Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rilke Schule Charter School

Charter | K-8 | 312 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted today

Excellent, very diverse. we love the teachers. parent involvement is high. Highly recommend! we have 2 children at this school, soon to have a 3rd. why not learn a second language and specialize in math and science!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

Our school is excellent, they strive in academics. there is a ton of parent involvement. my son has learned his german quickly. i cannot wait for my daughters to attend. This would be great to help supply the school with everyday items that they could use. GO PANTHERS!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2013

The school is pretty good overall and my son is now talking German nearly every day there. Listening to friends with children in immersion programs, Rilke sounds like it and the Spanish school do the best with immersion. I think most people want to know the negatives, so here you go: Dress code - one person put this as a positive, personally I think it stifles child creativity and self-identity but completely misses on its goals. Seriously, why no stripes or plaids until 6th grade? Under funded - my 3rd grader currently has no art class Music - they don't do a concert for the kids perform in front of people. I usually hated them as a kid, but they are a good experience for learning when to take things seriously. Parental control - I don't like that a group of parents and the founder of the school determine the school's policy. The principal went to school to understand what the choices mean, he should make the decisions. The principal doesn't even decide whether something as important as French also being taught happens. Considering the lack of funding, this may not have been a good use of funds. I rated principal down due to policy being controlled by board.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2012

While this school has a great staff and great teachers. The problem with the school is in the management and administration of the school. The founder of the school has a very low opinion of students and parents and continuously disrespects the staff, the governing body and the students. the school special education program is almost nonexistent does not provide and environment of success for the students.


Posted May 3, 2012

My son is finishing up Kindergarten at Rilke Schule this spring. It has been an excellent experience! His teachers really care about his success and are quick to respond to e-mails. They have a new principal this year and he seems to be doing a great job! Highly recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2011

My son is in his second year at Rilke Schule and we love it. The school has kind of a private school feel with great teachers and staff. If you are considering school choices in Anchorage I would highly encourage you to look into Rilke Schule!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2011

Our boys have been at this school since it's first year and it has become part of our family. That is the strength of this school -- a community of parents, teachers, staff & students that are one big family. As with all families, there are rough times & great times -- but the great times are outshining the rough ones. The success of the German immerssion is amazing, and now they are starting French in the upper grades. I am very happy we took a chance on this 'fledgling' charter shool -- now it's posed to spread it's wings and soar to great heights!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2011

My daughter is attending her second year at Rilke Schule. I love the parental involvement and family atmosphere. The dress code and nutritional lunch guidelines had great appeal to me in selecting Rilke Schule. Also, I like that the school goes to the 8th grade and bypasses the middle school experience. I am excited to see my daughter thrive in a language immersion program and love her school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2011

We have two children in Rilke and LOVE it. We chose Rilke based on two big reasons that stood out in comparison to other schools in Anchorage. 1) The nutrition policy. 2) Dress code: loose uniform code. In addition the parental involvement is fantastic. It's positive and friendly and really fun! I've met some amazing adults with awesome kids who are intelligent but still know how to have fun and be creative. This school would not be where it is in educational standards, building maintenance, fund raising or energy without the help of the parents. And the cherry on the cake is the German immersion. My 2nd grader is nearly fluent and my kindergartener will be creating sentences on his own by the end of the school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2011

When we started searching for a school for my first child, we wanted family feel, smaller classes and thorough accountability for both us and the teachers. A second language was icing on the educational cake! My now 4th grader is at a much higher level of German than I ever achieved in High school, as is my 3rd grader. Overall our test scores are kicking most of ASD's rears. WE have lots of events so it is NOT just a school, it is community. It takes a village to raise our kids these days, and this in a damn fine village to be looked after in. The staff and faculty care for our kids, and us. Their unwavering commitment is BEYOND expectation. Our children are not German students, they are WORLD students, taught through lesson, activities, song and story. WE LOVE RILKE SCHULE!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2011

Unqualified Teachers, Non-existent principal, terrible board of directors, I would not send my kids back there until they change how things are done. The Intern program was abused to get free workers and baby-sitters. They call themselves an ART and SCIENCE school but they have art class once every 2 weeks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

I think Rilke Schule is great. My daughter is attending kindergarten now. They areow going to move to a new building this summer which should help since the building where they are now was not originally a school, and it is obvious they need more room for a playground, parking, etc. They do a lot with what they have and I love the colors inside and the artwork everywhere. It is language immersion. The students learn half the day in the language and half in English. There is a lot of parental involvment as each family is expected to contribute a certain number of hours each month - whether by coming in and helping or doing stuff from home if you cannot make it in during the day. They incoroporate German traditions throughout the year and have a lot of activiites for families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2010

Wonderful school! It is a new school, still on the small side. Classes are about 20 students per teacher. My son is in Kindergarten and is loving it! The teachers are really great, and the staff are friendly and helpful. It seems like one big family!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2011.

2011

 
 
>=90%

2010

 
 
>=90%

2009

 
 
>=90%

2008

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 82% in 2011.

2011

 
 
>=90%

2010

 
 
>=90%

2009

 
 
>=90%

2008

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2011.

2011

 
 
>=90%

2010

 
 
>=90%

2009

 
 
>=90%

2008

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2011.

2011

 
 
>=90%

2010

 
 
80%

2009

 
 
80%

2008

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2011.

23 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
>=90%

2008

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 50% in 2011.

23 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
75%

2009

 
 
70%

2008

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 76% in 2011.

2011

 
 
>=90%

2010

 
 
>=90%

2009

 
 
>=90%

2008

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

17 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
>=90%

2009

 
 
69%

2008

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2011.

2011

 
 
>=80%

2010

 
 
>=90%

2009

 
 
>=80%

2008

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 75% in 2011.

2011

 
 
>=80%

2010

 
 
>=90%

2009

 
 
>=80%

2008

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

2011

 
 
>=90%

2010

 
 
>=80%

2009

 
 
80%

2008

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2011.

2011

 
 
>=90%

2010

 
 
>=80%

2009

 
 
>=90%

2008

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2011.

2011

 
 
>=90%

2010

 
 
>=80%

2009

 
 
>=90%

2008

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2011.

9 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
>=80%

2009

 
 
>=60%

2008

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2011.

2011

 
 
>=75%

2010

 
 
>=80%

2009

 
 
>=60%

2008

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 73% in 2011.

2011

 
 
>=75%

2010

 
 
>=80%

2009

 
 
>=60%

2008

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2011.

2011

 
 
>=60%

2010

 
 
>=60%

2009

 
 
57%

2008

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2011.

2011

 
 
>=60%

2010

 
 
>=60%

2009

 
 
>=60%

2008

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2011.

2011

 
 
>=60%

2010

 
 
<=40%

2009

 
 
57%

2008

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 77% in 2011.

2011

 
 
>=60%

2010

 
 
>=60%

2009

 
 
>=60%

2008

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

All Students>=90%
Female>=80%
Male>=80%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White>=90%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged>=90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities>=90%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students>=90%
Female>=80%
Male>=80%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White>=90%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged>=90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities>=90%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students>=90%
Female>=80%
Male>=80%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White>=90%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged>=90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities>=90%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Alaska Department of Education and Early Development. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

All Students>=90%
Female>=80%
Male>=80%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White>=80%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged>=80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities>=90%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students87%
Female>=80%
Male77%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White83%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged>=80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities87%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students65%
Female60%
Male69%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White61%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities65%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students>=90%
Female>=75%
Male>=80%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White>=80%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged>=80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities>=90%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Alaska Department of Education and Early Development. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

All Students77%
Female>=60%
Male70%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White79%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities81%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students>=80%
Female>=60%
Male>=80%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White>=80%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged>=80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities>=80%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students>=80%
Female>=60%
Male>=80%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White>=80%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged>=80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities>=80%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Alaska Department of Education and Early Development. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

All Students>=90%
Female>=75%
Male>=80%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White>=80%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged>=80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities>=80%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students>=90%
Female>=75%
Male>=80%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White>=80%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged>=80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities>=80%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students>=90%
Female>=75%
Male>=80%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White>=80%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged>=80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities>=80%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Alaska Department of Education and Early Development. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

All Students67%
Femalen/a
Male<=40%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White67%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities>=60%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students>=75%
Femalen/a
Male>=60%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White>=75%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged>=60%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities>=60%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students>=75%
Femalen/a
Male>=60%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White>=75%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged>=60%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities>=60%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Alaska Department of Education and Early Development. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

All Students>=60%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White>=60%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged>=60%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities>=60%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students>=60%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Native Americann/a
White>=60%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged>=60%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities>=60%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students>=60%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White>=60%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged>=60%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities>=60%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students>=60%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Native Americann/a
White>=60%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged>=60%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities>=60%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Alaska Department of Education and Early Development. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2010-2011 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 52%
Two or more races 9% 7%
Hispanic 4% 6%
Asian 3% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 23%
Black 0% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2511 Sentry Drive
Suite 100
Anchorage, AK 99507
Website: Click here
Phone: (907) 742-7455

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT