Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Fairbanks, AK
Students enrolled: 1,203
 

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

10 reviews of this school


Lathrop High School 5

Posted December 14, 2014
- a student
I enjoy attending Lathrop High School. I am an engineering student and enjoy all of my classes in engineering. The engineering room (One of, if not the best in the state) contains it's own computer lab and 2 smartboards. (each computer has an i7 intel with SSD) The engineering room also has a workshop space with three 3D printers, a laser engraver, a CNC plasma cutter, a CNC router, and many other machines and workshop tools. Finaly, There is a separate room that is part of the engineering complex. This is the robotics room. It has tons of materials and parts for building robots. Lathrop High School participates in the regional robotics tournament and sent several teams to the state competition last year. Beyond engineering, Lathrop also has an excellent Japanese program. Lathrop has a Japanese sister school, Hashimoto Highschool and every year, either students from lathrop visit hashimoto, or students from hashimoto visit Lathrop. I could go on and on about Lathrop's Music program, their off campus lunches, the superb sports teams and friendly teachers at Lathrop. I enjoy attending Lathrop and encourage anyone looking for a school to go there.

Lathrop High School 5

Posted February 19, 2012
- a student
The teachers really care how your doing they work hard to keep you focused. I'm a trouble maker but at lathrop I actually like learning they make it fun.


Lathrop High School 5

Posted January 12, 2010
- a student
I attend Lathrop High School and I enjoy it very much! The teachers are really great!

Lathrop High School 5

Posted November 10, 2009
- a student
Lathrop is very fun and a great learning enviroment. My friends and i want to come to school!

Lathrop High School
no rating

Posted April 22, 2009
- a parent
lathrop is the best school a student can ask for. The students are great, the teachers are great. The classes are amazing. Lathrop was the one of the first schools since the 67' flood but it was named FAIRBANKS H.S. Overall LHS is good 5 stars alll the way


Lathrop High School
no rating

Posted November 17, 2008
- a parent
I am amazed by the comment that states there are so many students. My daughters school prior to this one had 4700 high schoo;ers there. Please this is such a great school

Lathrop High School 5

Posted March 27, 2006
- a student
Lathrop Is an Excellent High school to send your Children to. Its friendly and safe atmosphere is an excellent place to learn. Plus this school has many AP classes that are nowhere else in the region.

Lathrop High School 4

Posted January 25, 2006
- a teacher
Lathrop High School has a strong academic program for a range of students from those needing extra help to highly motivated students seeking advanced placement college level courses. Nearby army base provides for a diverse student body.


Lathrop High School 3

Posted January 15, 2006
- a student
There are only two concerns that I have about this school. Lack of saftey, and overpacked lunchtime. As far as the saftey goes, it is not that there are not enough people patroling the halls, but the fact that there are so many students and no one can be everywhere at once. As far as the lunch goes, everyone eats at the same time. This allows for no control. Students are allowed to eat pretty much anywhere in the building. There should be at least 4 lunch times. Where the student body is broken down to more managable sizes. While one group is in the cafeteria, the others should be in class.

Lathrop High School 5

Posted December 29, 2004
- a parent
Great school overall. I thought the teachers were great. The quality of the academic programs were excellent. The teachers would go out of there way to help their students out if they needed it. There are so many opportunities to get involved with extra curricular programs ranging from baseball to basketball and so many clubs they could be involved with.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lathrop High School
901 Airport Way, Fairbanks, AK  99701
(907) 456-7794
Last modified Lathrop High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lathrop High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top