Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Wasilla Middle School 2

Posted July 17, 2013
- a parent
Wasilla Middle School had a bad reputation in the Mat-Su Valley. Majority of the students at WMS are lower income. The learning environment is very difficult for student and the students are disrespectful to staff and other student.

Wasilla Middle School 5

Posted September 01, 2012
- a community member
Dude all i have to say is i love WMS the teachers are great very helpful and easy to connect with. Im not sure what the "make you day" program is but i have never noticed it being a problem, right now we have "passports" and you dont really need them. Hah. I have a lot of friends here and i really enjoy going to wasilla middle school. By the way im in 7th grade so hah yea...


Wasilla Middle School 2

Posted May 19, 2011
- a community member
I am in my 2nd year at WMS. The first year was ok, however 8th and 7th graders would tease the 6th graders, and the teachers approved of it by also saying that 6th graders "are at the bottom of the totem pole" and not sticking up for them. I am almost done with my 7th grade and I think this was the worst school year of my whole life. I can't take art class seriously since most of it seems to be elementary stuff (or is just review from last year), the Make Your Day program is just a joke, bullies seem to be everywhere, and there are no after school activities that I want. There are some nice teachers, but then you start to dislike most of them by the end of the year or by your next year.

Wasilla Middle School 1

Posted August 20, 2010
- a parent
Very unhappy with the scool leadership, overcrowded, all in all this school will suck your childs soul and they will not be able to connect with the joy of learning as the school is run like a prison. On the plus side there are a few great staff members that really do love their jobs and the kids; however they are few and far between :(

Wasilla Middle School 1

Posted September 24, 2009
- a parent
Parent involvement is not encouraged. Make Your Day Program is disliked by students, most consider it a 'joke'. Staff support of substitute teachers is often non-existant. Principal is not very observant and very much out of touch with what's happening in the school.


Wasilla Middle School 5

Posted January 20, 2009
- a student
dude i love this school it is the best. i never thought that a school could be so much better. when i go to school there the teacher are nice andare verey helpfull. that is all i have to say about wms.

Wasilla Middle School 5

Posted January 08, 2009
- a student
The school is great and I love how they challenge me with new concepts. I am a seventh grader and because I did so well last year I have now advanced onto Algebra 1 and am in my second year of learning the Russian language. The teachers are great and do a good job teaching.

Wasilla Middle School
no rating

Posted November 01, 2008
- a parent
I think this is an exceptional school with great teachers!


Wasilla Middle School 3

Posted January 19, 2008
- a student
Wms is a good school with good teachers but i think that the make your day points is pointless. Only about half the teachers actually do points and it does [not] stop bad kids from do[ing] bad things so why not just get rid of it all together?

Wasilla Middle School 3

Posted September 03, 2007
- a student
Well. WMS is an okay school, but it's not excellent. I don't think the Make Your Day Program does anything except make kids want to get into trouble. The MYD program is just another fancy meaning for Time Out. The teachers are awesome though. McCourt, Mack, Gelatt, and Pettijohn are my teachers this year and they are exceptionally good at what they teach.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wasilla Middle School
650 Bogard Rd, Wasilla, AK  99654
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. (907) 352-5300
Last modified Wasilla Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top