Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Vestavia Hills Elementary School West 5

Posted July 16, 2013
- a parent
This school is wonderful. From the top down this school is extremely well run. Teachers are great. Staff is helpful, kind and seem to love the children too. Friendly parents are involved. My children are thriving. Great school. Sometimes it gets "lost" in the school system news. The great accomplishments, good scores, work, activities, etc. are not shown as frequently as its' cousin East's accomplishments are, but it is truly an exceptional school.

Vestavia Hills Elementary School West 5

Posted July 26, 2009
- a parent
This is a great school for many reasons. Partially due to the funding from local property tax, but mostly due to the love, compassion, and committment of the staff at West. It starts at the top with Becky Patton, Principal and Kim Hauser, Vice Principal. They are available and involved with each parent and student. Each of these ladies is committed to providing an excellent loving, learning environment. My child loved her West experience. I could not ask for a better school experience!!


Vestavia Hills Elementary School West 5

Posted March 24, 2009
- a parent
Hi, First, this is a public school. So it has more federal and state mandates to deal with compared to a private school. But even with that burden, Vestavia Hills schools are very very good. Vestavia can keep its schools at a high level because Vestavia Hills is a small city full of parents who move here for the schools. Compare that to Montgomery Al city schools. Montgomery is a huge city district. I went to Dannelly Elementary and Jeff Davis High School. 30 years ago those were good schools. But because the city was large, land opened up, builders built and the city demographics shifted over time. Now Dannelly and Jeff Davis are poorly rated schools. Do your own research and figure out why. That should not happen in Vestavia. There is very little new land to build on. Your home investment will be safe, and your kids will be educated.

Vestavia Hills Elementary School West 5

Posted March 14, 2008
- a parent
If you are looking for an elementary school where parents are involved, teachers care and the students are building character-then WEST is the school for you. We have been at WEST for 3 years and have loved every minute. The teachers are truly concerened with our child's progress and the administration shares our views about education, safety and character building. The school and the community of Vestavia Hills are both top rank.

Vestavia Hills Elementary School West 5

Posted July 24, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Vestavia Hills Elementary School West 5

Posted June 12, 2006
- a parent
This school had a new principal and assistant principal for the 2005-2006 school year. The atmosphere is very positive and the administration welcomes parental involvement. The teachers, administration, and support staff love and care for the children. The school is taking part in the Alabama Reading Initiative. Teachers received training during the year and are excited about the new program. The parental involvement is exceptional. The children attend art and music once a week. All children attend physical education each day with lots of varied activities.

Vestavia Hills Elementary School West 4

Posted September 17, 2005
- a parent
This school accepted our son into its k-5 program this year with the utmost care in making him feel important and special to the school. Even as soon as the July before his first year of school one of the staff left a note addressed to my son on the door of our apartment saying that they were so excited to have him registered for the coming year. The academic plans surpassed our expectations, and the teacher assigned shows personal interest in our son who has become quickly adjusted to his new school. The PTA meetings are well-attended and the parents often seen volunteering around events. My son has classes in music, art, and spanish every week. We are very happy with this school.

Vestavia Hills Elementary School West 4

Posted May 04, 2005
- a parent
The school facility is very clean and has a very good feel to it. All of the teachers I have met are excellent and caring. The curriculum is challenging and meets my expectations as a parent. The administration (principal) is very difficult to deal with; they are not interested in the concerns or suggestions of the parents. Some of the dress code rules are stifling; students can wear athletic shoes only - no exceptions! We also have had some problem with theft of personal property; the teacher responded adequately but the situation was completely dismissed by the assistant principal. Any complaints you may have will fall on deaf ears at the board of education.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Vestavia Hills Elementary School West
1965 Merryvale Rd, Vestavia Hills, AL  35216
(205) 402-5151
Last modified Vestavia Hills Elementary School West is a Public school that serves grades PK-3. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Vestavia Hills Elementary School West Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top