Advertisement
Advertisement

Aurora Waldorf School of Alaska

Private | PK-8 | 99 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 12, 2013

Anchorage Waldorf School has been a blessing for my family. My son loves to go to school! Waldorf education is so respectful and real and this school with it's beautiful setting and smaller class sizes really allows the teachers to tailor the learning experience to the class. Everyone child should have this opportunity to learn in an environment like this. Waldorf education is hard to get a handle on for many of us not exposed to it before, but the joy and love of learning on the campus is inspiring, and the results based on the alumni I have met are amazing. It cost a bit, but it is so worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2012

The ideal setting for child and parent to grow together in a love for learning, sharing and being a part of community. Ever grateful for Anchorage Waldorf and the difference it has made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2012

I have one daughter in 3rd and one in 7th grade. I love the way my children are respected in school by both students, teachers and staff. They feel like valued members of a community, and I know they will leave the school feeling like they CAN make a difference in the world. I cannot think of another school I would rather have my children go to. In fact I wish they wouldn't have to leave at all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2011

At Anchorage Waldorf School (formerly Aurora Waldorf School), I watched my timid, school hating daughter, turn into a blossoming, reading fanatic, school lover. The teachers at AWS are the best; they really care about my child, and I love the fact that they keep the same teacher from 1st to 8th grade. It is almost like getting an extra parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2011

Why is this school showing only three stars? One person gave it one star and wrote nothing else? This is the best school I have ever seen. The children are treated with respect and love, fed healthy food, tought good habits of cleaning and studying and how to respect others and how to think for themselves. My son loves going to school, he gets not only what his brain needs but gets to do nature walks and art and music almost every day. He is becoming balanced, fully developed in manys ways, not just mentaly, and he is treated as a respected human being, which is more than I can say for any other school. I am blessed that such a school is even available to have as an option, and hope they can have enough community support to contine to sustain the school and watch it grow for future generations of healthy happy human beings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2006

Aurora Waldorf offers high quality academics, art, music, physical education, handwork, and woodworking classes to students. Before Aurora Waldorf my daughter never much enjoyed school and her academic performance left much to be desired. Last year she gained 3 grade levels in her reading work alone and she always to arrive at school early! The school community is warm and welcoming, instead of a line of cars waiting at pick up time it is typical to see parents visiting with one another while waiting for their children. The academic atmosphere is non competitive and the teaching style is very engaging. Monthly parent meetings for each classroom allow parents to see what their children are learning, offer ideas, discuss concerns, and participate firsthand in their child's education. I have been very pleased with our experience at Aurora and highly reccomend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 43%
Asian 6% 3%
Black 6% 2%
Hispanic 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 43%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AWSNA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Waldorf
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

P.O. Box 243264
Anchorage, AK 99524
Phone: (907) 333-9062

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Eagle Crest Academy
Anchorage, AK



Girdwood School
Girdwood, AK


Hope School
Hope, AK




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT