Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Joy Elementary School

Public | PK-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 16, 2014

The teachers do not take the time to teach, they are often on their phones, texting, playing games, sending the kids to the computer lab and doing minimal teaching. My two kids have declined in their education since they've moved into this school. The extra curricular sections (library, music, behavior, PE) are severely lacking. Bullying is also a concern and an issue amongst students. It is not encouraged for parents to come and volunteer, except for field trips. There is a new principal, I have seen some good changes since her arrival; I am hopeful that things will improve, but not hopeful that they will improve enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2011

I was a student at Joy Elementary for seven years, from kindergarden to sixth grade, and I have to say I had a wonderful time, and nothing but good memories remain with me. I am a junior in college up at the university now, and one of my classes has me doing a project on the Education system in our nation, and in our community specifically. I would just like to say, that I appreciate the education I received from this school, and the remarkable teachers who shaped my mind and gave me the opportunity to expand and grow in a safe and fun environment. So I would like to give a huge thanks to the teachers, and peers who started me on my journey as a student and allowed me to be the best I could be.


Posted April 8, 2011

I love this school. The principle and staff are friendly and approachable. I know if there is something going on with any of my children I can walk in and talk to the principle. My oldest has been going to this school for 3 years and when we move this school will be one of the #1 things I will miss.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

You just cannot find a more supportive and loving staff who make learning fun for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

I love the supervision of the kids(there's ALWAYS an adult within earshot--for any trouble happening)--AND--I am always greeted with a smile when I walk the halls.


Posted September 21, 2009

They are a great one on one school. They keep there parents informed and do lots of parent child activities sponsered by the PTA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

Joy elementary is great for my child she expierences hands on project and every day mathematics. Her grade have sky rocketted since she has had Ms. Monica Chi.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2009

Joy Elementary has an excellent staff and leadership through Principal Dave Foshee. It is an excellent place to be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2009

Joy has a warm feeling about it. You can tell that the staff really cares for the the students. They have a great PTA that provides wonderful family activities and promotes family togetherness.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2009

I moved here from the lower 48 and I have been very pleased by the staff and the principal of this school. My kids and I have run into some tough times and they are very understanding. They have gone above and beyond what they need to to make our transition bearable. They welcomed us with open arms and have given us the tools to make things happen for us as a family and for my childrens educational future. Best part about it is that they have done all of this without judgement. Great School, principal and staff. I am very thankful for this team of great people!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2008

Principal is excellent. Most teachers have been there too long so have narrow view. Some try harder than others to accept all types of students in their classrooms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2005

Parents welcome. Good safe environment, right next to a wildlife refuge. Great teachers and admin staff, principals.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 75% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 50% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
36%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 76% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 73% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

All Students76%
Female73%
Male79%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities81%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant76%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students84%
Female82%
Male86%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant84%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Writing

All Students79%
Female82%
Male75%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities85%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant79%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Alaska Department of Education and Early Development. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

All Students74%
Female85%
Male62%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native American75%
White79%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities47%
Students without disabilities81%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant73%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students72%
Female85%
Male59%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native American75%
White79%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities20%
Students without disabilities87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant72%
Special Education with Accomodation10%

Science

All Students37%
Female38%
Male36%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native American33%
White53%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Not economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilities14%
Students without disabilities43%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English40%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant38%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Writing

All Students75%
Female88%
Male61%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native American82%
White77%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities33%
Students without disabilities87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant74%
Special Education with Accomodation42%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Alaska Department of Education and Early Development. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

All Students64%
Female73%
Male59%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities73%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English63%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant63%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students65%
Female87%
Male54%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities74%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English67%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant64%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Writing

All Students62%
Female87%
Male48%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities73%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English63%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant61%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Alaska Department of Education and Early Development. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

All Students66%
Female60%
Male71%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native American33%
White79%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities43%
Students without disabilities74%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English67%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant66%
Special Education with Accomodation42%

Reading

All Students74%
Female80%
Male68%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native American42%
White82%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities82%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant74%
Special Education with Accomodation50%

Writing

All Students74%
Female80%
Male68%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native American42%
White82%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities82%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant74%
Special Education with Accomodation58%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Alaska Department of Education and Early Development. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 51%
American Indian/Alaska Native 21% 23%
Two or more races 10% 8%
Black 7% 4%
Hispanic 5% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 53%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

24 Margaret St
Fairbanks, AK 99701
Phone: (907) 456-5469

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Fairbanks B.E.S.T.
Fairbanks, AK



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT