Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Valley High School

Public | 9-12 | 938 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 12, 2013

I am a student at this school, and I am getting bullied. I told my teachers and the guidance. Nothing has been done about it. Some teachers treat us like 2nd graders


Posted October 13, 2009

I was a student here and when i was in school, which was anly a few years ago there were a lot of problems with the staff. teachers, some of them do not need to even be teachers. but as i have visited the school this year i have seen a drastic change. more student and teacher interaction. the administration this year is wonderful and excellent with the kids. They are slowly but surely weeding out the bad teachers and im glad to see Mrs. Fryer is back excellent teacher . Mrs. weldon is the assistant principal and was my 7th and eith grade teacher. she was wonderful then and now being in charge, she is even better .


Posted August 29, 2008

I am a student here. They are a average school. It could be way better than it is.. There are some teachers that are great at what they do but some are just awful and you leave that class without learning anythin and thats pretty bad.. But dont get me wrong since we got our new prinpal it has changed alot and has gotten really better than what it was. Its pretty much an average school. They really foucsed more on sports.. And more parents are worried about that then academics.. But its a pretty good public school
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 5, 2007

I went to Valley High as a student, and have a daughter now going. The school has really improved over the years, and has the best teachers in this area. So far I have not had any problems at the school, my daughter is only a freshman though. She is in the band and Loves it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2006

Discipline is inconsistent and ineffective.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 17, 2005

This school has very little parent involvement and very few activities such as FFA, Science Club, Math Club. The school has minimal involvement of students with its athletic programs. I have noticed too many students roaming the halls between classes (without passes) mainly because there is no plan currently in place for this type of behavior problem. Much of the administration blames 'outside interference' for their lack of discipline in the school. The school is presently under the eye of the state for its repeated discipline negligence.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted September 1, 2005

I am a graduate of Valley High School. The teachers did a great job of preparing me for Auburn University where I graduated in 2000. My sister currently attends VHS and they are doing a great job with her also. Parent participation is a large key in a child development through out their school career. The teacher can only be blamed for so much.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 22, 2005

I was extremely disatisfied with there performance with my child. We moved to avoid another year.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 95% in 2012.

200 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
92%
Language

The state average for Language was 75% in 2012.

199 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
67%

2009

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

199 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
78%

2009

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2012.

200 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
74%

2009

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2009.

152 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
72%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 71% in 2012.

199 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
59%

2009

 
 
77%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 98% in 2012.

184 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Language

The state average for Language was 90% in 2012.

184 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
97%

2009

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 95% in 2012.

184 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
99%

2009

 
 
99%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 94% in 2012.

184 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
99%

2009

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 94% in 2009.

148 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
95%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 90% in 2012.

184 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
91%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students95%
Female91%
Male98%
Black90%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Free lunch eligible91%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education64%
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Poverty92%
Non-poverty97%

Language

All Students74%
Female81%
Male68%
Black70%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White78%
Free lunch eligible67%
Reduced lunch eligible77%
Special education21%
General population78%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant74%
Poverty68%
Non-poverty81%

Math

All Students81%
Female83%
Male79%
Black74%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White84%
Free lunch eligible74%
Reduced lunch eligible85%
Special education31%
General population84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%
Poverty75%
Non-poverty87%

Reading

All Students81%
Female79%
Male84%
Black73%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White86%
Free lunch eligible73%
Reduced lunch eligible77%
Special education14%
General population86%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%
Poverty74%
Non-poverty89%

Social Studies

All Students63%
Female52%
Male74%
Black44%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White73%
Free lunch eligible49%
Reduced lunch eligible46%
Special education14%
General population66%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English63%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant63%
Poverty49%
Non-poverty78%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students99%
Female99%
Male99%
Black98%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible98%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education85%
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Poverty98%
Non-poverty100%

Language

All Students90%
Female94%
Male86%
Black86%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Free lunch eligible87%
Reduced lunch eligible84%
Special education31%
General population95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Poverty87%
Non-poverty95%

Math

All Students95%
Female98%
Male92%
Black93%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Free lunch eligible92%
Reduced lunch eligible95%
Special education38%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Poverty92%
Non-poverty99%

Reading

All Students95%
Female96%
Male94%
Black94%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible94%
Reduced lunch eligible89%
Special education62%
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Poverty93%
Non-poverty97%

Social Studies

All Students89%
Female88%
Male89%
Black86%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White90%
Free lunch eligible87%
Reduced lunch eligible84%
Special education31%
General population93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Poverty87%
Non-poverty91%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 58%
Black 40% 35%
Hispanic 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

501 Hwy 29
Valley, AL 36854
Website: Click here
Phone: (334) 756-4105

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Acts Academy
Valley, AL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT