Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ravenwood Elementary School 5

Posted July 07, 2011
- a parent
I didn't realize how blessed we were here until the military sent us somewhere else! I was originally disappointed she didn't lottery into one of the magnet schools, but this was the perfect school for us! The small community, strong principal leadership and friendly atmosphere are a bonus to the strong academics. I loved the emphasis on outdoor recess and have grieved the loss since moving to the South. We moved to another school which gloats on it's academics. My daughter had no trouble transitioning, but now has hours of busy work after school to complete. Ravenwood gave us strong academics and balance which we have not found elsewhere.

Ravenwood Elementary School 5

Posted March 19, 2011
- a parent
Our military children were welcomed into the Ravenwood community and have had a fantastic experience. The principal and teachers make this a wonderful place. We loved the music program and all the extra activities. This is a wonderful Eagle River school.


Ravenwood Elementary School 3

Posted March 10, 2010
- a parent
Your experience is as good as the quality of the teacher you get each year. The class ratio is actually about 30 to 1 teacher in all the upper grades. The entire district teaches everyday math which is a horrible program that does not prepare children at all for advanced math in middle school. If you have an academic minded student, you would best look at the charter schools.

Ravenwood Elementary School 4

Posted December 02, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ravenwood Elementary School 3

Posted February 18, 2009
- a parent
As others have said, Ravenwood has a great atmosphere, involved parents, many very good teachers and a great facility. What we don't like is the lack of consistency between grade levels and between teachers. Ravenwood does not ensure 'vertical Integration, ' which enables a smooth transition between grade levels. For example, our 2nd grade teacher expected 'site words' to be learned in 1st grade, but one of the two 1st grade teachers didn't teach them. Most Ravenwood teachers do an excellent job of sending home weekly class homework plans within a newsletter. However, If a teacher decides not to send this newsletter, the school administration didn't track what the teachers are doing in order to take corrective action. In summary, Ravenwood is hit or miss based upon the particular teacher you have.


Ravenwood Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 25, 2007
- a parent
Great school, but they needed to keep up the 4th,5th, and 6th grade camps. They were a reat experiance for the kids and students.

Ravenwood Elementary School 5

Posted March 23, 2006
- a parent
Ravenwood Elemtary is an excellent school with highly qualified teachers and staff. Parent involvement is very high and appreciated by the school principal and teachers. The school atmosphere is one of caring and trust, which enhances the learning environment. The school has an ice skating rink, and during the winter months part of the physical education class involves ice skating. Cross country skiing is also taught to the older children. The school has a nature club, art club, band, choir, choir chimes, etc. My children love their school and their teachers. In addition, the school has a Campfire before and after school program for parents who work.

Ravenwood Elementary School 5

Posted May 17, 2004
- a parent
I had 4 children attend Ravenwood Elementary over the years and I have been very pleased with their educational experience. The teachers were caring and helpful, always encouraging them to do their best and holding them accountable to high standards. The music program was excellent with the music teacher going the extra mile to provide great school musical programs and opportunities for the kids to develop and perform their talents. The PTA was very active and provided fun activites like the Fall Carnival and Valentine Dance. Being in the military, we have had children attend many different elementary schools and Ravenwood by far was the best and favorite one of all.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ravenwood Elementary School
9500 Wren Ln, Eagle River, AK  99577
(907) 742-3250
Last modified Ravenwood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ravenwood Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top