Advertisement
Advertisement

Desert Academy

Private | PK-2

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Anthem

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $199,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,230.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 20, 2008

Our experience with the school was far less than satisfactory. We left last year along with most of the teachers and many (or most?) of the students. Ask yourself (and the owner when you contact them) why there are only 6-7 kids in a class. You owe it to yourself to gather many opinions on this school. The academics were always presented to the parents as the absolute best and you will be doing a severe disservice to your child if you send them anywhere else. We changed schools and found academics that were excellent in a much more supportive and loving environment. I could never recommend this school in good conscience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2008

This is our family's fourth year at this school and we couldn't be happier. Small class size 6-7 children. The cirriculum is outstanding. We continue to be amazed year after year what our children have accomplised. My children love their teachers and really look forward to going to school everyday. Great School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

This school is the best in Anthem and the surrounding area. If the public school standards in Arizona are not up to your standards, look no further. This school is has a small class size. Can you image your child in a class with 6-7 other children and how much more they would learn compared to the average class size of 20-25. I currently have two children enrolled in Desert Academy and they just love it. They love their teachers and are excited about learning. My son is in Pre-K and is knows his phonics and is sounding out three letter words and we are only half way through the year! I believe he will be reading soon! Not only are they learning the numbers, letters, phonics, but this school also stresses a high level of learning in other subjects, such as History, geography, and the Arts. A++ rating!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2007

While no school is for every child, this would be a great choice if you are interested in curriculum, overall education, safety and happiness of your child. I am going on my 5th year of being a client and I have never had a problem or incident. I have seen the director go out of her way in every respect to accommodate even the pickiest of parents. Anthem is a small town and for sure it has its growing pains. I have signed on to be part of the solution not the problem. If you are like-minded check it out for yourself. I don't think you will be disappointed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2007

As parents we all try to do the best we can for our children. If you can afford to send your child to private school this is the place. Here the children never have episodes of bullying, overcrowding, overworked teachers, drugs, violence or sex. It is small enough to be monitored every second of the day and large enough to build a foundation for greatness in your child s formative years without being stuffy. The teachers, curriculum and the overall quality of education is superior to any of the other schools we have researched (and we have researched!). If you are looking for perfection let me know when you find it. Just because you pay doesn t mean everything will go your way. Having said that if your primary goal is your child s education and not YOUR feelings about the small things the director cannot possibly appease then give it a look-see.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2007

Great teachers, What's left of them. Lousy facility and director. Our child had a great first year, the following year 2006 we pulled him in the middle of the year. Due to change in academics (below standard) and the Director was very unorganized, The only way for this school to survive is for the director to get her head out of the sand, or better yet resign!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2007

Good but not great. Excellent academics, superb teachers, lousy facility and questionable leadership from the director. We have had students at Desert Academy for 2 years and have been amazed at their academic progress and the quality of instruction but have been very disappointed by the directors attitude toward parent involvement, how poorly she treats her faculty and the lack of accountability in financial matters. There is a lot of potential in this school for greatness but some changes need to happen first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2007

Desert Academy, in my opinion, is the very best school in Anthem and probably within a 25 mile radius or more. My son has been enrolled for 4 years. He is currently in the 1st grade. My daughter started Preschool in September of 06. The education is top notch. I am always amazed on how far ahead they are compared to Public Schools, Charter Schools and religious schools. We were just joking the other day that his reading, writing, spelling and math sometimes stump us. It is a great environment run by a great family. The extracurricular activities were listed by the parent below. The school has recently begun a Parent Committee where parents are highly encouraged to participate. The school is fairly new (4 years old or so) but more great things are sure to follow. You should definitely check it out!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2007

The academic program is unmatched by any of the other schools in the area. Extra curricular activities include Science Club and Chess Club. Small class sizes and uniforms are a plus! My oldest child has been at the school for 3 years, and each one of her teachers have been highly skilled. Warm, nurturing environment. Parental involvement is encouraged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2004

This school is outstanding. It follows the Core Knowledge Curriculum, has small class sizes and has very high standards for academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

42212 N 41st Drive
Suite 103
Anthem, AZ 85086
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 341-9066

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Caurus Academy
Anthem, AZ


Canyon Springs
Anthem, AZ


Anthem School
Anthem, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT