Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Beulah Elementary School

Public | PK-6

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 15, 2014

I love Beulah Elementary! This is our second year there and have found it to be more than wonderful. My daughter's teacher last year was marvelous, and this year seems to be trending the same. Mrs. Arnett, the principal, is so ambitious and loving toward the entire community. I could not ask for a better place for my children to be nurtured.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2013

Horribly rude office staff! And though they have a nurse at the school, the teacher may or may not send your child to her. My child sat all day with a high fever, that was caused from a severe strep infection, and her teacher said she felt unwell as well and had my child take her seat. I guess a teaching degree goes hand in hand with a medical degree... Had my child's complaint been taken seriously, she would have been able to seek proper medical attention and not have to suffer it out!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2013

Beulah is the worst school my kids ever attened.They make the rules as they go along.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2012

My son had his fathers mom eat lunch with him well she decided that she would check him out without telling me, Now we have to fill out a paper stating who CAN check our children out so if she was not on there why would they let her check him out... If we have to fill it out why wont they go by it I mean she wasn't on there for a reason.. I'm glad my child was not harmed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2011

my son went to city schools before going to Beulah Co school. He has learned more and Grown up so wonderful since he has been there. His teachers a Beulah are Great they are teaching him things and when he gets home he teaches me things I never new about!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

My child started Beulah Elem. this year for the first time. I have some concerns. I have not been impressed with her teacher at ALL. She does not have control over her class room, She does not submit grades into the STI system on a regular basis and information about events are not sent home on a regular basis. My older child goes to the High School and I have been very impressed with that school, however I have not been too impressed with the Elementary School so far. I can just pray that she gets a better teacher next year. I think that will make a world of diffrence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2009

My daughter went to Beulah Elementary thru 4th grade. Beulah is a great school and the Teachers and Staff are outstanding and wonderfull with children. We moved away from Lee County during the summer of 2009 and my daughter has to start and new school. We are both scared and worried. We hope her new school will be as great as Beulah.. We will miss everyone from the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2009

my child goes to beulah elementary and she has really grown this year and the teachers are so caring and patient
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2008

I would not even consider sending my children to any other school. So I give Beulah School a 10!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2008

Great School and Especially Great and Knowledgeable teachers. The teachers are always going back to school to learn more and recieve more acredidations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2008

I think Beulah is a great school to have my grandchildren in. They are treated with respect and are able to learn at their own levels.


Posted July 13, 2008

My son will be entering the 2nd grade in 2008. We never intended to stay in this area for as long as we have specifically because of the demographics. However, I have been pleasantly surprised with the education my child has received thus far. He has had two superlative teachers who have coached excellence from my son. While we will not be staying in this area when there is an outstanding city school district near-by, Beulah Elementary School has not given me pause about sending my child to county public school. What BES lacks in parental involvement they make up for in teacher and administrator dedication and preparedness for dealing with the demographic which is the majority at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2008

Great school my child goes there and i think the place is wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2007

Great school & teachers. my kids are looking forward to their next year !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2005

Beulah Elementary School not only provides an infrastructure to facilitate quality academics, the principal, Weldon Parkman requires skill based achievements for it's students. There has been instances of misguided parents (vocal minority) trying to direct operations and policies of the school. I applaud Mr. Parkman's diligence in overcoming these misdirected parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2005

The school is well maintained. The parents should involve themselves much more in activities. The area is growing but no one is doing anything to help the schools or teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2005

I think that Beulah Elementary is a great School. The teachers are very organized and they treat each kid the same. Both of my kids have done great at this school and have gotten some great education. I believe this school is one of the best in this county.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2005

I love the involvement that the faculty have with the kids as well as the parents. They have always been more than happy to assist me with whatever questions that I may have. I also was able to attend every function that my child's class had with no hesitation from the teacher. It's a really great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2004

I think Beulah Elementary has great teachers that are commited to have well disciplined students and have fun learning I think its the best school your child could go through, the teachers go above and beyond to help the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students84%
Female95%
Male75%
Black65%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White88%
Free lunch eligible85%
Reduced lunch eligible91%
Special education33%
General population92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant84%
Poverty86%
Not poverty80%

Reading

All Students81%
Female91%
Male73%
Black71%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White83%
Free lunch eligible81%
Reduced lunch eligible82%
Special education25%
General population89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant81%
Poverty81%
Not poverty80%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students66%
Female62%
Male70%
Black53%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White67%
Free lunch eligible51%
Reduced lunch eligible77%
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English66%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant66%
Poverty55%
Not poverty84%

Reading

All Students86%
Female88%
Male83%
Black80%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White86%
Free lunch eligible77%
Reduced lunch eligible92%
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant86%
Poverty80%
Not poverty95%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students95%
Female96%
Male94%
Black94%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Free lunch eligible95%
Reduced lunch eligible91%
Special education100%
General population95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant95%
Poverty94%
Not poverty97%

Reading

All Students92%
Female93%
Male92%
Black78%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible93%
Reduced lunch eligible73%
Special education82%
General population94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant92%
Poverty90%
Not poverty97%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
Female87%
Male78%
Black73%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White83%
Free lunch eligible73%
Reduced lunch eligible67%
Special education33%
General population89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant82%
Poverty72%
Not poverty98%

Reading

All Students90%
Female96%
Male82%
Black93%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White88%
Free lunch eligible89%
Reduced lunch eligible83%
Special education50%
General population95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant90%
Poverty88%
Not poverty93%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students94%
Female95%
Male94%
Black89%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible93%
Reduced lunch eligible91%
Special education82%
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant94%
Poverty93%
Not poverty97%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 58%
Black 16% 34%
Hispanic 2% 5%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4747 Lee Rd 270
Valley, AL 36854
Website: Click here
Phone: (334) 745-5028

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Acts Academy
Valley, AL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT