Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


East High School 4

Posted August 18, 2015
- a student
this school is diverse and very good environment, i recommending to others, plus the school have other such great programs

East High School 3

Posted September 24, 2013
- a student
I believe the school itself is a good school and the teachers are great but from my experience a lot of students there lack motivation and drive. Too many negative influences.


East High School 2

Posted November 08, 2010
- a parent
It would be a pretty good school if they would quit putting kids in detention for being 1 minute late for class. More kids are in detention then in class. The teachers threaten kids with the cops. Cops that are in the school all day if the student doesn't obey. If they don't go to detention they get 2 day suspension. That all they need is more time off not to learn. That is stressful for the kids. I am not impress with this school to totalitarian.

East High School 5

Posted February 23, 2010
- a parent
This school is great, so far all my children have graduated.And might i add that the J.R.O.T.C program has changed my sons outlook of his life in the future.

East High School 2

Posted November 09, 2009
- a parent
This school is horrible. The teachers are rude, arrogant, and just plain under par.


East High School
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
It is the largest, most diverse school in Alaska. We have almost 2500 students - approximately 900 of these students speak English as a second language.

East High School 4

Posted March 21, 2007
- a parent
East High school is the most Diverse school I have seen, the Sports department is strong, and the Teachers and Coachs are real Leaders. My son has had a great High school experience at East.

East High School 5

Posted July 07, 2006
- a parent
East High School is one of the best high schools in the State of Alaska. Our family decided to remain in Alaska because of the quality education they were receiving. My daughter was admitted to a select private college, largely because of the academic preparation (honors, advanced placement) she received at East. My son is on the same academic track as his sister. He is enrolled in School-Within-A-School at East High. This alternative program has been active for over 20 years and it was one of the first to be established in the nation. East's music program has been a recipient of the Grammy Signature Award for several years. All sport programs are available and a diverse mix of extracurricular activities are also available. The student body is diverse as there are over 20 languages spoken at this school. Parents are made to feel welcomed at any time.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

East High School
4025 East Northern Lights Blvd, Anchorage, AK  99508
(907) 742-2100
Last modified East High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
East High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top