Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
8-12
Public district
Tuscaloosa, AL
Students enrolled: 1,271
 

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hillcrest High School 1

Posted June 30, 2014
- a community member
So glad i never have to set foot in this school again. This school managed to take what should have been some of the happiest years in my life and turned them into some of the worst! Hillcrest High School is Horrible!

Hillcrest High School 1

Posted May 19, 2014
- a parent
Happiest day of me and my childs life was to graduate this weekend and get away from this school and it's horrible leadership! This women has an attitude towards students, could care less about the ramifications of their actions on students future! Untill principal is fired i see no hope of improving this school. I have spoken to many parents and students who feel the same way but are afriad to say something in fear of retaliation by principal.


Hillcrest High School 1

Posted February 18, 2013
- a parent
I had a simular experience my son was in the band program since grade school and in his junior year with taking AP classes he was thinking of dropping out of marching band that year. He was threatened with being taken out of other band functions. Complaining to management of the school fell on deaf ears! Shouldn't we prepare these children for life and college after high school? While i agree sports and band have a place in the school curriculum i'm preety sure it shouldn't be ahead of english, math, science, ect.

Hillcrest High School 5

Posted October 22, 2009
- a parent
Outstanding leadership, community involvement, extracurricular activities. It is a very safe environment with good parental involvement.

Hillcrest High School 5

Posted January 05, 2009
- a student
I am a student of Hillcrest High and I love it! I have visited many schools in the area and would never transfer! It is a great size- big enough to get all the different activities and options, but just small enough to remain very personable and welcoming. The theatre program is amazing and it is very well known across the area. Sports are pretty good. The basketball and baseball teams won the state championship last year. The football is gradually getting into champion shape :] There are many academic-focused clubs that are very large in this school. When the A & B Honor Roll Party is called out over the intercom, it is common for 3/4 of every class to get up! This is not to say the classes are easy! There are many advanced and AP college credit level classes avaliable that many students take advantage of. Lovethisschool! :]


Hillcrest High School 5

Posted January 03, 2009
- a student
Hillcrest is a very wonderful school that equips students to handle life in whatever way that they may choose to after they leave its halls.

Hillcrest High School 5

Posted October 04, 2008
- a student
Every faculty member does anything they possibly do to help me become successful.

Hillcrest High School 5

Posted March 17, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Hillcrest High School 0
no rating

Posted August 18, 2007
- a student
I went to this school for one year and it was one of the greatest years of my life. It is so easy to fit in--a group for everyone. By no way was I wearing brand clothing or the latest whatever but i had some of the best friends ever. I had very high grades and the teachers are wonderful. This was my first year at a real school and it couldn't have been better.

Hillcrest High School 3

Posted August 17, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hillcrest High School
300 Patriot Parkway, Tuscaloosa, AL  35405
(205) 342-2800
Last modified Hillcrest High School is a Public school that serves grades 8-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hillcrest High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top