Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Amcs At Anthem Dba Caurus Academy

Charter | K-8

 
 

Living in Anthem

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $199,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,230.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 29, 2008

This is my sons first year at Anthem Montessori. He is in one of the 4/5/6 grade rooms. He likes it so much more than the public school he was attending. His teachers are wonderful. The principal is great. He does have a lot of homework and he has to do a lot of projects but he is so much happier this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

I am a huge fan of this school, and have recommended it to many Anthem parents. My daughter is currently a KDG student and will continue her education at this school, as long as I live in Anthem. I only wish they had a playground...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2008

Awesome school and teachers. I have recommended this school to many families in the Anthem area!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2008

I strongly do not recommend this school. The students are rude and the curriculum is very easy. Teachers dont' handle problems. P.E. is too much, also.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 7, 2007

I have two children that attend this school. My children have learned so much both academically and socially compared to other children their ages at different schools. I am very pleased with the educators at this school and the fact that the school is secure. If I ever want to volunteer or observe I schedule a time that works for myself and the class and then I go into the classrooms. This is a great school if your students are self regulators, and as a parent you monitor your student's progress at home and throughout the year, not only at grade report times. I truly believe that schools in general are what you make of them, and to those that only blame when things didn't go your way, that is a lesson that your student is learning as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2007

I do not recommend this school. My children only attended for 5 months, when we left, both of my kids were behind academically. Also, the management does not want to handle or deal with teacher problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2007

They are far behind academically. My son never brought home any work. I was not allowed to speak with the teacher about this after school. There are no extracurricular activities. The director is very cold. There is very little communication and a serious lack of professionalism with the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2007

I would definitely not recommend this school. My child was only at this school for a few months before I had to remove him. One teacher in particular is extremely negative, and this teacher has been teaching for several years. The teachers have difficulty teaching students with diverse learning styles. They cater to students who are independent learners. The other students are left behind. I saw very little patience among the teaching staff. In addition, I walked into the office one day and overheard a very negative conversation from a group of teachers during their lunch hour. I said nothing, but I thought what a lack of professionalism! The students have very little homework which is not necessarily a bad thing, it is just difficult to know what they are doing all day. The projects the students do are probably one of the best things the school has going for it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2007

My child was a student at this school and flourished. Now I have to find an educational environment that can match this Montessori at Anthem which will be very difficult. We would recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2007

The Montessori School is a wonderful breath of fresh air to the not so wonderful Arizona Educational System.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2007

Great school, excellent teachers. We love Montessori at Anthem! Our youngest has been attending since August 2006. He is doing very well there and it's so wonderful that he can work at his level (he's very accelerated). We are so impressed with Montessori at Anthem that we are transferring our 2 other children (from the local public school) to this school in August 2007.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2007

New teacher for grades 2 and 3 and new Director are just a few of the positive changes at the school. My son came out of sn overcrowded public school and is just flourishing in this new environment. He used to hate school and learning, but now loves going to school. Small class sizes also means more personalized attention. Downside is that there are no extracurricular activities or clubs, but overall it was the best decision for our child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2006

My son attended the public school here in 2004 and hated it. The second week of school 2005 we moved him to this school and he has flourished. He happily returned this year. My 5 year old also is going there this year and doing very well. It is geared more toward the self motivated, but its 'curriculum' is such that most kids there are eager to discover it. The director this year is wonderful and I love all of the teachers. I feel the quality of the academics are great. The school has art once a week. There is no music, sports, or other extracurricular activities, but our community center offers everything you could possibly want. I would encourage parents to check this school out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2006

I see improvements are underway, with a new head mistress. The teachers seem to really care about the students and they are trying hard as a fledgling school. But it is definitely for the self-motivated, independent student. The student gets out of it what he/she puts into it. It's not a school for kids who've had problems in public school. It's a school for kids who genuinely want to learn. The case for us was that our daughter was farther ahead than most of her classmates in public school but she was overlooked because she didn't need special 'help'. She just wasn't being challenged in public school but this little Montessori school has worked out well for us!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2006

This school is just not up to par. My child attended last year and left with huge gaps in her education. There is no structure or discipline at this school and no concrete learning plan for the child. I say to stay away, consider yourself warned.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2006

Worst experience. Headmaster for 2004-2005 had no leadership ability whatsoever. Teacheers were not Montessori certified. Parents were encouraged to come to the classtroom to read to the class. Educators did not place a huge emphasis on reading themselves. Unsafe play environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 78% 42%
Hispanic 11% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Black 3% 5%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 31%N/A47%
Female 52%N/A49%
Male 48%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

42302 N. Vision Way
Anthem, AZ 85086
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 551-5083

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Desert Academy
Anthem, AZ





Canyon Springs
Anthem, AZ


Anthem School
Anthem, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT