Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Colony High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 21, 2012

I have a 9th grader and being a KNIGHT has been the best experience EVER for him. He looks forward to school with his peers and really enjoys all his classes. He's involved with hockey and enjoys the coaches and teammates as well. We couldn't be happier with our choice to be a KNIGHT
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2011

Colony is an amazing school, I am a 9th grader at Colony and it is GREAT. The teachers are extremely helpful and care about your succes. Colony has more advanced classes than any school in the valley, witch looks great for college. Colonys goal is to prepare you for life, and for college. College credit is available for most classes for a extremely cheap price. If you have kids going there tell them to take Hopkins tech apps class, He is a great teacher.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 22, 2010

The staff at this school really goes out of their way to help students succeed. Standards of behavior and academic performance are HIGH. Kids are expected to do their best and given the support they need to achieve. The principals and front office staff at the school treat parents like we are the custormer--which we are! It's the best school our children have attended anywhere and all 4 of our kids have loved it. Our two oldest say they got the best preparation possible for college because of the high quality of teaching and all the AP classes available to them. It would be nice if more parents attended the monthly principal's parent forum, but I know the principal does everything she can to get parents involved. We are just busy I guess.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2010

I went to this school in the 9th grade and loved it. Everyone was so nice to me. Teachers were great. I had this one math teacher who would take time out of her lunch break to help me with my math. Loved choir. Only thing though was it was weird to have drivers ed on a simulator. Moved out of state to WA sucky school then to CA the worst no programs of any kind. You have to fundraise like no tomorrow here always asking for $. Still there's nothing.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 26, 2010

I spent my high school days at Colony and loved it. I only had one teacher which I deem to have not liked me very much, however, she was still an excellent teacher. If you're thinking about sending your children here, make sure they get McKenney for a teacher. He is fantastic. This school has teachers who care about you and are willing to work with you in order for you to be able to get what you need to get done. Drama program is amazing, not from experience, but from watching plays. Great school. By the far the best of all the Valley schools.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 26, 2010

I am a parent and I do not agree with the parent involvement rating. I think every parent is as involved as they choose to be. Colony has iParent so they can check on their children's grades. I'd call that involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2010

I attend Colony High, and this is my second year of attendance. I am thoroughly content with the classes, teachers, and student body as a whole. Colony has a great music program, a good drama program, athletics are always considered a priority as well as education. There's much less drug usage compared to Wasilla and Palmer. Colony High School tomorrows are given high standards and expected to be kind and respectful to one another. If you're looking for a well-rounded school in the valley, Colony High is the right choice for you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 16, 2009

My son has been at Colony High for three years now. This school is probably the best one in the valley. The staff work hard to offer classes to fit student's needs instead of teacher wants. The principal, Mrs. Duffin, is wonderful. She puts the needs of the students first and works hard to make Colony an environment where students will succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2008

We only moved here in July, but we are really blessed to have moved into this school district! The only marching band in the state of Alaska resides here! And they have been invited to go to march in the Inaugural Parade in Washington D.C.! How cool is that! We also like the fact that anything below 70% is considered failing. Our daughter is learing atleast as much as she was at her previous school, and it s a huge relief that the popular crowd here isn t the one that do drugs (like at the schools where we came from), but the athlete/brains! Sure, if you don t fit in that category (and she doesn t, quite), it s a bit harder, but she s not being pressured to do drugs, and she s got quite a few people that she at least knows and who know her, and as always, her best friends are in or around the band.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2008

Awesome school and I only attended for one year before moving. Colony sports, teachers, JROTC and everything work together with no wasted time or lack of student abilites, students actually matter, teachers actually care, for those of you that remember I was a student the 2006-2007 School year (Freshman ) moved to Maryland (Perry Bryant) Whats up yall COLONY ROCKS!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 9, 2008

Those comments about Colony being rich and snobby are ridiculous. I'm not a jock, student government member, leadership member or any of those things, and I don't feel snubbed by anyone. School is what you make it, and if you want drama, that is certainly what you'll get. While I don't agree with all the decisions the administration has made, I do believe that Colony is one of the most outstanding schools . Anything below 70% is failing, and i think that grading system pushes students to work harder. If you don't want to learn, then you fail. I'm definitely not the best student. but I've learned to wor hard. Also, yes, the classes are large, but that's an issue throughout the country. I really think Colony is a good school to go to for it's acaddemics, sports, and other extracurricular activities as well as meeting people. If you're willing tompeople,
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 28, 2008

I loved going to colony. I switched to wasilla for a semester then went right back to colony. It is a great school. I agree the classes are a bit big, but the teachers give it their all to make it better for the students. But crowed schools is just an issue in the hole vally. And i wasnt rich, or have a nice car, its just me and my mom and i was accepted by most.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 15, 2008

Im really shocked by some of the comment on here about Colony High. I went to there for 3 years and thought it was a really good school education wise and enviornment wise. No one Colony is snobby or mean, I mean yeah there will always be those kids who are but not the whole school was like that. in fact everyone there in my 3 years were really close everyone knew who everyone was alot of people hung out together. I would hate for Colony to get a bad reputation by comments being made on here especially by parents who never went there and dont know what its like. I think Colony is a very good school to attend.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 24, 2007

Excellent staff & extracurricular activities! Students are smart and nice. Really clean too.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 21, 2007

The overall academic program at Colony is better than any other Valley schools. There is a great drama program at Colony and the music program is really good too. The athletic teams are as good as any in the state of Alaska. This school has excellent parental involvement. I am so glad that my kids will get to attend such a good school. Thanks to all of the staff and professional teachers and administrators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2007

