Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Elizabeth Ann Seton School

Private | K-6 | 167 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Anchorage

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $420,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,120.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 7, 2014

I wrote the "world-class elementary education" review back in 2011. By May of 2012 I knew better. SEAS is a parochial school that puts far more emphasis on religious instruction than on education. My two children attended this school for a combined total of four years so I feel competent in critiquing the school. The class sizes are big, with 25-26 kids per class with no teacher's aide. This means the teacher spends her time teaching to the middle, helping the slow kids, and ignoring the smart kids. There are no curriculum standards from grade to grade and the standard of instruction is middling. After leaving SEAS, it took our kids hours of private tutoring to raise their math knowledge to the level of the quality private school into which they transferred. The parental community is strong and very involved. The students are well-behaved. The teachers care. But for my family, SEAS was too parochial and not enough school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2013

Unsurpassed excellence delivered at every level at SEAS! When you mix the following and teaching of Christ's love with high expectations, parental involvement, great loving teachers, solid leadership and support from the parish; children will flourish. That's what SEAS offers. SEAS helped develop a strong foundation for my children which has helped them in every element of their lives! It is often sacrifice that enables greatness and I am grateful my children were provided the tools for not only academic advancement; but tools to live their lives with a solid foundation for the times when they will be exposed to the storms that life deals out. I recall thinking what a "sacrifice" it was going to be finacially. Was I ever being short sighted in those thoughts!Looking back, there is NO material posession I would trade for the rich experience my children took from this school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2013

What a wonderful school! Our oldest daughter started Kindergarten four years ago at St Elizabeth Ann Seton (SEAS). We had our doubts coming from Houston and not knowing anybody at the school. We took a leap of faith because we do believe in strong catholic education. What a payoff!!! The staff and teachers are AMAZING, the families EXTREMELY involved, and the kids just flourish at the school. The academics are excellent (we have friends at Rogers Park, and SEAS academics are above). Character building and faith are central to the mission of the school. It is with an heavy heart that we have to move again this summer... We won't even see the great renovation of the school getting done this summer... The facilities are going to be beautiful and much more practical! If you are looking for a great elementary school for your children in Anchorage, do not look further!!! The financial sacrifice is well worth it!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2011

Loved, loved, LOVED this school! My two children that attended this school really flourished. Due to military moves we were only there a couple of years, but I still wistfully think of SEAS and the family enviornment it provided for my kids. The teachers and staff really seemed to care for the kids. My son was a little behind when we started mid-year and his teacher worked with him and us as parents to catch him up to the rest of the class in the area that needed it. Also, the teachers we had were very good at communication with parents, and also held high, but not unreal, expectations for the students. They provided lots of hands-on material for the students and got the different grades involved with each other (i.e. reading buddies, prayer partners, parades through the classes, art/projects displayed up and down the halls...etc). Gave the little kids people to look up to and the big kids a feeling of responsibility. They attend Mass weekly, which that partictular Mass is geared towards the kids. Parental involvement is top-notch. I would send my kids back to SEAS in a hearbeat if I could.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2011

Great school. We moved from another state and joined the SEAS family community. The school has high academic standards, as well as a great Christian faith built into their daily learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2009

For a world-class elementary education in Alaska, SEAS has no real competition. A small parochial school with great teachers and facilities, the admissions criteria are high but --if accepted-- the payoff in your child's development is even higher!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 43%
Asian 4% 3%
Hispanic 4% 4%
Two or more races 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 43%
Black 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Anchorage
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2901 Huffman Rd
Anchorage, AK 99516
Phone: (907) 345-3712

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT