Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
711 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

It is hard for me to believe that our last child will be graduating from Anchorage Christian at the end of this next school year! We have been involved with ACS from the nursery to high school graduation, and it honestly feels more like a HOME for us than a school. No school is perfect, but we love the environment. The teachers are truly ministers of the Lord, and it shows in their work and concern for the students. I am truly thankful for the many years of support our family has received from the staff, and we enter this last year just wondering what we will do without an ACS student in our family.
June 07, 2016

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Anchorage Christian Schools
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted June 07, 2016
- a school leader
In my opinion, there are TOO many to thank, but I feel Mrs. Wells, the Academic Dean, is the unsung hero of ACS. Without her tireless work, I am not sure ACS would be able to be where they are today. She is amazing!

Anchorage Christian Schools
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 07, 2016
- a school leader
Again, no school is perfect, but I do feel the teachers at ACS have the student in mind as they instruct and guide.


Anchorage Christian Schools
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 07, 2016
- a school leader
I have NO idea why people think the amount of homework indicates the level of learning. I do not agree. I will say that all of my children had homework consistently, but I will add they studied many times because of their drive to achieve high grades. I am aware not all students have that motivation. I am very proud of my children who have gone on to college and their level of preparedness.

Anchorage Christian Schools
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 07, 2016
- a school leader
The whole system really takes each student individually with the intention of making that student a success.

Anchorage Christian Schools
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted June 07, 2016
- a school leader
What a blessing to be able to have the Bible as a text to teach from! These teachers use the Bible as the guide.


Anchorage Christian Schools
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 07, 2016
- a school leader
I feel the school does an excellent job teaching biblical standands and practicing them in the decisions they make.

Anchorage Christian Schools 5

Posted June 07, 2016
- a school leader
It is hard for me to believe that our last child will be graduating from Anchorage Christian at the end of this next school year! We have been involved with ACS from the nursery to high school graduation, and it honestly feels more like a HOME for us than a school. No school is perfect, but we love the environment. The teachers are truly ministers of the Lord, and it shows in their work and concern for the students. I am truly thankful for the many years of support our family has received from the staff, and we enter this last year just wondering what we will do without an ACS student in our family.

Anchorage Christian Schools 5

Posted August 02, 2012
- a parent
Great academics and extra curricular activities. The music program is just starting to improve. I attended this school from K5 through 12th grade and loved it. I was given several college scholarships and got accepted to every college I applied to. My son attends there now and we still love it.


Anchorage Christian Schools 5

Posted May 16, 2011
- a parent
Both of our girls attend here and we absolutely love it. My youngest is in there pre school program and our oldest is going into 4th grade next year. They love our children and treat them as there own. Teaching great morals and the importance of God in our schools. Not only are the children respectful and well behaved they show love for one another. There is not a lot of drama. We are all for that as it is hard enough to be a child in todays society. They keep parents informed and love when you come and visit or help out in your childs classroom.

Anchorage Christian Schools 5

Posted October 22, 2010
- a parent
My boys attend the Pre-k at the Debarr school. ITS AMAZING. It is the first time I have felt that the teachers actually enjoy there job, and love the kids. The academics are top-notch, and the school is clean, the kids are always happy. I just love this school

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Anchorage Christian Schools
6575 East Northern Lights Boulevard, Anchorage, AK  99504
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. (907) 337-9575
Last modified Anchorage Christian Schools is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top