Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


31 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Bowman Elementary School 5

Posted May 26, 2013
- a parent
Bowman is a wonderful elementary school. It houses an open optional program (entry via lottery)and several special needs programs in addition to the traditional neighborhood side. My two daughters are in the optional program and we could not be happier with their educational experience. The program requires parent involvement and that allows for a tight community feel, lots of enrichment opportunities and more differentiated learning based on student level. The neighborhood program is exceptional too with dedicated teachers and parent support. Things like monthly movie nights, math and science night, Fall Carnival and DJ (dance party)/ field day bring all of the kids and families together. The school is dedicated to giving back to the community and have joined with local businesses to provide 'kicks for kids', keep a lunch/ clothing etc. closet stocked for families in the community on hard times. Every year families very generously come together to make Christmas/ Hanukkah/ happen for several families who would otherwise have .Bowman does a wonderful job teaching kids not only reading/writing/math/science ....but also how to be loving and caring citizens.

Bowman Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 11, 2010
- a parent
Our special needs program is top notch. We have the best teachers around!


Bowman Elementary School 5

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
We have a great team of teachers working together to provide a safe and educational experience for our children.

Bowman Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 10, 2010
- a parent
Bowman is not good school. The teacher's tell you one thing the grades show other.

Bowman Elementary School 5

Posted April 08, 2010
- a parent
Bowman is a great school. Each year my children have had caring, engaging teachers that work with my children to help them to succeed. I am so thankful to all the help and support that they have given my children.


Bowman Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 13, 2009
- a parent
Our teachers are soo kind and caring. My daughter loves to go to school and begs not to miss.

Bowman Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 05, 2009
- a parent
Bowman Open Optional Program allows/requires the children to think about what they are learning. They are taught to research, reflect, and question information.

Bowman Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 30, 2009
- a parent
Bowman is the most inviting, wonderful school you can imagine.


Bowman Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 30, 2009
- a parent
I have been a teacher at this school for 15 years. It is full of caring, positive staff. students and parents. We get so many subs who request to come back to our building because 'it feels good to be here'. I agree.

Bowman Elementary School 5

Posted September 29, 2009
- a parent
My daughter is autistic and she has had the most wonderful teachers and aids since she started preschool. She is doing very well and all of her teachers at Bowman deserve recognition.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bowman Elementary School
11700 Gregory Rd, Anchorage, AK  99516
(907) 742-5600
Last modified Bowman Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bowman Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. Top