Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


University Park Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 05, 2016
- a parent
My kids can't say enough about Coach Carter. When I ask how school was on a given day his name often comes up. They love his obstacle course each year with Mr. Bones. As a new family in school I will never forget that my daughter needed a shot and she was freaking out in the nurses office. Coach Carter happened to walk by and asked if we needed help. He held my daughter and made light of the situation afterward. My kids love him! Thanks for going above and beyond.

University Park Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 05, 2016
- a parent
I appreciate the regular newsletters Mrs. Gray and Mrs. Klaes sent home. It helped to keep me in the know.


University Park Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 05, 2016
- a parent
Every teacher has different expectations, but my kids have been expected to read every night. I appreciate when they have had a homework packet due once a week instead of having to ask them each night if they remember if they still have homework that night.

University Park Elementary School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted June 05, 2016
- a parent
My daughter has received tutoring in math and reading, which she still enjoys, even though these subjects have been challenging to her. She has been learning persistence in these areas with the help of school tutors.

University Park Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted June 05, 2016
- a parent
The atmosphere is positive whenever I am in the school between students and teachers. The student population is diverse, and there are some students that are hearing impaired. Coach Carter has incorporated signs into his coaching and instruction time and my 3rd grader has learned some sign language at recess in Sign Language Club.


University Park Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 05, 2016
- a parent
Classes do fun raising for service projects and students get to give back to the community.

University Park Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 05, 2016
- a parent
I have seen teachers and coaches on multiple occasions school sports coach kids about positive aspects of sportsmanship. Adults back it up by allowing all the students play and they keep coaching positive. They also offer instruction to students still learning the sport during after school games. Kids have great attitudes due in part to the examples the teachers model and instill in the kids.

University Park Elementary School 5

Posted June 05, 2016
- a parent
My kids moved in from a village in Alaska and I love the extra support offered here to help them meet their weaknesses. The standards are high and my students love their teachers. They love Coach Davis, Mrs. Klaes, Mrs. Gray, Mrs. Machida, Mrs. Myers and Principal Kyra Aizstrauts. Thank you for your dedication!


University Park Elementary School 5

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
Jerry is happy to attend the school for his nice teachers and lovely friends! It's a great school!

University Park Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
As a foreign child, Jerry is making an amazing improvment in learning and comunicating in English at school. This of course should be attributed to his teachers, Mrs. Dubowski, Mrs. Claar, Mrs. G. and other kind teachers. I really appreciate that. Jerry now loves his school very much.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

University Park Elementary School
554 Loftus Rd, Fairbanks, AK  99709
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. (907) 479-6963
Last modified University Park Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top