Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


East High School 3

Posted September 24, 2013
- a student
I believe the school itself is a good school and the teachers are great but from my experience a lot of students there lack motivation and drive. Too many negative influences.

East High School 2

Posted November 08, 2010
- a parent
It would be a pretty good school if they would quit putting kids in detention for being 1 minute late for class. More kids are in detention then in class. The teachers threaten kids with the cops. Cops that are in the school all day if the student doesn't obey. If they don't go to detention they get 2 day suspension. That all they need is more time off not to learn. That is stressful for the kids. I am not impress with this school to totalitarian.


East High School 5

Posted February 23, 2010
- a parent
This school is great, so far all my children have graduated.And might i add that the J.R.O.T.C program has changed my sons outlook of his life in the future.

East High School 2

Posted November 09, 2009
- a parent
This school is horrible. The teachers are rude, arrogant, and just plain under par.

East High School 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
It is the largest, most diverse school in Alaska. We have almost 2500 students - approximately 900 of these students speak English as a second language.


East High School 5

Posted September 28, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

East High School 4

Posted March 21, 2007
- a parent
East High school is the most Diverse school I have seen, the Sports department is strong, and the Teachers and Coachs are real Leaders. My son has had a great High school experience at East.

East High School 5

Posted July 07, 2006
- a parent
East High School is one of the best high schools in the State of Alaska. Our family decided to remain in Alaska because of the quality education they were receiving. My daughter was admitted to a select private college, largely because of the academic preparation (honors, advanced placement) she received at East. My son is on the same academic track as his sister. He is enrolled in School-Within-A-School at East High. This alternative program has been active for over 20 years and it was one of the first to be established in the nation. East's music program has been a recipient of the Grammy Signature Award for several years. All sport programs are available and a diverse mix of extracurricular activities are also available. The student body is diverse as there are over 20 languages spoken at this school. Parents are made to feel welcomed at any time.


East High School 5

Posted January 23, 2006
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

East High School
4025 East Northern Lights Blvd, Anchorage, AK  99508
(907) 742-2100
Last modified East High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
East High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top