Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Private
Vestavia Hills, AL
Students enrolled: 226

5 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Southminster Day School 5

Posted July 26, 2013
- a community member
Southminster Day School is the best school for elementary students in Alabama. My friend's family has children that go there, and we have been to several musical programs and Christmas Programs that are outstanding, so professional. We are supporters of the arts and we believe that a strong program like this is what is needed for children to grow into strong confident leaders as adults.

Southminster Day School 5

Posted January 13, 2013
- a parent
Southminster Day School has been a God-send to my family. The level of instruction is unparalleled-a classic, old-school style that doesn't neglect 21st century needs. If you want your child to truly learn and not regurgitate material-this is the place for them. Class sizes are small and staff truly cares for every child.


Southminster Day School 5

Posted January 11, 2013
- a parent
My son comes home everyday thanking me for sending him to Southminster. It is an amazing place! Now I understand why everyone says once you go there you never want to leave. We could not be happier with our decision.

Southminster Day School 0
no rating

Posted January 07, 2010
- a parent
Southminster has been a true blessing. My boys are learning so much and come home every single day with a big smile on their faces. SDS is right there among the best in the state!

Southminster Day School 5

Posted November 02, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Southminster Day School 0
no rating

Posted October 05, 2009
- a parent
This is our first year at Southminster and I could NOT be happier with our experience thus far! The teachers are WONDERFUL as well as the entire staff! My son has already learned SO much since starting kindergarten at Southminster in August. He had a good foundation with a great pre-school program, but he has still learned SO much since the beginning of the school year!

Southminster Day School 0
no rating

Posted August 21, 2009
- a parent
This school deserves more than five stars! I have never seen such a loving environment at any school. The academics are wonderful and the children are taught responsibility and traditional values. The music program is fabulous and the weekly Chapel services are so special. I dread the day my children graduate from this school. However, I know they will be more than prepared for wherever they go next.

Southminster Day School 5

Posted September 15, 2008
- a parent
Two of my children have attended Southminster. The leadership of Director, Jeanie Covin, is incredible. She is always ready to give the children a hug and encouragement for a good day as she greets them as they are being dropped off in the mornings. The teachers are all concerned and caring about each student's progress and understanding of the material being taught. It is a traditional school with traditional values that is one of the best kept secrets around.


Southminster Day School 5

Posted September 12, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Southminster Day School 5

Posted July 26, 2008
- a parent
Mrs. Covin, the director, helps to make this school a huge success. The children learn in a nuturing enviroment. THeir enrichment classes can't be beat. The Music deptartment is outstanding with Mrs. Holbert heading up the chapels, talent show, programs and plays. My child this year not only learned how to read and write music, but also starred in a Broadway extravaganza!!! Wonderful School!!!!! Wonderful Music Program!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Southminster Day School
1124 Montgomery Highway South, Vestavia Hills, AL  35216
(205) 822-9531
Last modified Southminster Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-5
Southminster Day School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top