the students have no morals! IT all happens here, and the community turns a blind eye to in, citing that boys will be boys...it makes mesick to think I once attended school here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 8, 2006

Hatton High School is a wonderful school. When I graduated and got to college, I was in all upper level college classes making A's in those classes. I feel that the teachers at Hatton High prepared me wonderfully for college. This is an amazing school and I would definitely recommend it to anyone!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 13, 2005

This schools focus on athletics has unfortunately compromised its emphasis on academics. A handful of teachers fighting an uphill battle at making a difference is this school's only redeeming factor. Otherwise, the leadership at the school is in dire straits, suffering from the small-town 'bubble effect'. With the more advanced courses being replaced with remedial courses (including a senior-level spelling class), I cannot recommend this school to anyone serious about their child's education. My career has been significantly limited by attending Hatton High School.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 2, 2004

i rate this school up at the top of my list and a very good school for young kids young adults to go to.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2012.

60 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
74%

2009

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2012.

60 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2012.

47 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
70%

2009

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2012.

46 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
64%

2009

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students55%
Female54%
Male56%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Native67%
White49%
Free lunch eligible42%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population57%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English55%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant55%
Poverty42%
Non-poverty64%

Reading

All Students80%
Female86%
Male75%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Native94%
White73%
Free lunch eligible53%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population83%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Poverty63%
Non-poverty92%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students74%
Female79%
Male71%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Native80%
White72%
Free lunch eligible63%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population78%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant74%
Poverty60%
Non-poverty91%

Reading

All Students80%
Female89%
Male74%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Native87%
White75%
Free lunch eligible73%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Poverty71%
Non-poverty91%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2012.

60 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students80%
Female79%
Male81%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Native89%
White76%
Free lunch eligible47%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population81%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Poverty54%
Non-poverty97%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 95% in 2012.

76 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Language

The state average for Language was 75% in 2012.

76 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
81%

2009

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

76 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2012.

76 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
82%

2009

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2009.

44 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
93%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 71% in 2012.

76 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
84%

2009

 
 
94%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 98% in 2012.

70 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
78%
Language

The state average for Language was 90% in 2012.

70 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 95% in 2012.

70 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%

2009

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 94% in 2012.

70 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%

2009

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 94% in 2009.

51 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
98%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 90% in 2012.

70 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
97%

2009

 
 
96%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students97%
Female94%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Native100%
White98%
Free lunch eligible96%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Poverty97%
Non-poverty98%

Language

All Students76%
Female92%
Male63%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Native81%
White73%
Free lunch eligible74%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population79%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant76%
Poverty75%
Non-poverty77%

Math

All Students80%
Female83%
Male78%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Native87%
White78%
Free lunch eligible74%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population83%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Poverty75%
Non-poverty84%

Reading

All Students79%
Female81%
Male78%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Native84%
White75%
Free lunch eligible70%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population83%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant79%
Poverty72%
Non-poverty84%

Social Studies

All Students75%
Female67%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Native84%
White73%
Free lunch eligible65%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population78%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English76%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant75%
Poverty69%
Non-poverty80%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Native100%
White100%
Free lunch eligible100%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Poverty100%
Non-poverty100%

Language

All Students87%
Female94%
Male80%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Native94%
White81%
Free lunch eligible81%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Poverty83%
Non-poverty91%

Math

All Students93%
Female91%
Male94%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Native100%
White86%
Free lunch eligible85%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Poverty89%
Non-poverty97%

Reading

All Students96%
Female94%
Male97%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Native100%
White92%
Free lunch eligible88%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Poverty92%
Non-poverty100%

Social Studies

All Students93%
Female94%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Native100%
White86%
Free lunch eligible85%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Poverty89%
Non-poverty97%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 58%
American Indian/Alaska Native 40% 1%
Black 1% 34%
Hispanic 1% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 48%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Baine Garner
Fax number
  • (256) 685-4007

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6909 Al Hwy 101
Town Creek, AL 35672
Phone: (256) 685-4010

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT