Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

East Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 25, 2014

I would give this school no stars if I could! My son and I came to kodiak 3 years ago and East Elementry was the school we chose for my son to attend because everyone was saying how great this school was! But I've had nothing but bad experience with this school so has my son! My son is a bright student and loves school! Due to bullies at this school he hates it! 60-70 students at recess and 1 adult watching them while playing! Bullying is horrible at this school! Students are unsupervised! I've watched kids get picked on and harldly anything is done about the bullying in this school! They never notify the parent when something happens! Classrooms are old and dirty! The kitchen is disgusting!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2011

You couldn't ask for a better school, and staff. A special shout out to Mrs.Holcum, who I sincerely believe is one of the worlds best teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2010

My children have had excellent experiences throughout their years at East Elementary. The staff and administrators really seem to care for each individual child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2010

I love this school! It was great when I attended and now it's proven to be a great place for my children. Teachers and staff are the best in town.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2010

East Elementary is a great school to work at. The staff, parents and students make up a fun and successful learning community. Our SBA scores back up our schools success at setting high expectations and philosophy of education. Staff welcomes ideas and involvement from parents and community members. Kodiak is a fantastic place to work! While it might not have some of the things and activities the 'main land' offers, the sense of community and citizenship that resonates here helps in developing success for students and makes me enjoy what I do.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 2, 2010

I would highly recommend East Elementary to any parent. My children have excelled at this school through the great teachers, school programs and school functions that include the whole family. Mr. Malloy is an amazing teacher that has made a difference in my child's life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2009

My son loves going to East Elementary school. He has been able to make books, participate in a class play, work on a laptop daily, read for Reading Counts, attend fun field trips and be held accountable for his behavior when he needed it. I appreciate Mr. Malloy's dedication and energy in making East Elementary a positive experience for his students. My son is a better student and person for being able to be in Mr. Malloy's classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

East has been a great fit for my son. He loves his teacher and is excited to put on his backpack and start each day there. He is challenged in class on the units taught. I have been able to attend school activities throughout the year.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 75% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 50% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 76% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 73% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

All Students76%
Female79%
Male74%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native American92%
White67%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English79%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant77%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students92%
Female100%
Male87%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native American92%
White87%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant93%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Writing

All Students81%
Female100%
Male70%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native American75%
White73%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English79%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant83%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Alaska Department of Education and Early Development. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

All Students79%
Female88%
Male71%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native American80%
White83%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Migrant91%
Not migrant76%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students80%
Female92%
Male69%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native American82%
White87%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities86%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Migrant82%
Not migrant79%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students52%
Female60%
Male45%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native American55%
White65%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities56%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English56%
Migrant73%
Not migrant47%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Writing

All Students80%
Female100%
Male62%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native American64%
White91%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities82%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%
Migrant73%
Not migrant81%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Alaska Department of Education and Early Development. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

All Students65%
Female82%
Male50%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islander63%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native American59%
White68%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities17%
Students without disabilities76%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English68%
Migrant85%
Not migrant59%
Special Education with Accomodation17%

Reading

All Students74%
Female89%
Male62%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islander69%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native American65%
White86%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities33%
Students without disabilities84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English79%
Migrant85%
Not migrant71%
Special Education with Accomodation33%

Writing

All Students65%
Female86%
Male47%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islander50%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native American59%
White77%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities25%
Students without disabilities74%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English70%
Migrant77%
Not migrant61%
Special Education with Accomodation25%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Alaska Department of Education and Early Development. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 40% 51%
American Indian/Alaska Native 25% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 20% 6%
Hispanic 10% 6%
Two or more races 4% 8%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Black 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 54%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

200 Benny Benson Dr
Kodiak, AK 99615
Phone: (907) 481-6500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St Mary's School
Kodiak, AK






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT