Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Brookwood Middle School

Public | 6-9

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 30, 2014

I went to this school for both 7th and 8th grade and loved it. Yes there are bullies, yes there are fights. Every school has this. Don't judge the school badly also if you're a parent and you're child is a delinquent and can't learn or be taught to behave and act decent in a public manner.


Posted December 4, 2013

It's really cool. Lunch isn't great but my teachers make it fun. They really care about you.


Posted October 22, 2013

This is a horrible school.. The bullying is out of control. I cannot wait to have my child away from this place, and no Trip does not help nor does their "new" principal.


Posted May 29, 2013

Brookwood Middle School has been an enlightening experience. I just graduated last week as the 8th grade class and as a student's perspective it is a great environment to be in. Yes, we do have a few fights here and there but IT IS NOT TOLERATED by the faculty and students are highly punished if so. Brookwood Middle has some amazing teachers in every classroom. They all are supportive and actually care about the students, and that's why it is so hard leaving there this year. The science classes are very experimental and I learned so much because of all the hands on activities they provided. In math classes, smart boards are available. These boards allow students to electronically write on a board and are very interesting and not to mention students are antsy just to touch them! But in English, they read great, fascinating stories like "The Giver" by Lois Lowry, which I loved. All in summarization, Brookwood Middle is an excellent school whatever anyone was to say. ( Did I mention how many trophies in math competitions and athletics we have?) -ARH


Posted April 29, 2010

this school is awful in every way I took my child out and it was the best thing I ever did!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

I love BMS because this school has the best teachers! They care so much about providing a great education to the children of the community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2009

Brookwood Middle is the best school because of the wonderful atmosphere! The students exhibit great school pride and make every day a wonderful experience. We also have wonderful administrators, faculty, and support staff!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 7, 2009

Brookwood has the most wonderful falculty and staff!!! Wonderful education and the best EVERYTHING. This school gives students an challenge everyday to be the best and get smarter, learn better, and the succeed in life. This school teaches not only book work but different activities such as AMSTI, SGA Activities and dances. BMS is currently working on a green house to help impove not only ourselves but the community as well...These are only the few dfun things we do at Brookwood Middle, but all in all BROOKWOOD PRANTHERS RULE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

Brookwood Middle School has some of the brightess students I have seen. I have to give thanks to the faculty that surrounds the students.


Posted October 6, 2009

I love teaching here and am so proud to be a part of BMS.


Posted October 5, 2009

I love brookwood because it makes learning fun.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

Brookwood Middle has the finest faculty with which I have ever taught and the students are some of the better ones that I have taught. This combination allows for our school to outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

I love my school because we have the best qualified teachers and they care about their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

The teachers are great - especially Chasidy Miroff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

This is a very good school And I also have grandchildren that go there. We could use all the support from the parents we could get.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

Great multi cultural curriculum and staff.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 4, 2009

I love Brookwood Middle because of the outstanding students and faculty. Brookwood Middle is a school that prepares young people to become productive citizens who are active members of a global society.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 4, 2009

Why do you love Brookwood Middle School? I love the middle school because they have a principle that cares about everyone and everything. He is there to see the school do its best in everything. I appreciate him sooooo much!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

It's a very safe place to learn. The teachers manke learning so enjoyable with hands on experiences and unique teaching. The office staff are very polite and can handle anything. The Counselors are so understanding and really make a difference. The principals are really nice and always talk to the students, faculty, and the parents at every opportunity. The custodial staff really work double hard to keep the school in a very nice a working order. All of this in the midst of budget cuts and shortages. This school's priority reguardless of the economic state is, preparing the students of this rural community for their path in life. Students never want to leave BMS.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 4, 2009

Brookwood Middle has a great family learning environment for students, parents, and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

280 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
71%

2009

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

280 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
82%

2009

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2012.

229 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
43%

2009

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2012.

230 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
81%

2009

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2012.

271 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
74%

2009

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2012.

271 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
71%

2009

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students78%
Female78%
Male78%
Black62%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White79%
Free lunch eligible65%
Reduced lunch eligible81%
Special education36%
General population83%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant78%
Poverty68%
Non-poverty88%

Reading

All Students86%
Female87%
Male86%
Black71%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White88%
Free lunch eligible80%
Reduced lunch eligible81%
Special education54%
General population90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Poverty80%
Non-poverty93%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students60%
Female70%
Male51%
Black63%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White60%
Free lunch eligible50%
Reduced lunch eligible64%
Special education18%
General population67%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English60%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant60%
Poverty52%
Non-poverty72%

Reading

All Students82%
Female87%
Male77%
Black80%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White82%
Free lunch eligible76%
Reduced lunch eligible81%
Special education36%
General population89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Poverty77%
Non-poverty90%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students66%
Female67%
Male65%
Black29%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White68%
Free lunch eligible58%
Reduced lunch eligible73%
Special education20%
General population74%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English66%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant66%
Poverty62%
Non-poverty70%

Reading

All Students74%
Female77%
Male71%
Black50%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White75%
Free lunch eligible67%
Reduced lunch eligible76%
Special education33%
General population81%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant74%
Poverty69%
Non-poverty79%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2012.

231 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
64%

2009

 
 
74%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students77%
Female85%
Male69%
Black75%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White77%
Free lunch eligible72%
Reduced lunch eligible85%
Special education27%
General population85%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant77%
Poverty74%
Non-poverty80%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 58%
Black 6% 34%
Hispanic 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 55%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17021 Brookwood Parkway
Vance, AL 35490
Website: Click here
Phone: (205) 342-2748

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Brookwood High School
Brookwood, AL




The Boyd School
Green Pond, AL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT