Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Lumen Christi

Private | 7-12 | 86 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Anchorage

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $265,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,070.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 3, 2013

I am a mom who has three graduates from Lumen and a freshman still at the school. I can't even begin to tell you how happy I've been with our experience at Lumen Christi. My three older children are in college and working towards their goals. They say they feel like Lumen prepared them for college and are all doing very well. My youngest is a freshman and loves Lumen she is very involved in sports, drama, and loves her academic class and her teachers. I would recommend Lumen Christi to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2013

Our son is in his sophomore year at Lumen Christi High School. He is happily engaged in his studies, plays on all of the sports teams and is participating in student government this year. His teachers all know him well and care about his academic progress and success. He has made good friends and the families at Lumen care about ALL the kids and their moral and character formation. Our dedicated principal attends the school sport and social events and is at most meetings throughout the weekday evenings! As Lumen parents, we are all interested in seeing our young people grow in their faith and reach their potential and personal dreams. Our teaching staff is very well educated and enthusiastic about the subject matter they teach. Lumen Christi offers a small, but highly academic environment that strives to meet each student individually, to honor the dignity of each person and to foster a community of enthusiastic learners. We are grateful for the opportunity he has had to grow in faith and friendship. It is the best investment in our son's future that we could ever imagine!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2013

Our daughter has attended Lumen since 7th grade and we love it! The small class sizes, dedicated teachers and family atmosphere create a wonderful learning environment. Our daughter enjoys the many sports offered at Lumen as well as participating in drama and student government.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2013

This is our second year at Lumen Christi. We like the warm, welcoming atmosphere and the feeling of community. Although it is a small school, there are several sports teams, drama, music, art, and other activities in addition to the challenging academic program. I have found the teachers and staff to be highly committed and I believe they truly care about every student. My family also likes the support of strong Christian values and the efforts to organize community service projects. Even though Lumen has a vibrant Catholic identity, there also are numerous students from other Christian faiths. We love Lumen, and wouldn't consider going anywhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2013

The most appealing aspect of this little school is its academic excellence that puts the student at the center of learning. The teachers are highly qualified and have a lot experience. They succeed to create a safe, friendly and relaxed environment, everybody is welcoming and helpful and it is pretty to 'feel home' quickly.


Posted October 23, 2013

We found Lumen Christi High School to be one of the best options for a private education in the Anchorage area. We noticed that over 80% of the teachers hold Masters degrees (or higher) in their areas of expertise. The school has relationships with a number of colleges and universities available to students to supplement a very strong curriculum. Students attend from as far away as Chugiak, Eagle River, and Girdwood to receive a quality, faith-based education. With it's new leadership, we see amazing potential for the school. The school continues to raise its academic standards and actively participates in both church and community service activities. Students who transfer out of state to other schools often find themselves in AP classes. The school also maintains a robust sports program and offers a number of wonderful extra curricular activities from choir to drama and yearbook. An extra benefit is the small class sizes with individualized student attention. We give Lumen Christi our highest rating and believe it is one of the best kept secrets for faith-based education in Alaska!


Posted October 2, 2013

My School is Lumen Christi Catholic High School in Anchorage, Alaska. My children have been at this school for 5 years. I am so pleased with the quality of education and the great teacher student ratio. The parent community is phenomenal. The extracurricular activities are available to my kids that would not be available in a larger public school because they did not come into high school with years of club sports behind them. The coaches are excellent. They experience team work, and competition and sportsmanship. Everyone willing to come out and do their best has a spot on the schools teams. I also love that the values and standards I set for my children are reiterated at school and shared by the families that are there as well. And lastly, the tuition is reasonable - around $5600 a year. I am very proud to say my children attend Lumen Christi Catholic High.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2010

We are loving Lumen Christi. The staff is organized, professional, and positive. The athletic department offers several well-organized teams and great coaches. My daughter has been held to a high standard in her academics and is thriving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2010

I can appreicate a school whose staff knows each student (whether they are in their class or not) by name. it is easy, and all too common, for students to fall through the cracks in public schools. Lumen's staff is wonderfully attentive and both recognizes and encourages each student to their full potential.


Posted September 23, 2010

Teachers, admin and sports program is great! Overall atmosphere is healthy without being repressed. Physical plant is very nice without being ostentatious. JB
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2009

Lumen is a great place for a student to get a classical education and valuable moral guidance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2008

A great alternative to Anchorage's huge, impersonal public high schools. Some might think it's too small, but kids get lots of attention and the ability to take part in anything from basketball to drama. Nice emphasis on community service, too.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 51%
American Indian/Alaska Native 10% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 6%
Hispanic 8% 6%
Two or more races 3% 8%
Black 0% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 am
School end time
  • 2:30 pm
School Leader's name
  • John Harmon
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (907) 245-9232

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Anchorage
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8110 Jewel Lake Rd
Anchorage, AK 99502
Website: Click here
Phone: (907) 245-9231

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Mears Middle School
Anchorage, AK


Atheneum School
Anchorage, AK




Continuation School
Anchorage, AK


Polaris K-12 School
Anchorage, AK


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT