Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Anchorage Christian Schools

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Anchorage

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $228,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,060.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 2, 2012

Great academics and extra curricular activities. The music program is just starting to improve. I attended this school from K5 through 12th grade and loved it. I was given several college scholarships and got accepted to every college I applied to. My son attends there now and we still love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2011

Both of our girls attend here and we absolutely love it. My youngest is in there pre school program and our oldest is going into 4th grade next year. They love our children and treat them as there own. Teaching great morals and the importance of God in our schools. Not only are the children respectful and well behaved they show love for one another. There is not a lot of drama. We are all for that as it is hard enough to be a child in todays society. They keep parents informed and love when you come and visit or help out in your childs classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2010

My boys attend the Pre-k at the Debarr school. ITS AMAZING. It is the first time I have felt that the teachers actually enjoy there job, and love the kids. The academics are top-notch, and the school is clean, the kids are always happy. I just love this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

Had two young men graduate from ACS. I appreciated the strong leadership balanced by compassion and love. They have taught my kids a biblical worldview, to see all of life from a biblical perspective, not just 'church on Sunday'. As far as problems, they have problems but they are dealt with fairly and quickly; every school has problems. I could write several pages of examples of our good experiences. Thanks to God first and to the faculty and staff second for taking care of my kdis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2008

My children have attended this school since they were both in K-2. One is now a Junior, the other is in 6th grade. It has been an awesome experience, not perfect, but nothing in life is. For people who criticize the school because of elleged drug use, pregnancies, etc... How does that make this school hypocritical? It's a school full of people, not saints. Kids will always make mistakes in life, the difference here is how the kids are treated after the mistake comes to light. They have firm discipline meted out with love. There are consequences, unlike I've seen in public school. The teachers are like family to us after all these years. They are my kids biggest cheerleaders. My kids are happy, confident, and have had an education far above what is being offered at public school. I would and do recommend this school to everyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2008

Awesome! This is not just a school but a small community. The school spirit, attitude, and excitment you see everyday is nothing short of amazing. I am a teacher for the ASD and have to tell you that this is something you will not find in public school. The teachers are awesome and are there because they want to be there. I don't know what we would do with out two girls if they didn't attend ACS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2008

my duaghter keeps coming home disappioted by the education and all of the bad things there! she says she heard there are poeple smoking,drinking, get pregnant,and drugs. same as public but with hypocrite
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2007

Excellent! God fearing school from K5 to 12. Raised three kids through organization. Daughter is Senior, excellent behavior and grades. Daughter who graduated in '07, full ride to excellent Christian College, son who graduated '03 with full ride attending his career college. Can't say enough about admin, directors, some rough spots, but on a scale of 1 to 10 (highest), ACS rates @ 9 !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2007

I cannot begin to tell you what a blessing this school has been. Patriotic. Quality teachers who really care. My husband is in the military and they truly cared about how we all were doing. I have two children and they participated Kindergarten through 2nd grade. When discipline was needed, the principal prayed with my son, truly spoke to him about the entire situation of why it was wrong. The best! Art and music was lacking. But education was way ahead of the public system. God has moved us on and we miss it! We are in another Christian school and it is hard. My children were way ahead in math and reading and writing. A whole grade level!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2006

Outstanding school! Both my boys graduated from ACS and have been well prepared for College and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2005

excellent academic programs for K-12 Band, Choir, and athletic programs(including football, basketball, volleyball, wrestling, cross country, and track and field level of parent involvement and attitude of faculty and staff needs improvement.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (907) 338-3903

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6575 East Northern Lights Boulevard
Anchorage, AK 99504
Website: Click here
Phone: (907) 337-9575

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT