Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Cornerstone Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 166 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Wilsonville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $147,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $840.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 3, 2014

Moved my child from a public school that is not Shelby County but around the area( I do not want to bash a school specifically) halfway through his freshman year. I found him unhappy at the public school, he had good grades but would constantly complain about the teachers and coaches and he even told me that HE wanted to be in a Christian environment. I was stunned and it was a hard decision but it was the best decision I've made involving my child's education yet. I have seen him lead more in church and in general and pursue his dreams and goals for college preparation. The teachers really take time with the children and not only teaches, but helps them understand. He is a junior now and has already scored a 28 on his ACT! He has definitely been prepared and ready for the rest of his schooling in college and career throws at him! I'm so thankful my son stood up when he felt he needed a change and God lead us to Cornerstone! SUCH A BLESSING!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2012

This school is such a blessing to our family - we could not be more happy here. Our child is in second grade this year and he is doing wonderfully here and thriving in his classroom. I am sorry to have to disagree with previous poster - these children are not doing kindergarten level work. They are doing fractions and multiplication in math, phonics, history, and cursive writing. I was surprised that they were learing cursive writing in just second grade! And my child is doing quite well with it, too. We love it here! Would definitely recommend to anyone who is considering this school for their child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2012

This is my child's 5th year at Cornerstone. We have been so blessed to have wonderful teachers. This is his 2nd grade year and more often than not he comes home frustrated because they are doing kindergarten level work. He loves to learn and is not enjoying this year as he has in the past. I have expressed my concerns to the headmaster with no response from him. I plan to send my child back to Cornerstone next year because I know the teacher has a great reputation. I am considering home schooling for the rest of this year. I cannot get out of my financial commitment, but maybe I can alleviate some stress for me and my child since I'm already teaching him the things he's not getting at school AND taking him to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2008

My 3 grandchildren are blessed to be at Cornerstone! This is truly a Christian school and the faculty and staff are outstanding. Spiritual leadership and academic excellence in a college prep school where a family atmosphere fosters a superb learning environment.


Posted March 12, 2008

This is a very awesome school. They do awesome things for our us.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 16, 2007

Two of my children have graduated CCS. One of those has now graduated college and the other is in college. Although I believe my kids would have been successful in life, CCS brought my children to another level through the academic, spiritual and social development that they nurtured. This is a GREAT place to educate your children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2007

I am a Cornerstone Alumni. Looking back on my days at CCS, I have nothing but positive things to say about school there. Not only was the education I recieved there excellent, the learning atmosphere and the Godly invironment helped me to strenghen my knowledge of the Bible and my relationship with Christ. The people at Cornerstone not only care about your mental growth, they care about your spiritual growth as well. The acedemic programs I was involved in were active in the community. The art program (Led by the amazing Mrs. Evanachko) was fantastic. Many extra-curricular activities are available there. The parents there are very involved in the class, and everyone does their share to make it a wonderful community. I wouldn't trade my days spent there for the world.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 29, 2006

My child came to Cornerstone Christian School in K-5 and is now in the 6th grade. We LOVE Cornerstone. It has helped my child grow closer to God and she asked Christ in her heart when she was in the 3rd grade. The teachers, staff and headmaster are not afraid to talk openly about God and what he has done in their lives and they CARE about the students. My child has also maintaned A B Honor Roll since K-5 and she is now old enough to play sports for the school. She loves her coaches and knows that they are always there for her no matter what.(they pray with these kids before,during and after EACH practice and game.) What more could you want for your child!!!! As far as parent involvement, they love for parents to help out in any way possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2006

My grandchild has been in Cornerstone Christian School seven years and it has been an outstanding experience. CCS exemplifies the highest quality education in a Christ-centered environment.The faculty and staff at all levels are caring and professional. Best kept secret in Alabama's fastest growing county is Cornerstone Christian School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2004

Cornerstone is a great school. My child has been going here since the school first opened up, she started in k4. I have never had any problems with my child's teachers or anything else that has to do with school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2004

Great school! We had two kids in my daughters graduating class that made a 34 on their ACT and one of those was a National Merit Scholar. Christian teachers, academics and a growing competitive athletic program that NEVER cuss my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2004

My daughter has attended Cornerstone since K4 and is in second now. I can't say enough about the staff at Cornerstone and their concern for the spiritual welfare of the students and their academic education. Once you put your child here, they will never want to leave! Go Chargers!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 97% 58%
Black 3% 34%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 5%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (205) 669-5283

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

24975 Highway 25
Wilsonville, AL 35186
Website: Click here
Phone: (205) 669-7777

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

School Of Tech
Columbiana, AL




Shelby Co High School
Columbiana, AL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT