Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


37 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Northern Lights Abc K-8 School 1

Posted November 19, 2013
- a community member
I'm sorry but this school is horrible at hiring teachers. When my child was in fourth grade her paper was ripped to pieces just for doing it in class. The teacher spent all of her time texting in class while she was supposed to be teaching. Also she spent time telling stories all day.

Northern Lights Abc K-8 School 3

Posted October 30, 2013
- a community member
I feel as though my daughter should be wearing a uniform to Northern Lights but thats just one persons opinion and when it comes down to it, it never hurts to see both sides of the spectrum. I like my hats and hoodies. Definite double standard when it comes to allowing individual expression at that school. Yes, they hold their students accountable and don't put up with slackers or unmotivated families because when your kids do start going here, you as a parent will be helping every night with homework. I only gave them three stars because of lack of welcoming I felt from just about all the staff. I realize the school is strict but there is no reason the staff should have no care or concern in the way they talk to you or your child. Yes, they do teach respect, but they won't be any nurturing involved in teaching respect. It feels more like 'YOU WILL RESPECT ME OR ELSE' Thats the ONE thing this school lacks is 'CARE AND CONCERN'... they have more a mentality of 'MOVE IT LOSE IT' so be prepared for a competitive atmosphere that Commends and Recognizes good grades and following everyone else. This is not a school that builds individualism and uniqueness.


Northern Lights Abc K-8 School 5

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
Great school, The school atmosphere is one of caring and trust, which enhances the learning environment. My child love her school and their teachers.

Northern Lights Abc K-8 School 5

Posted May 03, 2013
- a parent
I personally love this school. The staff is very involved and it shows that they care about my children and want them to succeed.

Northern Lights Abc K-8 School 5

Posted November 23, 2011
- a community member
The teachers at this school are excellent. The Principal is very involved, available and supportive.


Northern Lights Abc K-8 School 0
no rating

Posted April 26, 2010
- a parent
Besided focus on creating a strong academic foundation for future learning, the school strives to teach the students to respect themselves and to respect others.

Northern Lights Abc K-8 School 4

Posted October 10, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Northern Lights Abc K-8 School 0
no rating

Posted October 01, 2009
- a parent
They are committed to teaching the children not only the foundations of education but also patriotism and personal responsibility.


Northern Lights Abc K-8 School 5

Posted September 25, 2009
- a parent
Northern Lights ABC School it's the best school in town, have the best teachers and have a great environment for the students.

Northern Lights Abc K-8 School 0
no rating

Posted September 24, 2009
- a parent
NLABC is the best school in the state, We have the best teachers and the greatest staff in the city. I have to give a very special thanks and appreciation to Mrs. Nishimuri.She cares for each student she teaches and she has a dedication to them and their parents. She needs to be recognized as the best teacher of the year.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Northern Lights Abc K-8 School
2424 East Dowling Rd, Anchorage, AK  99507
(907) 742-7500
Last modified Northern Lights Abc K-8 School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Northern Lights Abc K-8 School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 37 reviews.