Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
6 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 9 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


East Lawrence Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 04, 2016
- a community member
ELES has been great for my grandson! Although he is only in the 2nd grade, every teacher he has had so far has made him feel special and overcome his anxiety issues. He is finishing up this year with straight A's and it's because each teacher has encouraged him to do his best. I hope he continues to have wonderful teachers in the years ahead.

East Lawrence Elementary School 5

Posted July 22, 2014
- a parent
East Lawrence is awesome!!! My daughter has been to two other schools and they were awful!! Here they consider my daughter's medical needs and we stay on the same page. My daughter misses alot of school due to doctors appointments but is never behind because the school works with us. I could not ask for a better school or staff.


East Lawrence Elementary School 5

Posted July 11, 2013
- a parent
I was so happy to get my kids into East Lawrence Elementary school. My daughter had been in Decatur City schools & was getting left behind. Once we got her into East Lawrence she started improving almost immediately. When she started in 2nd grade her reading level was a 0.9. At the end of the school year she was up to 2.8!

East Lawrence Elementary School 2

Posted April 29, 2013
- a parent
ELES does have some great teachers, but also have some that don't need to be there. They don't want to take the time some children need to help them. They don't want parents involved. They say they do, but they treat them like they don't belong there when they get there to help! Most of the time they don't even speak to them when they go in. They don't keep parents informed of special events, etc. Would look at other options.

East Lawrence Elementary School 1

Posted December 09, 2010
- a community member
East Lawrence High School does not have enough text books for each child to take home to study.


East Lawrence Elementary School 1

Posted September 08, 2009
- a parent
There is not enough communication from the school concerning my child. My child dropped 20 conduct points in one 9 weeks and the teacher never once notified me that there was a problem. When I saw it on the report card the teacher couldn't give me any specific details as to what went wrong. My child was also doing poorly in reading and math. I asked for more communication but when I did get feedback from the teacher it was always 'off task' or 'didn't follow directions' very vague and short. I attended several parent teacher conferences but they always seem to go nowhere. I'm very disappointed in the school. We are supposed to work together to give these kids the education they deserve but it feels like it's very one sided. This is the school I attended and graduated from but it seems completely different now that I'm the parent.

East Lawrence Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 04, 2009
- a parent
I love this school. Mrs. Satchell is a vey sweet teacher. All the staff works really hard to make a great school. As long as they keep up the hard work we will have a good school. Goooooooo Eagles!

East Lawrence Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 19, 2008
- a parent
My child is thriving at East Lawrence and she loves it! For us, that is the first consideratio; however, we've also been impressed by the high achademic srequirements and the dedication of the teachers and principal.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

East Lawrence Elementary School
263 County Rd 370, Trinity, AL  35673
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. (256) 905-2513
Last modified East Lawrence Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top