Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 55 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Northern Lights Abc K-8 School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 12, 2016
- a community member
I would like to thank Ms. Frackman for helping me to realize when I need to be quiet and when i need to have self-control

Northern Lights Abc K-8 School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted May 12, 2016
- a community member
They can make you quiet down. They can also make you excited but you have to follow the rules


Northern Lights Abc K-8 School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted May 12, 2016
- a community member
Sometimes, there is alot, especially in science, but sometimes there isnt alot. It depends on the day and the teacher

Northern Lights Abc K-8 School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted May 12, 2016
- a community member
I think that they purposelly put in hard teachers. The gym teacher makes us run a Lot of laps every day. And though we may not like it, she does push us. The math and SS teachers, make us do push ups if we forgot something or are being bad. The german and spanish teacher help us learn and if we dont get it, we try again

Northern Lights Abc K-8 School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted May 12, 2016
- a community member
You cant lie or steal and if you bully then you get sent to the Principals office. You must respect one another if you are to respect more people anywhere. YOu must respect teachers, you will learn to respect other people. And our school helps us learn about this through Study Hall and other important events


Northern Lights Abc K-8 School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted May 12, 2016
- a community member
We have to help one another in this School. We will not run away from a problem. IF you get bullied, you can tell someone and that someone will help you. YOu can come to anyone of the teachers and they will help you with anything

Northern Lights Abc K-8 School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted May 12, 2016
- a community member
This is a fairly diverese school. there are kids of all race and ages. It helps us learn. If you get in trouble, they will be strict, not so strict but strict enough to put it into your mind that that is wrong. Some students dont like they school and I can see why, but all in all, most of the school helps and benefits this school. It is good in Academics and in trying to strive for school support.

Northern Lights Abc K-8 School 5

Posted May 12, 2016
- a community member
It has taught me a lot and about friendship. All the teachers here have pushed me to be the best I can be. Even when I was really hyper


Northern Lights Abc K-8 School 2

Posted May 12, 2016
- a community member
My 5 year old entered the lottery and it took 2 years for her number to come up. When it finally did, the only contact I got was an email saying, "You haven't responded in the allotted 2 days so now you are disqualified." What?? I searched my email, junk mail, deleted mail, I never got an email saying she was accepted, and definitely no one called me. Luckily for me, after taking the tour a few months earlier, I had decided to not transfer my daughter to ABC anyway. Walking through it I did not like the vibe I got. I felt the staff was cold and borderline rude. Our tour guide told me my daughter would have to take out her earrings because no earrings of any kind are allowed in 1st grade. I am a strict mom who expects a lot from my children but feel that a regimented and loving atmosphere is what children need. ABC has the regimented part down but is greatly missing the warmth. I'm glad this school works for some, but it's definitely not for us. I strongly recommend you tour this this school before putting your children in it.

Northern Lights Abc K-8 School 1

Posted January 26, 2016
- a parent
If your child has a learning disability, or is struggling, NLABC is not the school for them...and that's not just my opinion, those were the exact words spoken to me by the receptionist, speech therapist and teacher upon enrollment. NLABC is the most uninviting, arrogant school I have ever encountered. They are only concerned about their national test scores, not the well being of children. After the staff tried very hard to convince me to not accept the lottery seat my son was given, they put the pressure on in order to get us to withdraw. The final straw for me, was when my fifth grader (whom is dyslexic) came home in tears after his teacher held his homework up to the class and stated "this is an example of how not to do your homework". Believe me, this was the final straw in a series of many events. According to the principal I just "misunderstood all of these situations". Perhaps it would be beneficial for someone to remind this school that they are in fact funded with our tax dollars. They are not a private school and anyone can enroll, including children with disabilities. Since leaving the school, I've encountered at least a dozen other families with similar stories. I would not recommend this school.

Nearby schools

Northern Lights Abc K-8 School
2424 East Dowling Rd, Anchorage, AK  99507
(907) 742-7500
Last modified Northern Lights Abc K-8 School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top