Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
8-12
Public
Vestavia Hills, AL
Students enrolled: 1,821

5 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Vestavia Hills High School 5

Posted September 08, 2012
- a student
I am currently a sophomore at this school and all I have to say is that I love it. The teachers are amazing, and are really good at teaching the classes. I also love the support you get from all the teachers and other students. I'm also in band, and I'm glad that we aren't seen as nerds, but as our own class, probably because we've won a great deal of pep rallies. This school is amazing academic and spirit wise.

Vestavia Hills High School 2

Posted June 13, 2012
- a student
I am an upcoming Senior at Vestavia and I cannot stand this school. The academics are great, but the people are horrible. It is full of stuck up preps who all they do is drink and smoke. It is very hard to find someone who is faithful in the religion. All you find are people that claim to be Christian and then go out and party on the weekends. If you don't drink or smoke it's very hard to find a group of people to fit in with.


Vestavia Hills High School 0
no rating

Posted April 28, 2010
- a parent
Hi! I am the proud parent of a Sophmore at VHHS, and I could not be happier. My son had ADD and the IEP (individualized ed. program) has been such a blessing! The staff really cares about the students at this school, and it shows, not only in the way they teach, but in the way they respect each student as an individual.

Vestavia Hills High School 4

Posted January 04, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Vestavia Hills High School 0
no rating

Posted November 07, 2009
- a parent
lots of interaction and support between parents and school administration


Vestavia Hills High School 5

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
Great academics, excellent administration, wonderful special needs teachers, a national championship math team, a state championship boys' basketball team, and a state top-10 football team - and the girls' teams are just as good. 95%+ of each graduating class go on to further education. A National Blue Ribbon School. What's not to love???

Vestavia Hills High School 5

Posted June 11, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Vestavia Hills High School 0
no rating

Posted October 30, 2008
- a parent
My daughter is a freshman at the high school this year. She is still getting used to the transition from Pizitz to the high school. I think that it is a great school in a great school system, but the most disturbing thing about it: there seems to be quite a few disciplinary problems; cursing, fighting and just plain disrespect for teachers. Thesekids should be removed and sent to another school if they do not appreciate this school! disrespect


Vestavia Hills High School 0
no rating

Posted February 27, 2008
- a student
The athletic programs definitely seem to be valued over all else. Kids are also kind of forced into little groups depending on what courses they choose. Students in all honors classes have very limited interaction with other kids who don't. Students are also limited in being able to take a certain amount of honors classes. There are definitely not encouraged by counselors. There are also certain conflicts that havn't even been attempted to make right. For example you wouldn't be ab/le to take LD debate, math team, and honors/AP chemistry. You also would not be able to take any kind of debate, math team, and athletics. Some courses are hard to fit in, period. For, example right now, Health is not offered 7th period, as independent study, OR during the summer. Oh, and there's only seven periods in the day. There are good things.... It's a very privileged school :)

Vestavia Hills High School 5

Posted November 26, 2007
- a parent
Great school. Great all around program. Academics and extra curricular are outstanding. Caring faculty and staff.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Vestavia Hills High School
2235 Lime Rock Rd, Vestavia Hills, AL  35216
(205) 402-5252
Last modified Vestavia Hills High School is a Public school that serves grades 8-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Vestavia Hills High School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top