Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK, 8-12
Public district
Trussville, AL
Students enrolled: 1,328
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hewitt-Trussville High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted August 16, 2015
- a parent
It doesn't foster respect in or from the students. Terrible place to go to school.

Hewitt-Trussville High School 2

Posted August 16, 2015
- a parent
I had 4 children graduate from HTHS. One was in the high IQ, but because she was shy and not athletic, was virtually ignored. Thankfully, she had a close group of core friends.The teachers and staff are very biased towards athletes, cheerleaders, and that certain elite group. My second is very artsy, thinks outside of the box, and it was years of them trying to make her conform. No new ideas are acceptable. They only want conformity, even in art classes.My last two dealt with dishonest teachers, and parents that would do anything they could to put their child above yours. With a few exceptions, teachers and staff are uncaring, and not very good at teaching. I had one teacher that did not even notice, for an entire month, that one daughter had on a cast from toes to knee. Asked me why my child was late for class, when mt daughter had an excuse .After they graduated, my children, threw away any and all memorabilia, including annuals. This is nothing but a school in Peyton Place or Harper Valley. Take a look at how many, even with B's in subjects, end up in remedial classes in college.


Hewitt-Trussville High School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted August 11, 2015
- a student
A small handful of teachers are committed to developing their students into well rounded adults, while the rest meander during classes and wait for their next paycheck.

Hewitt-Trussville High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 11, 2015
- a student
It all varies on what classes you take. The advanced classes always get more homework than the general students, but that's solely because the advanced are more capable to handle the greater work load.

Hewitt-Trussville High School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted August 11, 2015
- a student
There is no such thing as a new experience within the school's walls, as most students will likely end up in a public university within the state after graduation.


Hewitt-Trussville High School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted August 11, 2015
- a student
It does if you fit the Christian, upper middle class, Conservative Republican mold. If you're one that's different and doesn't fit the mold, then the school will stomp all over you.

Hewitt-Trussville High School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted August 11, 2015
- a student
It only develops said characteristics if you're within the higher end of the hierarchy .

Hewitt-Trussville High School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted August 11, 2015
- a student
I can barely agree because the social hierarchy is heavily present within the student body and faculty and denying that it's so incredibly prevalent is a pathetic lie.


Hewitt-Trussville High School 5

Posted June 29, 2015
- a community member
I loved my time at this school. For the most part everyone seemed to get along. Of course, all schools have their groups of friends and activities that interested different people, but at the end of the day no one ever seemed left out or uninvited to join the groups of people or activities.

Hewitt-Trussville High School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted June 29, 2015
- a community member
Yes, there were a lot of different ways to interact with each other here. Events held to bind the student body so no one felt left out.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hewitt-Trussville High School
5275 Trussvilleclay Rd, Trussville, AL  35173
(205) 228-3500
Last modified Hewitt-Trussville High School is a Public school that serves grades PK, 8-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hewitt-Trussville High School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 55 reviews. Top