Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Anchorage Montessori School

Private | PK-6 | 196 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Anchorage

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $254,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $970.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 5, 2014

We've had our children in AMS since they were toddlers. They are both now in the elementary program and are thriving. I am amazed every day at how much they are learning. We attempted public school with one of our kids, but that didn't last long as he wasn't being challenged at all. We transferred him back to AMS and haven't looked back since. At AMS the students are taught to be self-motivated and learn by self-direction and leadership. By learning at an individual rate, this allows children on both ends of the learning spectrum to not only succeed, but to excel. The teachers, administrative staff and executive director are all dedicated and passionate about the Montessori philosophy and in making sure that each student gets the very best education. I have been so pleased with AMS and how it is instilling the love learning in my children, with not only the core subjects, but also music, art and language. This will last a lifetime for them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2014

This is a great school! The teachers are Montessori trained and have a passion for providing the best education and care possible. I have been thoroughly impressed with what I have seen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2013

Although I have faith in the Montessori Method, I don't believe this school is equipped to deliver it faithfully. Every time my son had the slightest physical problem, I would get a call to pick him up. My son got his first scar at AMS due to a lack of supervision. My son would have a tantrum and nobody at AMS knew how to handle it. And I would get a call to pick him up. I don't believe AMS provides any different quality of care for the money than any other childcare provider in Anchorage. And for much less money, I believe there are childcare centers in Anchorage who provide a much higher quality of care. Not recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2013

My child has been attending since fall 2011. This school is very expensive for the quality of education provided. There is a serious problem with the consistent and fair application of policies and communication with parents. Substitute teachers are undereducated and have little or no training in Montessori methods. Despite that there is a general commitment to Montessori principles and it is worth getting to know the parents. Overall I'm disappointed in the price of this education but am satisfied with the benefits to my child. I am seriously considering not applying to enroll my second child when she reaches the age of matriculation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2012

I don't recommend applying here if you are not well-connected. Their application process is really convoluted and shady. Requiring recommendation forms for two-year-olds to me really is a sign of the apocalypse and the sad reality that childhood has become a vestigial stage in human development. Really? I am pretty sure we were judged more on our address then anything else. I was not impressed with the forthrightness of the staff either. I would actually call them down right unprofessional. Send your kid here if you want them to go to an elitist yet mediocre Alaskan school with bad interior decorating and unprofessional staff.


Posted April 24, 2010

My son has attended the full day preschool program since August 2009. We've been very pleased. He loves his teachers, classmates, and the activities he gets to do. The class is very well organized and safe. The teachers hold high standards for behavior, but are respectful and gentle in their interactions with these young ones. Students are invited to choose activities that are developmentally appropriate and interesting to them. Learning is supported with individual and small group lessons as well as class circle time. The math manipulatives of the Montessori approach are especially good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2010

We love Anchorage Montessori School. Both our children are thriving in the preschool and elementary programs...it is a great place to learn and grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2009

I was surprised not to find any reviews of Anchorage Montessori when I was looking for schools. Am writing this one now to say my family has had a great experience with this school. (As have many other families we know.) My daughter is in the toddler class and loves it. Her teacher and assistant teacher are great and the teacher for the other toddler class seems wonderful too. They provide a loving and thoughtfully structured program for the kids and also seem dedicated to communicating well with the parents --weekly email updates about the class, etc. I originally gave 4 stars (and not 5) because some of the administrators and the receptionist can seem a bit frosty. But, since that doesn't really matter at all, I'm going for 5.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 51%
Two or more races 7% 8%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Black 0% 4%
Hispanic 0% 6%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS
Fax number
  • (907) 258-3552

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5001 Northwood Drive
Anchorage, AK 99517
Website: Click here
Phone: (907) 276-2240

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT