Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Atheneum School

Private | 8-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Anchorage

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $292,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,150.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 15, 2009

Atheneum is somewhere I feel free. No question is stupid or shooken off because it's supposed to be a commonly known fact. No idea isn't good enough, and when you get a chance to think for yourself for the first time you'll never want it any other way. I love atheneum and I reccommend it to anyone
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 14, 2009

Atheneum is a great school, full of happy, curious, and down-to-earth young people. If you want your son or daughter to be challenged by rigorous and imaginative curricula; inspired by dedicated and knowledgeable teachers; and educated in safe and friendly classrooms, then you cannot do better than Atheneum. Warmly recommended.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 11, 2009

i am a student at atheneum and i have been for a little over a year. before coming to this school i was not interesting in learning at all, or atleast i thought i wasn't. the real problem was that i hadn't even learned how to learn yet. i knew how to memorize dates, and regurgitate rants about this or that. now i have learned to think independently of mass media, trends, and other things teens are brainwashed by these days. i have learned a lot about myself, and my friends through reading and careful dialouge. i highhhhhhly reccomend this school. you don't have to be a genious, you just have to open your mind.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 11, 2009

I graduated from Atheneum in 2009, after spending my entire high school career there. I think my studies there were much more interesting than those of my friends in other schools, as I greatly enjoyed reading the original and classic texts which are Atheneum's specialty. Any student who likes reading and discussing important books will greatly enjoy Atheneum. I relished my time there, and I hope more students can share the experience.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 10, 2009

This school has been a godsend for my daughter. The quality of education and the individual attention has been wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2009

Finally we have found a real place of education. I have been pleasently surprised at my 9th graders increased maturity level in learning at Athenum School in Anchorage, AK. Thank you to the Staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2008

My son attended Atheneum as a sixth grader and is currently enrolled for the 2008/2009 school year as a seventh grader. Atheneum challenges him intellectually through allowing him to discover for himself the meaning and ideas presented by authors of original classic writings, those ideas are further fostered through the weekly seminars which give the students the opportunity to exchange ideas, view points and thoughts. The social setting at this school fosters accountability, kindness and a think-outside-of-the-box type of learning. He actually enjoys going to school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2008

My daughter attends Atheneum School now. She had considered it before, but she was reluctant to leave the school of 2300 students where all her friends were. Eventually, she realized that Atheneum would be better for her, so she made the switch. She is thrilled with it, and now she's telling all her friends what an awesome school it is. After her first day, she said it was like a hard workout using a muscle she hadn't used before. She thoroughly enjoys her classes and even her homework. She probably learns more there each week than she learned each quarter in the public schools. They learn to be real thinkers there. They read and discuss the basic writings that lead to modern math, science, literature, economics, etc., instead of just getting their head crammed full of facts. The kids there are exited about learning. The kids there are excited about
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2007

I am the parent of a current Atheneum school senior. My daughter has attended Atheneum for five years. During this time three exchange students who lived with us have attended Atheneum as well. Each has had a wonderful classroom and social experience.The teaching staff is excellent and the academic standards are high. Each student is challenged to perform at his highest level. There is individual attention and group work. This is the school for any highschool student who yearns to be treated with personal and intellectual respect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2006

This school is an absolute disaster.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 43%
Asian 19% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 14% 43%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 5% 1%
Black 0% 2%
Hispanic 0% 4%
Two or more races 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • ASN
Fax number
  • (907) 349-3975

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1920 West Dimond Boulevard
Anchorage, AK 99515
Phone: (907) 344-2533

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Mears Middle School
Anchorage, AK



Lumen Christi
Anchorage, AK




Continuation School
Anchorage, AK


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT