Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


33 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Rock Quarry Elementary School 2

Posted December 20, 2013
- a parent
We did not have a great experience here. Our child displayed signs of a learning disability soon after starting. We asked for recommendations on things we could do differently at home, but no recommendations were given. We asked for testing and did not get it until after we had already paid for an outside evaluation. Both tests confirmed the same learning disability. Even after testing, it was extremely difficult to get the necessary help in place. I do believe this school is probably ok if your child does not have learning differences, but I do know from our experience kids with learning differences are falling through the cracks. I would recommend that all parents keep a close eye on your child's progress and question anything that doesn't seem quite right. We are their parent and best advocate. Ultimately, we are responsible for our children.

Rock Quarry Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
Rock Quarry is a great School. We moved from Mountain Brook Elementary Scool (Crestline) and fell like we di not sacrifice anything regarding the quality educational opportunities that are provided.


Rock Quarry Elementary School 5

Posted August 18, 2013
- a community member
I started RQE in kindergarten and graduated in the 5th grad I went to the middle school the 1st year that it opens then I had to move so I'm now a junior at sipsey valley high school I have to say that RQE is my favorite and I miss all the teachers that taught me there and I have to say there will always be a special place for RQE in my heart

Rock Quarry Elementary School 5

Posted March 16, 2013
- a parent
RQE is a fantastic school and it is not surprising that parents blame teachers, principles and counselors for their child's behavior problems. It's easier to place the fault on someone else instead of the believing there is an actual problem I highly recommend RQE and support the faculty and staff 110%.

Rock Quarry Elementary School 1

Posted October 31, 2012
- a parent
My experience at Rock Quarry Elementary was terrible. My son s 1st grade teacher was verbally abusive and was so terrible to him until it seemed like something from out of a horrific movie. I reported her to the principal and was shocked to hear that there was nothing the principal was willing to do about it. This was not a great school for us, and I advise parents to keep a close eye on the classroom to insure proper treatment of your child.


Rock Quarry Elementary School 5

Posted October 03, 2012
- a parent
Great teachers and administration. I have had two to go through the school and two are currenly enrolled. THE BEST SCHOOL IN TUSCALOOSA.

Rock Quarry Elementary School 5

Posted October 19, 2010
- a parent
Rock Quarry Elementary has dedicated teachers and parents.

Rock Quarry Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 18, 2010
- a parent
My kids love going to school everyday & never complain. They have great teachers are learning so much!


Rock Quarry Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 14, 2010
- a parent
They have always been very good about putting the childrens' needs first and finding ways to improve each year on education.

Rock Quarry Elementary School 5

Posted October 14, 2010
- a parent
Because it has the best teachers!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Rock Quarry Elementary School
2000 Rock Quarry Dr, Tuscaloosa, AL  35406
(205) 759-8347
Last modified Rock Quarry Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Rock Quarry Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. Top