Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Matanuska Christian School

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Palmer

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $219,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $890.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 13, 2009

I have had three kids who have attended MCS. All three have received scholarships to universities and have scored very well on SAT tests. The teachers are very dedicated and put in many extra hours and try to get all the kids involved. Two of my kids have really enjoyed the school and would rate it high. One of my daughters had difficulties for a few of the years, but it was the close cooperation with teachers and administration that allowed us to work with her through those difficult years, and keep her safe from major trouble. We believe this enabled her to successfully graduate from high school and prepared her well for university.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2009

Well, I have to disagree with the student below. I have attended this school for a very long time. The teachers work very hard to make classes interesting, along with making extracurricular activities available to anyone who wants to participate. The teachers are disciplined, especially the science classes, and will go to huge lengths to help a student understand their homework. And about the friends, it all depends on that student's attitude in their situation. I haven't had problems making friends at this school and have even made some lifelong friends. I just want to reiterate that all my high school teachers are excellent in their area of expertise. They are excited to teach and bring that into their classrooms. :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 4, 2009

I hate this school, i am a student there and the teachers are unfair and somewhat evil, and all the students are undisapluined and rude, talking is uncontrolled and the small class room and not being able to see a mix of people every day makes it so that i have no frineds at this school, and i usually come home crying...ON A GOOD DAY!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 2, 2008

A safe and academically dynamic place for my two daughters to attend school. Both enjoy their classes, school friends, teachers, and I like seeing them succeed in education and participate in great activities while in a very safe environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2008

Great school! Great teachers who really have a heart for the children and are dedicated 100%!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2008

Teachers are first rate. I do wish the would enforce their dress code better though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2008

This school is awesome! My boys have been here 4 years now. We wouldnt dream of them anywhere else. The people here really care about the sucess and education these kids get! Would definately recommend this school to every parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

Matanuska Christian School is a great place for your children. They truly care for your kids and the staff is great! Keep it up!
—Submitted by a staff


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 43%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 43%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
Asian 2% 3%
Hispanic 2% 4%
Black 0% 2%
Two or more races 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
  • ACTS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Supports home-based learning
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

248 E Elmwood Ave
Palmer, AK 99645
Phone: (907) 746-6789

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Beryozova School
Palmer, AK



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT