Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hewitt-Trussville High School

Public | 9-12 | 1320 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 22, 2014

This is a great high school. My oldest will graduate in 2014 with 7 AP classes completed. He has really enjoyed most of his teachers and has had no trouble making friends after having moved here from the Chicago area just before the start of his sophomore year. I also have a son who is a freshman and he is happy with the school, his teachers, and the friends he has made. The band program is quite good and my sons have enjoyed taking part in it. Both have participated in school athletics and have had great coaches. The school provides excellent academic opportunities to those who seek them and the community is a great place to raise a family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2013

Honestly, this is a very miserable school for the students and maybe even some of the teachers. Diversity is a foreign word here. Art?? Individuality?? Self expression?? This school seems to look down upon it, even punish it. Instead of nurturing and rewarding it. Sports! and Jesus!, yeah that's more like it with this school. This is a very cookie cutter, conservative republican, christian, vibe school. So if that's how you want your child then by all means maybe this school is for you. If your child has a big personality full of expression, questioning, and individuality.. hmm this definitely NOT your school. Its all about image here, a lot of the teachers are on some kind of weird power trip with enforcing the dress code instead of helping the students. Now that doesn't speak for every teacher there, with an exception of a very few phenomenal teachers. If you are not high upper class, and your child isn't dressed to the hilt in designer clothes, he or she WILL have trouble fitting in here.If your child isn't a cheerleader, or football player, they will not get special attention from the teachers, when it comes to help etc for "they should have payed attention in class"


Posted July 20, 2013

The Hewitt Trussville High school is great. The Band program is one of the best programs in the state. The teachers and faulty is always trying to improve the progress of your children


Posted July 11, 2013

I'm about to be a senior at HTHS, and it can be a great place to learn. What has kept HTHS going over the past few years is a very talented and strong faculty and group of teachers. They are simply amazing overall. However, there is constant administrative turnover, having had 3 different principals and 10 different assistant principals now since I've been here. The new principal is absolutely clueless about how to interact with students and teachers and really is clueless overall. A vast majority of the teachers can't stand him. If HTHS can solve its' problems with leadership that have plagued it over the last several years, it can be an excellent school and not just good.


Posted July 27, 2012

I'm about to enter my junior year at HTHS and I can't wait to leave it when I'm a senior. More than half the teachers don't even know what they're teaching and I get very little help on the subjects that I struggle with like math and science. If I ask for help, they just say "you should have payed more attention in class" and not say another word. They put too much emphasis on dress code and rules as well as sports and standardized testing. Stop crooning over the football players and cheerleaders and start caring about the students for once. I just hope when my sister enters high school, my parents will have enough common sense not to put her in HTHS.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 5, 2011

It's a school meant for the athletically inclined. Art classes gotten only one fifth of a fraction better. There is barely any hands on experience and the experiences that you do have are usually in a classroom or by the Cahaba. Dress code is ridiculous since piercings, hair color, hair length, and sleeve width are not distracting. Several teachers have power issues and help with comprehension is minimum. Some teachers are good in personality only. Send child here if you want them to become cookie cutter perfect in image only.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 21, 2011

If you want to go to a school where every kid looks and acts the same with no adversity then HTHS is the place for you. They care NOTHING about the arts and dont even fund any of them. ALL focus is on sports. Sports spots sports. They're too concerned with being the most prim and proper and having NO diversity. God forbid a boy have long hair. He should be suspended for it. HA! The superintendent is completely clueless as to what would make the school better and runs off every decent teacher and administrator. If you want your kid to be exposed to diversity and be a true individual avoid HTHS. if you want your kid to be popped out of a mold, experience no new experiences, see no diversity, and be like everyone else. You've found your school. personally to any Trussville employees reading this. FUND THE ARTS!!!! and quit worrying so much about the dress code. having long hair or pierced ears isn't distracting from learning. Its you being afraid of anything like not a normal polo wearing cookie cutter kid. get over yourselves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2011

I am sorry to say that I am a product of Trussville schools. You should send your children to HTHS if: - You want them to attend a school that failed to make Adequate Yearly Progress (*basic* federal requirements under No Child Left Behind) as recently as 2006; - You want them to attend a school that has an average ACT score of 22.2, less than a point above the national average and ranking *63rd* in the state of Alabama; - You want them to attend a school where almost all students who are college bound go on to a public university in the state of Alabama; - You want them to attend a school that not only lacks diversity on any imaginable dimension, but also prides itself on its homogeneity. Trussville schools are a scary combination of mediocrity and false pride. They are light years behind Mountain Brook, Vestavia Hills, Hoover, and Homewood schools, but they have no idea that they aren't special. If you are a freakishly-conservative Republican Christian who doesn't want children to question *anything*, then HTHS is a great choice! If you are moving from another part of the country, you will be shocked by the backwardness... Trust me.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 16, 2011

hello i was formally a student at hewitt from second to tenth grade. my nieces are also students ,and they love it from my expierences at hewitt as oppose to others school (not to say anything negative about any teachers or learning institutions from other schools by any means) have been a great learning experence. now from what i see from my family the teaching still has the best teachers they will actually take the extra time to make sure no student is left behind in understanding . thankyou for making a page for people new and old students with families to express their opinions on any school thanks again mm class 01'
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 5, 2010

Board of Education not elected or represenative of parent and families. Focused on Money, policies and accredation instead of students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2010

I wish that I had never sent my children to this school. Awful teachers except for a few. No creativity.There is nothing to engage students. The only ones that count are athletes or if you are someone in the community. The system does not care about the students. All that matters is the school standing with other schools. As far as parental involvement, only a chosen few "the clique" is wanted. They need to focus on teaching the students instead of focusing on testing and making all the students hate being there. Faculty and staff treat football players and cheerleaders like they are royalty. The superintendent is an egotistical control freak who has sucked any creative way of teaching out of the system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2010

Move into the area with only two and a half months left in the school year. My daughter broke her knee the first week and everyone, staff, teachers, coaches went out of their way to help. We left a very small private school and didn't know what to expect. My senior and sophomore adjusted very well and are happy. It has been a great experience. Would recommend the school and the area to anyone moving to Birmingham.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2010

miss manage school funding, focused on boe and teacher salarys, no communication with familys, very expensive for nothing
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2009

No that good. No diversity in this school. If
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

This is a fantastic school for my child, friendly and learning accessible environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

The administration and staff care about our children and our community. Our children will be better people because they are a part of the Trussville City Schools! It's a great place to education our children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2009

Hewitt Trussville middle School is arguably one of the worst schools in the nation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2009

Very big school biggest school in the state of alabama. Great teachers
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 8, 2009

i attended this high school, and dont recomend it. Over half the teacher have no idea what they are talking about, but there are a few good ones. In my years at hewitt i spent a lot more time on my homework than i should have because the homework that was given to me the teacher never taught, so i had to take extra time to learn it out of the book. the principals are also not the best and dont even get me started about the superintendent. overall i rate this school a thumbs down
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 6, 2009

There are very few teachers with experience of 5 or more years. The policy is to have 60% non-tenured teachers.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 95% in 2012.

307 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Language

The state average for Language was 75% in 2012.

307 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

306 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2012.

308 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2009.

274 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
92%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 71% in 2012.

308 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
84%

2009

 
 
93%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 98% in 2012.

277 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Language

The state average for Language was 90% in 2012.

277 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 95% in 2012.

277 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%

2009

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 94% in 2012.

277 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%

2009

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 94% in 2009.

289 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
98%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 90% in 2012.

277 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
93%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students99%
Female100%
Male97%
Black97%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White99%
Free lunch eligible100%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education77%
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Poverty100%
Non-poverty99%

Language

All Students90%
Female90%
Male90%
Black74%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Free lunch eligible65%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education31%
General population93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Poverty71%
Non-poverty92%

Math

All Students90%
Female90%
Male90%
Black68%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Free lunch eligible78%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education62%
General population91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Poverty79%
Non-poverty91%

Reading

All Students93%
Female93%
Male93%
Black84%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White94%
Free lunch eligible78%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education46%
General population95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Poverty82%
Non-poverty94%

Social Studies

All Students87%
Female82%
Male93%
Black81%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White88%
Free lunch eligible74%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education46%
General population89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Poverty71%
Non-poverty89%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black100%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible100%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Poverty100%
Non-poverty100%

Language

All Students98%
Female100%
Male96%
Black97%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligible97%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Poverty92%
Non-poverty99%

Math

All Students99%
Female98%
Male99%
Black97%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White99%
Free lunch eligible97%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Poverty97%
Non-poverty99%

Reading

All Students98%
Female100%
Male96%
Black97%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligible97%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Poverty92%
Non-poverty99%

Social Studies

All Students95%
Female94%
Male97%
Black100%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Free lunch eligible97%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Poverty95%
Non-poverty95%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 58%
Black 10% 35%
Asian 2% 1%
Hispanic 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5275 Trussvilleclay Rd
Trussville, AL 35173
Website: Click here
Phone: (205) 228-3500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Erwin High School
Birmingham, AL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT