Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-9
Public
Valley, AL
Students enrolled: 698
 

2 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


W F Burns Middle School 1

Posted November 10, 2013
- a community member
I was a former student at this school, all three grades, from 2010-2013. This school has few good teachers, and all are very bias against students. Despite being the majority race, Caucasian students are very singled out against, and are treated worse than other race students. There is very little that is good about this school. One thing that is, is the music program. I myself was in the band, and students in the band have many opportunities within the group. Some of which are competitions against many statewide bands, playing for the football team on some occasions, and concerts. This school needs much work. New staff of well-trained teachers, and new principals and faculty. The academics need to be heightened, so students can learn what is needed for work life. A better disciplinary system would work greatly. Many students who want to learn, cannot do so because of troublesome students interrupting the teachers.

W F Burns Middle School 1

Posted February 01, 2011
- a parent
WF Burns is very poor. It seems that the teachers have no relationship with the children and that they are there to just pass the time. My child feels like he is attending a military school. You have to walk a straight line in the halls and no talking. I think it's poor when the children can't even interact with each other. WF Burns answer to everything is In School Suspension, which denies the children of alot if they are ever placed in ISS. Children need to be able to be themselves and not be punished for what other children do or have done in the past. Poor Principal leadership - but good assistant Principal. WAY WAY WAY too much busy homework. I agree with teaching children to be creative but let them do these creative type busy projects AT SCHOOL! That's what the teachers are there for - to help and teach them with these things. Not to send home some guidelines for the parents to have to do when it's a project that teaches a child NOTHING!!


W F Burns Middle School 1

Posted March 24, 2010
- a parent
poor teachers, poor staff. kids do what they want. give them after school dedention they don't show up. nothing is done ..... the principal needs to tighten up or go

W F Burns Middle School 1

Posted February 07, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

W F Burns Middle School 5

Posted January 07, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


W F Burns Middle School 1

Posted July 23, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

W F Burns Middle School 0
no rating

Posted May 31, 2008
- a student
I am a current stuent at this school. I think it could use alot of help. There is barely anything for students to get involved in and they have to be popular to do it. I really hate this school.

W F Burns Middle School 4

Posted January 31, 2008
- a parent
This is a great school! The teachers are excellent and are all highly-qualified and highly-motivated. My children came there from a local private school, Springwood, and had a lot of catching up to do. I wish they had gone to this school all along.


W F Burns Middle School 3

Posted January 16, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

W F Burns Middle School 2

Posted November 06, 2006
- a parent
The academic standards in this school is very poor. They do stuff in 7th grade that kids in private school do in the h or 5th. The teachers and staff are not interested in the kids at all. They do just enough to get them and the kids by. Plus they are always rearranging kids schedules and when the school messes up it is always said to be 'computer problems'. My advice either go private or move out of the area we sure are.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

W F Burns Middle School
292 Johnson St, Valley, AL  36854
(334) 756-3567
Last modified W F Burns Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-9. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
W F Burns Middle School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top