Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

University Park Elementary School

Public | PK-6

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 21, 2014

My son attended UPark from K through 6. My daughter attended from K through 4. (Then we moved away from Alaska.) The teachers are excellent. The faculty and staff as a whole are friendly, engaged, and professional. My kids got an excellent education here. I would add that the "extras' were pretty great: band/orchestra, ski club, running club, archery, volleyball, basketball, and a bunch of stuff I forgot. This is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2014

I'm hoping it's just the one teacher my child has this year because I was under the impression most the staff was great with kids. My child placed above average in the placement tests, now there is all sorts issues. They pull him out of his main class for help with his reading and spelling on top of speech therapy for not pronouncing one letter the right way. It takes time from his main class and the work they do. Then when home work is sent home and testing is to be done he is overwhelmed. The tutor and teacher do not collaborate the curriculum...So instead of making things easier for him they have piled 3 times the work of different lesson. When I ask the teacher why something was sent home She has no clue. My son has come home crying because of what seems to be more discouragement than encouragement. I'm debating taking him out and home schooling since I've requested a meeting 3 times now with his teacher, principle and whom ever is in charge of next years placement. The amount of homework seems a bit much for 1st grade. So much so I have often wondered what they do over 6 hours a day. I feel I'm the one having to teach him. No one seems to answer my concerns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

I was a student here and I had a lot of fun. This school is awesome. The principal really cares for all the students. She is nice,fun, and funny. The teachers are awesome. All my teachers since Kindergarten were amazing. And I was proud to be a Falcon!


Posted January 25, 2013

My oldest child had a difficult time last year, ridiculed by the teacher for lack of reading skills & made to stop reading at times... which is just what he wanted. When we complained to the principle, we were told no other parent had ever complained about this teacher... only to talk to previous parents who vigorously complained previously. The principle sticks up for her teachers & doesn't listen to parents, nor will she document parents concerns. This year my son has a much better teacher & is recommended for the gifted program. Now my daughter is struggling so the teacher wrote that she would be pulled out regularly for a reading program... which has NOT been done. When they see a need there should be followthrough, but there isn't. The principle backs her teachers 100% even to the point of lying for them & refuses to listen to concerned parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2013

Can I give this school NO stars? My child attended this school for several years. I have had problems with the teachers and especially the principal disregarding my wishes when it came to MY child, and encouraging bad behavior by telling other children not to ask her about her actions, helping to conceal what she was going wrong, and taking her out of class so she can do ART with the counselor (you can bet my little artist liked that), among other things. No one in this school will ever teach your child there are CONSEQUENCES to their ACTIONS! They flat out refused to teach mine that. I ended up pulling my child out of this school and homeschooling. It turns out my child was very bored at this school - she is now doing better and is a grade level ahead of where she is supposed to be. Her standardized test sores have gone up, too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2010

Our son transferred to U-Park in the middle of the school year and we have been nothing but impressed with the quality of this public school. He was anxious about starting in a new school, and we felt nothing but warmth and kindness from all of the staff- his transition went smoothly- better then we could have expected. He his challenged daily academically, there is fun recess time, plus PE, music, computers, and art. The staff is friendly and inviting and I was welcome to volunteer in his classroom. There is a very active PTA and always different activities being offered. This school is one of the best in the area and I feel fortunate our child is able to attend here. If you are moving to Fairbanks from another area, I would strongly consider living in this school district, you will not be disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2010

This school has been wonderful for our child and for our family. The teachers and staff are excellent, and there is a lot of parent involvement. I have found the curriculum to be challenging and interesting for my child. The teachers are caring, helpful, and expect a lot out of their students. The communication between parents and teachers is also very good. This school also has many wonderful activities provided such as art, music, science fair, ski club, running club and more. My child has attended U-park for 3 years and unfortunately we may be moving out of area. I''m sure it will be very difficult to find a public school as good as this one has been. We will definitely miss U-Park!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2009

I have been nothing but impressed w/this school. The staff is wonderful; it provides many opportunities for the students and challenges them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2008

I attended this great school, and now my son attends this great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2007

U Park is an excellent school. The teachers are professionals who care--and even the staff look out for the children and care. Parents are involved all over the school. My boys are challanged and happy here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2007

We left the private school in the area for U-Park and are thrilled with my son's experience in every way! Lots of parental involvement and he is getting tutoring in reading. Thank you U-Park!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2007

As a parent of three kids at UPark, I have to say we are very happy with the school. UPark has high academic expectations, teachers who care, and families who are involved. Extra help is available for students who need it. We're proud to be Falcons!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2003

University Park Elementary School is my young son's (6-yearold Alaska Native boy) introduction to Kindergarden. It was a good experience and the two teachers were very helpful. My son is in Special Eduction and the local school district board of education is considering cutting positions to the SE staff. This concerns me, because outside of parents; teachers are an important role model for young children. Overall, I think this school performs well and Campfire USA is right in the building; so we have the best of classroom instrution and day-care. As a single parent, this helps a lot. Education is important in today's world as in times past adn in the future to come. My son, has a very good start in the Fairbanks k-12 system.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
95%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 75% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 50% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
61%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 76% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 73% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
Female88%
Male94%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant91%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students91%
Female84%
Male97%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant91%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Writing

All Students84%
Female76%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant86%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Alaska Department of Education and Early Development. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

All Students90%
Female88%
Male93%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native American73%
White96%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant92%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students84%
Female84%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native American64%
White90%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant85%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students71%
Female59%
Male80%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native American40%
White81%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities70%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English71%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant71%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Writing

All Students90%
Female88%
Male93%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native American73%
White98%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant92%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Alaska Department of Education and Early Development. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

All Students83%
Female87%
Male79%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native American70%
White86%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant85%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students86%
Female87%
Male85%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native American70%
White89%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant86%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Writing

All Students89%
Female94%
Male85%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native American70%
White92%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant92%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Alaska Department of Education and Early Development. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

All Students77%
Female81%
Male74%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial91%
Native American38%
White82%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities82%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant78%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students89%
Female91%
Male87%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial91%
Native American69%
White92%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant90%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Writing

All Students86%
Female88%
Male85%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial100%
Native American62%
White90%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant87%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Alaska Department of Education and Early Development. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 51%
American Indian/Alaska Native 13% 23%
Two or more races 13% 8%
Hispanic 6% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 6%
Black 3% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 35%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

554 Loftus Rd
Fairbanks, AK 99709
Phone: (907) 479-6963

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT