Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-7|Private
93 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Anchorage Waldorf School 5

Posted September 25, 2015
- a parent
We have had a wonderful experience at the Anchorage Waldorf school. The kind and welcoming classroom atmosphere that is open to curiosity, the thoughtfulness of each teacher, parent, and staff has been a pleasant surprise. The school community cares for each and every student, and each student cares and looks out for the others. The experiential learning style has worked wonderfully for our children. We are very happy with the school and look forward to many more memorable years!

Anchorage Waldorf School 5

Posted June 18, 2014
- a parent
Anchorage Waldorf School is a wonderful school. Our son has had the same preschool teacher for last two years and she's moving up with the class into the kindergarten. We can not say enough nice things about her or the school. What I really like is the sense of community at the school. Parents and families show up to volunteer for events. The potluck a are flush with delicious homemade dishes. The teachers are so dedicated and present for their students everyday. The principal greats the students in the parking lot each morning. Our son loves going to his school and says he misses his teacher over holiday and school breaks. How is that for a testimonial?


Anchorage Waldorf School 5

Posted September 12, 2013
- a parent
Anchorage Waldorf School has been a blessing for my family. My son loves to go to school! Waldorf education is so respectful and real and this school with it's beautiful setting and smaller class sizes really allows the teachers to tailor the learning experience to the class. Everyone child should have this opportunity to learn in an environment like this. Waldorf education is hard to get a handle on for many of us not exposed to it before, but the joy and love of learning on the campus is inspiring, and the results based on the alumni I have met are amazing. It cost a bit, but it is so worth it.

Anchorage Waldorf School 5

Posted September 29, 2012
- a parent
The ideal setting for child and parent to grow together in a love for learning, sharing and being a part of community. Ever grateful for Anchorage Waldorf and the difference it has made.

Anchorage Waldorf School 5

Posted January 09, 2012
- a parent
I have one daughter in 3rd and one in 7th grade. I love the way my children are respected in school by both students, teachers and staff. They feel like valued members of a community, and I know they will leave the school feeling like they CAN make a difference in the world. I cannot think of another school I would rather have my children go to. In fact I wish they wouldn't have to leave at all!


Anchorage Waldorf School 5

Posted November 28, 2011
- a parent
At Anchorage Waldorf School (formerly Aurora Waldorf School), I watched my timid, school hating daughter, turn into a blossoming, reading fanatic, school lover. The teachers at AWS are the best; they really care about my child, and I love the fact that they keep the same teacher from 1st to 8th grade. It is almost like getting an extra parent.

Anchorage Waldorf School 5

Posted September 08, 2011
- a parent
Why is this school showing only three stars? One person gave it one star and wrote nothing else? This is the best school I have ever seen. The children are treated with respect and love, fed healthy food, tought good habits of cleaning and studying and how to respect others and how to think for themselves. My son loves going to school, he gets not only what his brain needs but gets to do nature walks and art and music almost every day. He is becoming balanced, fully developed in manys ways, not just mentaly, and he is treated as a respected human being, which is more than I can say for any other school. I am blessed that such a school is even available to have as an option, and hope they can have enough community support to contine to sustain the school and watch it grow for future generations of healthy happy human beings.

Anchorage Waldorf School 5

Posted February 23, 2006
- a parent
Aurora Waldorf offers high quality academics, art, music, physical education, handwork, and woodworking classes to students. Before Aurora Waldorf my daughter never much enjoyed school and her academic performance left much to be desired. Last year she gained 3 grade levels in her reading work alone and she always to arrive at school early! The school community is warm and welcoming, instead of a line of cars waiting at pick up time it is typical to see parents visiting with one another while waiting for their children. The academic atmosphere is non competitive and the teaching style is very engaging. Monthly parent meetings for each classroom allow parents to see what their children are learning, offer ideas, discuss concerns, and participate firsthand in their child's education. I have been very pleased with our experience at Aurora and highly reccomend it.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Anchorage Waldorf School
3250 Baxter Road, Anchorage, AK  99504
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. (907) 333-9062
Last modified Anchorage Waldorf School is a Private school that serves grades K-7
Top