Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Goldenview Middle School

Public | 7-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 21, 2014

The school is new and beautiful. The teachers have been great! I cannot say the same about the administration. They do not follow school district or their own guidelines for discipline and there is no reasoning with them. A student should NOT receive 3 days of out of school suspension for a 1st EVER offense in ANY class for horsing around in gym. 2 days after hearing at conferences from EVERY teacher what a well behaved student I have, my child was suspended for 3 days because someone pushed him in gym and he fell on another student (who got an ice pack and went back to class). I met with the vice-principal and principal and pleaded for them to impose any other punishment than to remove my student from class - a week of before or after school or lunch detention, cleaning desks, etc. - to no avail. ASD offers parents no right to appeal a suspension of 5 days or less past the principal. I did meet with a higher up at ASD who was sympathetic and agreed the punishment is extremely harsh, but cannot say anything will be changed. Nobody can override the principal's decision. They can only TRY to persuade them to reconsider. I have missed 2 afternoons at work trying to keep him in class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2012

It's really great school, nice teacher and they also really freindly.They usually care about students not just them-self.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2012

This is an amazing school. I do not find there to be a lack of communication at all like some of the posts have stated. The teachers and principal are constantly in communication with the parents letting us know what is going on. The school website is very informative and has a calendar full of daily activities, etc. Teachers have always called or emailed me back in a timely fashion. I don't have one complaint about this school. The education is outstanding. This school has set my daughter up to take all honors classes in high school. I also want to mention that the PTA is great and has lots of parent involvement and participation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2011

I love this school! I was on the Sirius team last year and it was awesome! This year I'm in the team Phoenix and it is amazing too! I defiantly recommend this school! It's amazing! Also, Sirius is the best pod evah and always will be! These have been my best school years so far. Golden view makes memories :D I will remember this school forever because it's awesome!


Posted March 20, 2010

im a student at this sschool and im on supernova and i love it it is very cool and is a learninng team
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 1, 2010

I agree with the other parent review. The school is lovely. However, there is minimal communication between teachers, administrators, and parents. Policies are vague. Teachers don't seem to regard student success. The school is understaffed, overpaid, and a general disappointment. I would recommend alternatives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2009

I attend gvms and i love it. im on the supernova team and all of the teachers are great!! i love going to school and i love sitting in class with the teachers thanks so much
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 30, 2008

When I attended this school I was on the Helium team and for once in my life, I actually wanted to go to school. Not only because my friends were there, but because the teachers were great and I felt very confortable. I also had a lot of fun. I want to say thank you to the Helium teachers that helped me laugh, get work done, and learn at the same time. So Thank you Mrs. Moore, Ms. Wiseman, Mr. Z, and Mr. Wemeier. I miss you. You were some of the coolest teachers I've ever had.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 18, 2007

Goldenview is a beautiful school in a stunning setting. The interior was planned well and is just as gorgeous as the views. It's a shame that these have to be my only rave reviews. My child has not gotten the quality of education I would have expected from this school. There is poor communication from the teachers, my attempts to meet with them or speak to them have fallen on deaf ears. Were we not moving out of the district, my child would be attending Polaris next year. I cannot recommend this school for much more than a photo background.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

332 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2013.

333 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2013.

330 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

388 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 82% in 2013.

385 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

382 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2013.

387 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

All Students86%
Female86%
Male85%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islander72%
Hispanic73%
Multiracial80%
Native American78%
White92%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities53%
Students without disabilities89%
English language learners50%
Proficient in English87%
Migrant100%
Non-migrant85%
Special Education with Accomodation52%

Reading

All Students93%
Female94%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islander84%
Hispanic92%
Multiracial88%
Native American75%
White97%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities53%
Students without disabilities97%
English language learners63%
Proficient in English94%
Migrant93%
Non-migrant93%
Special Education with Accomodation46%

Writing

All Students90%
Female92%
Male88%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islander72%
Hispanic88%
Multiracial92%
Native American78%
White93%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities53%
Students without disabilities94%
English language learners69%
Proficient in English91%
Migrant100%
Non-migrant90%
Special Education with Accomodation50%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Alaska Department of Education and Early Development. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

All Students85%
Female80%
Male88%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islander74%
Hispanic64%
Multiracial83%
Native American73%
White91%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities39%
Students without disabilities89%
English language learners32%
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant85%
Special Education with Accomodation37%

Reading

All Students93%
Female95%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islander83%
Hispanic89%
Multiracial94%
Native American62%
White97%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities58%
Students without disabilities97%
English language learners42%
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Special Education with Accomodation57%

Science

All Students82%
Female79%
Male85%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islander61%
Hispanic58%
Multiracial91%
Native American40%
White90%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities28%
Students without disabilities88%
English language learners17%
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Special Education with Accomodation27%

Writing

All Students92%
Female96%
Male88%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islander83%
Hispanic78%
Multiracial92%
Native American69%
White97%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities57%
Students without disabilities95%
English language learners37%
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Special Education with Accomodation56%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Alaska Department of Education and Early Development. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 51%
Hispanic 9% 6%
Two or more races 9% 8%
American Indian/Alaska Native 5% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 6%
Black 1% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 14%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15800 Goldenview Dr
Anchorage, AK 99516
Phone: (907) 348-8626

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Hanshew Middle School
Anchorage, AK




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT