Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ursa Major Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 477 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 24, 2014

Great school with caring teachers! Lots of family events and the principle gets involved with the kids activities. Both my sons love all the teachers they have had and are sad they move after next school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2012

As the 2011-2012 school year comes to an end, I will say that I am not impressed with this school over all. The class sizes in K have gone back and forth from 25 to 22 students thru out the year. The teachers seem a bit overwhelmed with the large class sizes. Also I feel like the academics standards are low; my daughter spent the first half of the year coloring. She was doing more in the preschool we came from. Now at the very end of the year we are finally starting with simple math and reading and handwriting. There are also a lot of behavioral problems at this school that seem to get pushed aside, and from reading other reviews I can see that this is an ongoing problem for the past few years. The bulling is out of control. The parents and staff need to get together and find a solution. As we look on to 1st grade I see the same thing large classes with lots of behavior problems. The principal needs to get his teacher the support they need and have a better working relationship with the PTA not just tell people this is how he wants it and that s it. I don't care for the principal or the assistant principal at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2012

My son went there for 4th grade in 2009 I enjoyed his teacher Ms. DeBoli, she was very helpful to his education. I did not like however how the school handling bulling. It was being pushed off until I reported it to the police on base. Bringing my son from a magnet to public was a hard change all the work he had already done in a lower grade, but his teacher did make adjustments on her own that really helped him stay at a comfortable level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2011

Ursa Major has great teachers but the student /teacher ratio is too large. The school lunches are not very good. The school counsler dose not care about the students and will not do any one on one time with the students. The principal is very rude to the students, parents and staff. Being on a a military base the school needs a principal and counsler who cares and can handle the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2010

I have three children that attended Ursa Major for the past two years. I really like all the teachers. I have gotten to know many of them through volunteering and subbing at the school. All the teachers at this school put the students first. I feel they do their best to give each student a wonderful classroom experience although the class sizes are too large. The teachers revived little support from the principal and she lacks the ability to discipline or communicate with parents. She will not be returning to Ursa Major next year so I hope the new principal is better. A lot of the staff and PTA work hard to offer programs to get parents involved in their children's school and create a community environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2009

WIll having my daughter attend ursa major for 2 years and then get PCS to another school. No don't get me wrong Ursa Major is a good school overall with their academic goals 'the best' they jsut have some teachers that are not experience to be a teacher for a elementary school. But now being in another state I wish I was back at Ursa Major.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

I am not impressed with my son's teacher at the school and the principal isn't very accessible. I came in twice to talk to her and the secretary almost seemed to screen any request to talk to her. Basically, I haven't had a conversation with her other than 'hello.' However, with all this being said, I do see positive interaction in the hallways with other teachers. The music teacher seems really energetic and positve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2009

Nothing but GREAT experiences at this school. Loved all the teachers that my daughter was lucky to have. Living on post and around the military can be hard on kids expecially during deployments, but the teachers and staff were very supportive of the kids and knew how to make them feel better and deal with life during the deployments of their parents. I would recommend this school over and over!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2008

I've only had good experirences with this school. My daughter's teachers are really supportive. The office staff are friendly and helpful. And being on post, they are geared toward military families. I would recommend it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2008

School is good. Second and first grade teachers are very helpful. They have a great programs for gifted kids as well as those who need a little extra help. My kids like it and they are vvery quick to jump in and put a halt to any bullying.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2006

Kindergarden teacher is good, but school overall is not what i expected. Food is bad, yard duties arent' paying attention, no serious punishment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2011.

59 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
87%

2008

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 82% in 2011.

59 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
92%

2008

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2011.

59 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
83%

2009

 
 
95%

2008

 
 
76%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2011.

59 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
79%

2009

 
 
72%

2008

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2011.

59 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
85%

2008

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 50% in 2011.

59 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
59%

2009

 
 
51%

2008

 
 
37%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 76% in 2011.

59 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
92%

2008

 
 
94%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

47 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
71%

2008

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2011.

47 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
>=95%

2009

 
 
88%

2008

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 75% in 2011.

47 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
83%

2008

 
 
89%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

49 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
71%

2009

 
 
81%

2008

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2011.

49 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
84%

2009

 
 
88%

2008

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2011.

49 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
80%

2009

 
 
86%

2008

 
 
82%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

All Students85%
Female84%
Male86%
Black67%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic>=75%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White>=90%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities<=40%
Students without disabilities91%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students90%
Female>=90%
Male81%
Black>=80%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic>=75%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White>=90%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged>=90%
Students with disabilities<=40%
Students without disabilities>=95%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students86%
Female90%
Male81%
Black80%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic>=75%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White>=90%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged>=90%
Students with disabilities<=40%
Students without disabilities93%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Alaska Department of Education and Early Development. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

All Students85%
Female>=90%
Male79%
Black75%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic>=80%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White>=90%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities63%
Students without disabilities88%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students83%
Female>=90%
Male76%
Black>=80%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic>=80%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities88%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students64%
Female62%
Male67%
Black58%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities<=25%
Students without disabilities71%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students88%
Female>=90%
Male82%
Black75%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic>=80%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White>=90%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged>=90%
Students with disabilities>=75%
Students without disabilities90%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Alaska Department of Education and Early Development. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

All Students75%
Female74%
Male75%
Black71%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic>=60%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities<=40%
Students without disabilities83%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students83%
Female83%
Male83%
Black82%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic>=60%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White>=80%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged>=90%
Students with disabilities<=40%
Students without disabilities90%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students83%
Female87%
Male79%
Black>=80%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic>=60%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged>=90%
Students with disabilities<=40%
Students without disabilities90%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Alaska Department of Education and Early Development. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

All Students69%
Female85%
Male59%
Black50%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities<=20%
Students without disabilities82%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students80%
Female>=90%
Male69%
Black>=75%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities30%
Students without disabilities92%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students71%
Female85%
Male62%
Black50%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities<=20%
Students without disabilities85%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Alaska Department of Education and Early Development. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2010-2011 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 53% 52%
Black 19% 4%
Hispanic 16% 6%
Two or more races 6% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 23%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Asian 0% 6%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 51%N/A38%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

454 Dyea St
JBER, AK 99505
Phone: (907) 742-1600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT