Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 9 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Susitna Elementary School 2

Posted April 23, 2014
- a parent
Teachers are good, but the front office has to be educated on how to praise the teachers. Class size is average, about 25 students or more per teacher. There is no parent envolvement in the PTA, only two parents ran the PTA over the last two years. School PTA requires a criminal background check...

Susitna Elementary School 5

Posted December 17, 2012
- a parent
My child is in the optional program at Sustina. I totally love the environment. My child is really learning a lot. My child is self-motivated and does well here. The Principal and staff are all marvelous. I must admit this school communicates effectively so as a parent you are aware of what your child is doing. As far as safety wise, your child would be protected by some great staff members here. Great Schoo!!!


Susitna Elementary School 5

Posted August 16, 2012
- a parent
My daughter attended kindergarden, and loved it tremendously. Her KG teacher was excellent. She was deligent, caring and amazingnat her job. We recently moved out of state, and my daughter's attending first grade at a new school, and i am very nervous about her building on the foubdation which her susitna education gave her.

Susitna Elementary School 5

Posted January 04, 2012
- a parent
Excellent School! Very involved principal with an extremely capable staff. My 3 kids in the traditional track have been very enthusiastic and have all gone above and beyond academically.

Susitna Elementary School 5

Posted February 08, 2010
- a parent
Our kids attend the Susitna Optional program at Susitna Elementary. We love the community feel of 'small school within a school.' The teachers are all master teachers who encourage individual learning, problem-solving, and community outreach. As one other parent review mentioned, it is good to visit an open optional model to see if it is a good fit for your child.


Susitna Elementary School 5

Posted August 17, 2008
- a parent
I love the optional program and the feel of the school. My child is self-motivated and does very well. Projects, group learning and experience learning are all key ideals for this optional program. There are lots of field trips and sensory experiences.

Susitna Elementary School 5

Posted May 27, 2008
- a parent
I work with the Susitna Optional program and love the teachers in that school. I enjoy being able to volunteer there with a 'community' atmosphere. I feel welcomed and needed and my child thrives with the material and teaching methods used.

Susitna Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 28, 2008
- a parent
My child is in the optional school at Susitna. We are satisfied with most aspects of the education provided. My recommendation is to visit an optional school to see what a typical day is like before enrolling your child. It is very different than a traditional classroom and is often 'controlled chaos' with each child doing their own thing. Children are not given assigned desks and can choose a place to work (at a table, on the floor, on a pillow) Some kids thrive in the optional environment, especially self starters and creative kids who can stay focused on a task with minimal guidance. However, it's not for everyone.


Susitna Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2007
- a parent
I have had dealings with this school for about 10+ years, and have been extremely happy with the quality and leadership in this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Susitna Elementary School
7500 Tyone Circle, Anchorage, AK  99504
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. (907) 742-1400
Last modified Susitna Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top