Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Valley High School 2

Posted November 12, 2013
- a community member
I am a student at this school, and I am getting bullied. I told my teachers and the guidance. Nothing has been done about it. Some teachers treat us like 2nd graders

Valley High School 4

Posted May 28, 2012
- a student
I went here as a student. When I was a Senior, it was the first year that Mrs. Lynn was not principal. To say that chaos ensued would be a bit of an understatement. A lot of the teachers did not care about whether or not we learned, but there were some veteran teachers (some of who are still there, Mrs. Fryer, Coach Blackman, Mrs. Clark, Mr. Chandler, Mr. Lee, Mrs. Knox, and others; and some that aren't) who were remarkable and really shaped me to what I am today. The administration was not as strong as it could have been, but I never had trouble in the system. However, if you're not the right kind of person, it may be hard for the child to get into certain clubs.


Valley High School
no rating

Posted October 13, 2009
- a community member
I was a student here and when i was in school, which was anly a few years ago there were a lot of problems with the staff. teachers, some of them do not need to even be teachers. but as i have visited the school this year i have seen a drastic change. more student and teacher interaction. the administration this year is wonderful and excellent with the kids. They are slowly but surely weeding out the bad teachers and im glad to see Mrs. Fryer is back excellent teacher . Mrs. weldon is the assistant principal and was my 7th and eith grade teacher. she was wonderful then and now being in charge, she is even better .

Valley High School 3

Posted August 29, 2008
- a student
I am a student here. They are a average school. It could be way better than it is.. There are some teachers that are great at what they do but some are just awful and you leave that class without learning anythin and thats pretty bad.. But dont get me wrong since we got our new prinpal it has changed alot and has gotten really better than what it was. Its pretty much an average school. They really foucsed more on sports.. And more parents are worried about that then academics.. But its a pretty good public school

Valley High School 5

Posted November 05, 2007
- a parent
I went to Valley High as a student, and have a daughter now going. The school has really improved over the years, and has the best teachers in this area. So far I have not had any problems at the school, my daughter is only a freshman though. She is in the band and Loves it!


Valley High School 2

Posted January 05, 2006
- a teacher
Discipline is inconsistent and ineffective.

Valley High School 3

Posted December 17, 2005
- a teacher
This school has very little parent involvement and very few activities such as FFA, Science Club, Math Club. The school has minimal involvement of students with its athletic programs. I have noticed too many students roaming the halls between classes (without passes) mainly because there is no plan currently in place for this type of behavior problem. Much of the administration blames 'outside interference' for their lack of discipline in the school. The school is presently under the eye of the state for its repeated discipline negligence.

Valley High School 5

Posted September 01, 2005
- a student
I am a graduate of Valley High School. The teachers did a great job of preparing me for Auburn University where I graduated in 2000. My sister currently attends VHS and they are doing a great job with her also. Parent participation is a large key in a child development through out their school career. The teacher can only be blamed for so much.


Valley High School 2

Posted August 22, 2005
- a parent
I was extremely disatisfied with there performance with my child. We moved to avoid another year.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Valley High School
501 Hwy 29, Valley, AL  36854
(334) 756-4105
Last modified Valley High School is a Public school that serves grades 8-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Valley High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top