Simply the best school ever!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 15, 2007

This school is a good learning school, but in need of some serious attitude adjustment. Everyone there is snobby and preppy and down right mean. They think that they are better then everyone else. I do not recommend this school for anyone unless they are preppy, snobby, and mean. I will never let any of my kids go there. Never!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 25, 2005

Great school compared to the surrounding other choices. Seemed to have a higher percentage of college bound students. Highly recommend.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 3, 2005

Colony is a 'preppy' school. If your children do not wear the 'right' clothes or own a car they will be treated differently. The administration is a firm believer that all the kids must be the same without any individuality allowed. They are difficult to work with and although they have some very good teachers I wouldn't recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2005

I love this school. I'm glad I am able to come here because Colony upholds a lot of standards that I have. I like this school, more than ANY other in the Valley, because it has teachers that push the students to be the best they can be, and for the fun learning experience I've had so far (and I'm just a freshman). I wish they more people wanting to do choir and drama; while sports are good, so many people do sports, and not enough of the performing arts. One thing people need to keep in mind is, your high school experience will only be as good as you want it to be...Colony's done their job on providing a positive environment.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

275 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

275 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 75% in 2013.

275 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

274 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

276 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

277 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2013.

278 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

All Students80%
Female79%
Male80%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islander64%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native American71%
White83%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities35%
Students without disabilities83%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English79%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant80%
Special Education with Accomodation21%

Reading

All Students94%
Female96%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islander82%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native American89%
White96%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilities65%
Students without disabilities96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant95%
Special Education with Accomodation59%

Writing

All Students89%
Female94%
Male84%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islander82%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native American83%
White91%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities45%
Students without disabilities93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant90%
Special Education with Accomodation41%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Alaska Department of Education and Early Development. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

All Students77%
Female75%
Male79%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islander81%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native American68%
White80%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities16%
Students without disabilities82%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English78%
Migrant91%
Not migrant76%
Special Education with Accomodation19%

Reading

All Students88%
Female89%
Male87%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islander82%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native American85%
White90%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrant91%
Not migrant88%
Special Education with Accomodation54%

Science

All Students78%
Female76%
Male80%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islander71%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native American66%
White82%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities25%
Students without disabilities82%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English79%
Migrant73%
Not migrant79%
Special Education with Accomodation26%

Writing

All Students84%
Female85%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islander88%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native American78%
White86%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities45%
Students without disabilities87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant84%
Special Education with Accomodation44%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Alaska Department of Education and Early Development. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

274 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

276 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 72% in 2013.

278 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alaska used the High School Graduation Qualifying Examination (HSGQE) to test students in grade 10 in reading, writing and math. In some cases students may repeat the test during grades 11 or 12. The HSGQE is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Alaska. The HSGQE is a high school graduation requirement. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
>=80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 49% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alaska used the High School Graduation Qualifying Examination (HSGQE) to test students in grade 10 in reading, writing and math. In some cases students may repeat the test during grades 11 or 12. The HSGQE is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Alaska. The HSGQE is a high school graduation requirement. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
<=40%

2010

 
 
<=40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 50% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alaska used the High School Graduation Qualifying Examination (HSGQE) to test students in grade 10 in reading, writing and math. In some cases students may repeat the test during grades 11 or 12. The HSGQE is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Alaska. The HSGQE is a high school graduation requirement. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

All Students85%
Female83%
Male86%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islander>=80%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native American83%
White86%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities32%
Students without disabilities89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Migrant>=80%
Not migrant85%

Reading

All Students92%
Female94%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islander>=80%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native American92%
White93%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities60%
Students without disabilities95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrant>=80%
Not migrant92%

Writing

All Students81%
Female87%
Male77%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islander82%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native American78%
White83%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities45%
Students without disabilities84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%
Migrant>=80%
Not migrant81%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alaska used the High School Graduation Qualifying Examination (HSGQE) to test students in grade 10 in reading, writing and math. In some cases students may repeat the test during grades 11 or 12. The HSGQE is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Alaska. The HSGQE is a high school graduation requirement. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Alaska Department of Education and Early Development. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

All Students31%
Female38%
Male26%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White38%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Not economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities<=20%
Students without disabilities45%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English36%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant27%

Reading

All Students70%
Femalen/a
Male77%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White>=80%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities>=80%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant68%

Writing

All Students42%
Femalen/a
Male39%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native American45%
White57%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities31%
Students without disabilities53%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English45%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant43%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alaska used the High School Graduation Qualifying Examination (HSGQE) to test students in grade 10 in reading, writing and math. In some cases students may repeat the test during grades 11 or 12. The HSGQE is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Alaska. The HSGQE is a high school graduation requirement. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Alaska Department of Education and Early Development. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a

Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alaska used the High School Graduation Qualifying Examination (HSGQE) to test students in grade 10 in reading, writing and math. In some cases students may repeat the test during grades 11 or 12. The HSGQE is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Alaska. The HSGQE is a high school graduation requirement. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Alaska Department of Education and Early Development. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 51%
American Indian/Alaska Native 14% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 6%
Hispanic 4% 6%
Black 3% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Two or more races 0% 8%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 21%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Industrial shop
  • Science lab
Visual arts
  • Architecture

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Ice hockey
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Gymnastics
  • Ice hockey
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9550 East Colony School Dr
Palmer, AK 99645
Phone: (907) 861-5500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Valley Pathways
Palmer, AK






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT