Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

2 stars
Based on 31 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


34 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hewitt-Trussville High School 1

Posted September 13, 2014
- a community member
Being a senior at HTHS is horrible. I loathe the school administrators because of their attitude towards most students. If you aren't popular or a cheerleader than most of them don't like you. I honestly can't wait to graduate. I would NEVER send my kids to this school unless i wanted them to conform and try to be someone they aren't. The school focus' on dress code more than test scores. Words can't describe how much I hate having to wake up and go to a school that I hate with a passion.

Hewitt-Trussville High School 5

Posted May 10, 2014
- a parent
For my academically advanced child, this school is the perfect place for her to push herself and the AP offerings are phenomenal! It is nice to be part of a system with so much community backing, it is unbelievable. Everyone in the town just wants to make this a premier school and that is definitely what it is.


Hewitt-Trussville High School 5

Posted January 22, 2014
- a parent
This is a great high school. My oldest will graduate in 2014 with 7 AP classes completed. He has really enjoyed most of his teachers and has had no trouble making friends after having moved here from the Chicago area just before the start of his sophomore year. I also have a son who is a freshman and he is happy with the school, his teachers, and the friends he has made. The band program is quite good and my sons have enjoyed taking part in it. Both have participated in school athletics and have had great coaches. The school provides excellent academic opportunities to those who seek them and the community is a great place to raise a family.

Hewitt-Trussville High School 1

Posted September 17, 2013
- a community member
Honestly, this is a very miserable school for the students and maybe even some of the teachers. Diversity is a foreign word here. Art?? Individuality?? Self expression?? This school seems to look down upon it, even punish it. Instead of nurturing and rewarding it. Sports! and Jesus!, yeah that's more like it with this school. This is a very cookie cutter, conservative republican, christian, vibe school. So if that's how you want your child then by all means maybe this school is for you. If your child has a big personality full of expression, questioning, and individuality.. hmm this definitely NOT your school. Its all about image here, a lot of the teachers are on some kind of weird power trip with enforcing the dress code instead of helping the students. Now that doesn't speak for every teacher there, with an exception of a very few phenomenal teachers. If you are not high upper class, and your child isn't dressed to the hilt in designer clothes, he or she WILL have trouble fitting in here.If your child isn't a cheerleader, or football player, they will not get special attention from the teachers, when it comes to help etc for "they should have payed attention in class"

Hewitt-Trussville High School 5

Posted July 20, 2013
- a community member
The Hewitt Trussville High school is great. The Band program is one of the best programs in the state. The teachers and faulty is always trying to improve the progress of your children


Hewitt-Trussville High School 2

Posted July 11, 2013
- a community member
I'm about to be a senior at HTHS, and it can be a great place to learn. What has kept HTHS going over the past few years is a very talented and strong faculty and group of teachers. They are simply amazing overall. However, there is constant administrative turnover, having had 3 different principals and 10 different assistant principals now since I've been here. The new principal is absolutely clueless about how to interact with students and teachers and really is clueless overall. A vast majority of the teachers can't stand him. If HTHS can solve its' problems with leadership that have plagued it over the last several years, it can be an excellent school and not just good.

Hewitt-Trussville High School 1

Posted July 27, 2012
- a student
I'm about to enter my junior year at HTHS and I can't wait to leave it when I'm a senior. More than half the teachers don't even know what they're teaching and I get very little help on the subjects that I struggle with like math and science. If I ask for help, they just say "you should have payed more attention in class" and not say another word. They put too much emphasis on dress code and rules as well as sports and standardized testing. Stop crooning over the football players and cheerleaders and start caring about the students for once. I just hope when my sister enters high school, my parents will have enough common sense not to put her in HTHS.

Hewitt-Trussville High School 2

Posted August 05, 2011
- a student
It's a school meant for the athletically inclined. Art classes gotten only one fifth of a fraction better. There is barely any hands on experience and the experiences that you do have are usually in a classroom or by the Cahaba. Dress code is ridiculous since piercings, hair color, hair length, and sleeve width are not distracting. Several teachers have power issues and help with comprehension is minimum. Some teachers are good in personality only. Send child here if you want them to become cookie cutter perfect in image only.


Hewitt-Trussville High School 1

Posted July 21, 2011
- a parent
If you want to go to a school where every kid looks and acts the same with no adversity then HTHS is the place for you. They care NOTHING about the arts and dont even fund any of them. ALL focus is on sports. Sports spots sports. They're too concerned with being the most prim and proper and having NO diversity. God forbid a boy have long hair. He should be suspended for it. HA! The superintendent is completely clueless as to what would make the school better and runs off every decent teacher and administrator. If you want your kid to be exposed to diversity and be a true individual avoid HTHS. if you want your kid to be popped out of a mold, experience no new experiences, see no diversity, and be like everyone else. You've found your school. personally to any Trussville employees reading this. FUND THE ARTS!!!! and quit worrying so much about the dress code. having long hair or pierced ears isn't distracting from learning. Its you being afraid of anything like not a normal polo wearing cookie cutter kid. get over yourselves.

Hewitt-Trussville High School 1

Posted May 24, 2011
- a student
I am sorry to say that I am a product of Trussville schools. You should send your children to HTHS if: - You want them to attend a school that failed to make Adequate Yearly Progress (*basic* federal requirements under No Child Left Behind) as recently as 2006; - You want them to attend a school that has an average ACT score of 22.2, less than a point above the national average and ranking *63rd* in the state of Alabama; - You want them to attend a school where almost all students who are college bound go on to a public university in the state of Alabama; - You want them to attend a school that not only lacks diversity on any imaginable dimension, but also prides itself on its homogeneity. Trussville schools are a scary combination of mediocrity and false pride. They are light years behind Mountain Brook, Vestavia Hills, Hoover, and Homewood schools, but they have no idea that they aren't special. If you are a freakishly-conservative Republican Christian who doesn't want children to question *anything*, then HTHS is a great choice! If you are moving from another part of the country, you will be shocked by the backwardness... Trust me.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hewitt-Trussville High School
5275 Trussvilleclay Rd, Trussville, AL  35173
(205) 228-3500
Last modified Hewitt-Trussville High School is a Public school that serves grades PK, 8-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hewitt-Trussville High School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. Top